You are not logged in.

#1 2018-07-09 07:34:03

AlmostSurelyRob
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-03-17
Posts: 77

[SOLVED] Rofi window switching for Xmonad

Hi,

I have recently moved from dmenu to Rofi on my xmonad and I really like it. Rofi has three functionalties: window-switching, application launcher and SSH sessions. SSH and application launcher worked out of the box for me, but I can't seem to get window switching to work. My window list is simply empty and I am wondering if there's something in my xmonad session that makes it not report window names. I am happy to post my config files, but I just have a general question first, is there some general integration mechanism for these sort of things? How is Rofi meant to know window names of currently opened windows?

Please advise.

Last edited by AlmostSurelyRob (2018-07-09 09:47:33)

Offline

#2 2018-07-09 07:47:00

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 49,985

Re: [SOLVED] Rofi window switching for Xmonad

Just a hunch:

xprop -root | grep -E '(_NET_CLIENT_LIST|_NET_SUPPORTED)'

Offline

#3 2018-07-09 09:20:23

Raynman
Member
Registered: 2011-10-22
Posts: 1,539

Re: [SOLVED] Rofi window switching for Xmonad

The wiki touches on this a few times. Going through the table of contents you might find #Controlling_xmonad_with_external_scripts, but it also comes up in #Multitouch_.2F_touchegg.

Offline

#4 2018-07-09 09:37:00

AlmostSurelyRob
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-03-17
Posts: 77

Re: [SOLVED] Rofi window switching for Xmonad

Thanks for quick replies!

@seth the command results in the following:

xprop -root | grep -E '(_NET_CLIENT_LIST|_NET_SUPPORTED)'
_NET_SUPPORTED(ATOM) = _NET_SUPPORTING_WM_CHECK, _NET_WM_NAME

Thanks, @Raynman. Somehow, I didn't think of checking xmonad wiki... I was looking at Rofi and reading about themes... But that's of course a very good suggestion. I am checking it right now.

Offline

#5 2018-07-09 09:50:54

AlmostSurelyRob
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-03-17
Posts: 77

Re: [SOLVED] Rofi window switching for Xmonad

Got it work by including the import and modifiying one line in xmonad.hs

...
import XMonad.Hooks.EwmhDesktops

...
main = do
    ...
    xmonad $ ewmh def
    ...

The link to Xmonad documentation on the subject is here

Thanks again.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB