You are not logged in.

#1 2018-07-20 02:00:34

es20490446e
Banned
Registered: 2017-12-29
Posts: 46
Website

Archive Mounter is broken

AUR : automounter.git
Exec=/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfsd-archive file=%u

$ gvfs-mount
This tool has been deprecated, use 'gio mount' instead.

$ gio mount Text.zip
Volume doesn’t implement mount

What should go in exec?

Last edited by es20490446e (2018-07-20 02:04:33)

Offline

#2 2018-07-20 02:11:09

es20490446e
Banned
Registered: 2017-12-29
Posts: 46
Website

Re: Archive Mounter is broken

Also reported on:
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/automounter/
https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/glib/issues/1456

Last edited by es20490446e (2018-07-20 02:32:24)

Offline

#3 2018-07-20 02:15:42

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 29,821
Website

Re: Archive Mounter is broken

Moving to AUR Issues...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#4 2018-07-20 11:47:25

ooo
Member
Registered: 2013-04-10
Posts: 1,631

Re: Archive Mounter is broken

es20490446e wrote:

Reporting issues with some user-made desktop file from AUR package to upstream glib developers makes no sense. They have nothing to do with this. You should have at least read the gio man page to realize that the 'gio mount' commands you were trying aren't supposed to work, and not report that as an issue.

That being said, glib developer oholy was kind enough to provide you with explanation and solution in the upstream report.

Offline

#5 2018-07-20 13:41:15

es20490446e
Banned
Registered: 2017-12-29
Posts: 46
Website

Re: Archive Mounter is broken

I'm here to fix the issue, not to listen to moralisms. Thanks.

Last edited by es20490446e (2018-07-20 13:43:04)

Offline

#6 2018-07-20 13:49:54

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 26,189
Website

Re: Archive Mounter is broken

What the hell is that reponse?  There is no "moralism"; you reported a problem upstream when it is not an upstream problem.  Report it to the AUR maintainer if you want them to fix it.  As for fixing the issue, as ooo notes, upstream did even provide a fix.

So what's preventing this from being marked as SOLVED?


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#7 2018-07-20 13:53:12

es20490446e
Banned
Registered: 2017-12-29
Posts: 46
Website

Re: Archive Mounter is broken

Tell me, what shall go into "exec"?

Offline

#8 2018-07-20 14:11:52

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 26,189
Website

Re: Archive Mounter is broken

What do you want it to do?  The Exec line you had includes a parameter file=%u, where file is not a recognized option, and %u is replaced by the user name, so even if file= was an option, how would inserting a user name there be useful?

If you want it to be for a specific file, then the upstream report already said that the parameter should be "archive:" followed by a url-encoded filename.

EDIT: wait, is this a desktop file not a service file - I suppose it probably is.  In that case desktop files can do the url encoding.  So according to the upstream issue, it should likely be archive:%u

Last edited by Trilby (2018-07-20 14:16:04)


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#9 2018-07-20 14:51:22

ooo
Member
Registered: 2013-04-10
Posts: 1,631

Re: Archive Mounter is broken

I didn't mean to moralise, but simply point out that you had reported the issue to people who has nothing to do with the issue, as pointed out by devs in your upstream report as well. Even if this was upstream issue, you should at least check the man page to make sure the commands you're running are correct. Othewise you're pretty much just wasting developer's time.

The actual issue with the AUR package, as pointed out in the upstream report, is that gvfsd-archive in the Arch gvfs package was moved from /usr/lib/gvfs to /usr/lib, and the AUR package had not been updated to correspond with the change. Again, this has nothing to do with upstream.

Sorry if you were offended by my comment, and I can see my phrasing was rather blunt. However, I was merely trying to guide you to provide more valuable issue reports in the future.

Offline

#10 2018-07-20 23:57:46

es20490446e
Banned
Registered: 2017-12-29
Posts: 46
Website

Re: Archive Mounter is broken

Okay, no problem.

Also neither of the proposed solutions works in my system. Doing:
Exec=/usr/lib/gvfsd-archive file=[FILE]

Does mount [FILE], but:
Exec=/usr/lib/gvfsd-archive file=%u

Does nothing. My desktop environment is Deepin, could it be rather a bug there?

Offline

#11 2018-07-23 09:36:12

es20490446e
Banned
Registered: 2017-12-29
Posts: 46
Website

Re: Archive Mounter is broken

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB