You are not logged in.

#1 2018-08-12 13:32:08

2d666c79
Member
Registered: 2018-07-19
Posts: 8

[SOLVED] i3 opens to "login" window instead of wallpaper

Hi everyone,

After setting up i3 on my fresh Arch install I'm getting these "login" windows on empty workspaces. On default workspace it displays an error log and stays permanently open, on other WSs it gets replaced by the first opened window (and reappears as the last window in WS is closed). Other than this, i3 works just fine and is perfectly usable. Also, If I kill the window on default WS, i3 will shut down and throw me back to tty1.
Screenshot (double monitor setup, primary on the right): https://i.imgur.com/rDtk05X.png

Here's my config:

# This file has been auto-generated by i3-config-wizard(1).
# It will not be overwritten, so edit it as you like.
#
# Should you change your keyboard layout some time, delete
# this file and re-run i3-config-wizard(1).
#

# i3 config file (v4)
#
# Please see https://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html for a complete reference!

set $configdir /home/rkot/.config/i3

# Set mod key (Mod1=<Alt>, Mod4=<Super>)
set $mod Mod1

workspace_layout tabbed

set $terminal termite

font pango:Noto Sans 10

# Use Mouse+$mod to drag floating windows to their wanted position
floating_modifier $mod

bindsym $mod+q kill
bindsym $mod+Return exec $terminal
bindsym $mod+d exec --no-startup-id rofi -show run

bindsym $mod+Left focus left
bindsym $mod+Down focus down
bindsym $mod+Up focus up
bindsym $mod+Right focus right

bindsym $mod+Shift+Left move left
bindsym $mod+Shift+Down move down
bindsym $mod+Shift+Up move up
bindsym $mod+Shift+Right move right

bindsym $mod+h split h
bindsym $mod+v split v
bindsym $mod+f fullscreen toggle

bindsym $mod+s layout stacking
bindsym $mod+w layout tabbed
bindsym $mod+e layout toggle split

# toggle tiling / floating
bindsym $mod+Shift+t floating toggle

# change focus between tiling / floating windows
bindsym $mod+t focus mode_toggle

# focus the parent container
bindsym $mod+a focus parent

# focus the child container
#bindsym $mod+d focus child

# Define names for default workspaces for which we configure key bindings later on.
# We use variables to avoid repeating the names in multiple places.
set $ws1 "1"
set $ws2 "2"
set $ws3 "3"
set $ws4 "4"
set $ws5 "5"
set $ws6 "6"
set $ws7 "7"
set $ws8 "8"
set $ws9 "9"
set $ws10 "10"

# switch to workspace
bindsym $mod+1 workspace $ws1
bindsym $mod+2 workspace $ws2
bindsym $mod+3 workspace $ws3
bindsym $mod+4 workspace $ws4
bindsym $mod+5 workspace $ws5
bindsym $mod+6 workspace $ws6
bindsym $mod+7 workspace $ws7
bindsym $mod+8 workspace $ws8
bindsym $mod+9 workspace $ws9
bindsym $mod+0 workspace $ws10

# move focused container to workspace
bindsym $mod+Shift+1 move container to workspace $ws1
bindsym $mod+Shift+2 move container to workspace $ws2
bindsym $mod+Shift+3 move container to workspace $ws3
bindsym $mod+Shift+4 move container to workspace $ws4
bindsym $mod+Shift+5 move container to workspace $ws5
bindsym $mod+Shift+6 move container to workspace $ws6
bindsym $mod+Shift+7 move container to workspace $ws7
bindsym $mod+Shift+8 move container to workspace $ws8
bindsym $mod+Shift+9 move container to workspace $ws9
bindsym $mod+Shift+0 move container to workspace $ws10

# toggle keyboard locale
bindsym Mod4+space exec --no-startup-id $configdir/keyboard.sh

# screenshots
set $scrshotfile scrshot-%Y%m%d-%H%M%S.png
set $scrshotpath ~/pics/screenshots/
#bindsym --release Print exec --no-startup-id gscreenshot-cli -f $scrshotpath -c
bindsym --release Print exec --no-startup-id escrotum -C
bindsym Shift+Print exec --no-startup-id gscreenshot-cli -f $scrshotpath -c -s

# reload the configuration file
bindsym $mod+Shift+c reload
# restart i3 inplace (preserves your layout/session, can be used to upgrade i3)
bindsym $mod+Shift+r restart
# exit i3 (logs you out of your X session)
bindsym $mod+Shift+e exec "i3-nagbar -t warning -m 'You pressed the exit shortcut. Do you really want to exit i3? This will end your X session.' -b 'Yes, exit i3' 'i3-msg exit'"

# resize window (you can also use the mouse for that)
mode "resize" {
        # These bindings trigger as soon as you enter the resize mode

        # Pressing left will shrink the window’s width
        # Pressing right will grow the window’s width
        # Pressing down will shrink the window’s height
        # Pressing up will grow the window’s height
        bindsym Left resize shrink width 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Up resize grow height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Down resize shrink height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Right resize grow width 10 px or 10 ppt

        # back to normal: Enter or Escape or $mod+r
        bindsym Return mode "default"
        bindsym Escape mode "default"
        bindsym $mod+r mode "default"
}
bindsym $mod+r mode "resize"

# Start i3bar to display a workspace bar (plus the system information i3status
# finds out, if available)
bar {
        status_command i3blocks
}

# configure monitors
exec_always --no-startup-id $configdir/display.sh

# set default layout
exec layout tabbed

Looking for a way to make these windows not appear at all and have the workspaces blank by default. Any suggestions?

Last edited by 2d666c79 (2018-08-13 09:37:03)

Offline

#2 2018-08-12 14:18:01

Slithery
Administrator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,776

Re: [SOLVED] i3 opens to "login" window instead of wallpaper

How do you launch i3?

If you use startx then please post your ~/.xinitrc


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#3 2018-08-12 14:27:01

2d666c79
Member
Registered: 2018-07-19
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] i3 opens to "login" window instead of wallpaper

I don't use a display manager, so on boot I just log into my user in tty1 and i3 is being ran by my .bash_profile:

#
# ~/.bash_profile
#

[[ -f ~/.bashrc ]] && . ~/.bashrc

if [[ ! $DISPLAY && $XDG_VTNR -eq 1 ]]; then
  xinit i3
fi

Offline

#4 2018-08-12 15:02:38

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,739

Re: [SOLVED] i3 opens to "login" window instead of wallpaper

What are these supposed to do?

# configure monitors
exec_always --no-startup-id $configdir/display.sh

# set default layout
exec layout tabbed

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#5 2018-08-12 15:32:15

2d666c79
Member
Registered: 2018-07-19
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] i3 opens to "login" window instead of wallpaper

display.sh is my xrandr config:

xrandr --output HDMI-0 --mode 1280x1024 --rate 75 --output DVI-I-1 --mode 1920x1080 --rate 144 --primary --right-of HDMI-0

The other thing is a leftover I forgot to remove after trying to set tabbed layout by default; the problem was happening before it.

Offline

#6 2018-08-12 15:54:16

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 5,184

Re: [SOLVED] i3 opens to "login" window instead of wallpaper

I have no idea why that happens, but you can try to set a black background with e.g. the package xorg-xsetroot

exec --no-startup-id xsetroot -cursor_name left_ptr -solid "#000000"

| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#7 2018-08-12 16:18:19

2d666c79
Member
Registered: 2018-07-19
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] i3 opens to "login" window instead of wallpaper

Interesting, now it's only appearing on primary workspace, and the secondary one is solid black.
Screenshot of fresh boot: https://i.imgur.com/GxcYKzy.png

Maybe I'm running i3 in some sort of debug mode?

Offline

#8 2018-08-12 16:19:25

Slithery
Administrator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,776

Re: [SOLVED] i3 opens to "login" window instead of wallpaper

man 1 xinit

Because you're using xinit without specifying your client using an absolute path it's launching i3 after running the default configuration of...

xterm -geometry +1+1 -n login -display :0

Best practice is to instead use startx which as well as fixing this issue will also create a proper login session for your user (which you are currently missing).

Follow the wiki to correctly copy and edit your ~/.xinitrc file....
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xinit

You can also put the contents of your display.sh in there to avoid having them in a separate file if you want to.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#9 2018-08-13 09:36:46

2d666c79
Member
Registered: 2018-07-19
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] i3 opens to "login" window instead of wallpaper

Slithery wrote:

Because you're using xinit without specifying your client using an absolute path it's launching i3 after running the default configuration of...

xterm -geometry +1+1 -n login -display :0

Best practice is to instead use startx which as well as fixing this issue will also create a proper login session for your user (which you are currently missing).

Follow the wiki to correctly copy and edit your ~/.xinitrc file....
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xinit

Thank you for this solution, it fixed my issue.

Slithery wrote:

You can also put the contents of your display.sh in there to avoid having them in a separate file if you want to.

Neat!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB