You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-13 07:53:20

Wu
Member
Registered: 2009-12-27
Posts: 70

[solved] Can't change window border with Cinnamon

Hi,

I'm a long time  KDE user and installed Cinnamon alongside just to try it. In the entry "themes" in system setting the "window border" field does not work: if I click on Adwaita (which is the default window border) a cripped/empty dialog opens up instead of the standard dialog where you can select another style. The other fields (buttons, etc.) work fine.

I tried launching the system setting app from the terminal but no errors shows up. I tried installing other themes to see if their window border showed up but it didn't.

Could it be that I'm missing some dependency or that there is some sort of conflict with KDE?

Last edited by Wu (2018-06-13 19:09:54)

Offline

#2 2018-06-13 19:09:36

Wu
Member
Registered: 2009-12-27
Posts: 70

Re: [solved] Can't change window border with Cinnamon

Problem was that the adwaita window decoration is not installed when you install cinnamon (I'm guessing it is located in some gnome package). As soon as I installed another theme (in my case mate-themes) it popped up in the window border dialog, showing that there is actually no adwaita installed, so I was probably using some fallback theme by muffin.

Offline

#3 2018-06-15 09:12:45

Chazza
Wiki Maintainer
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2013-06-02
Posts: 506

Re: [solved] Can't change window border with Cinnamon

Problem was that the adwaita window decoration is not installed when you install cinnamon (I'm guessing it is located in some gnome package).

It isn't anymore. All support for the Metacity theme standard was ripped out of GNOME some time ago so the Adwaita Metacity theme was dropped. I did create an AUR package (and GitHub repo) for the Adwaita Metacity theme (plus many other Metacity themes that were dropped a long time ago) so you can install that if you want it: metacity-themes.

Offline

#4 2018-06-15 17:02:52

Wu
Member
Registered: 2009-12-27
Posts: 70

Re: [solved] Can't change window border with Cinnamon

thank you for the info, I've already downloaded your package.

Offline

#5 2018-06-17 14:43:35

Annoyingduck
Member
Registered: 2016-08-02
Posts: 153

Re: [solved] Can't change window border with Cinnamon

Read my post here, it explains everything and offers a solution: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=236975

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB