You are not logged in.

#26 2018-08-16 19:51:57

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 6,213

Re: hplip/hplip-plugin 3.18.7 - "Filter failed" after update

@andmars you could make hplip-plugin require the older hplip or pin a comment that using the current package with hplip breaks printing.
Edit:
@progandy seems odd that an open source project only supports certain distributions rather than just package dependencies.

Last edited by loqs (2018-08-16 19:55:38)

Offline

#27 2018-08-16 20:05:16

colinkeenan
Member
From: Kansas City, MO USA
Registered: 2013-06-13
Posts: 208
Website

Re: hplip/hplip-plugin 3.18.7 - "Filter failed" after update

I have included loqs comment from just before he made the patch available in the upstream bug comments to see if that helps them see the issue.

Offline

#28 2018-08-16 21:45:09

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 6,213

Re: hplip/hplip-plugin 3.18.7 - "Filter failed" after update

Offline

#29 2018-08-16 21:47:59

colinkeenan
Member
From: Kansas City, MO USA
Registered: 2013-06-13
Posts: 208
Website

Re: hplip/hplip-plugin 3.18.7 - "Filter failed" after update

If you can actually fix it, let us know.

Anyway, I created an AUR package for the patched version of hplip that makes it work:

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/hpli … processor/

Offline

#30 2018-08-16 21:53:14

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 6,213

Re: hplip/hplip-plugin 3.18.7 - "Filter failed" after update

I really can not as I explained I have no source code or license to even touch libImageProcessor.  The new patches arch applied for 3.18.7 fixed python 3.7 compatibility but does not touch hpcups.
The second changes the makefile so libImageProcessor can be packged before it would fail to write it to the actual filesystem and fail but not cause make to fail.
The patch I suggested to avoid using libImageProcessor is not being used by arch and is not applied in the log you provided.
Edit:
grammar you not your.

Last edited by loqs (2018-08-16 21:53:49)

Offline

#31 2018-08-16 21:55:43

colinkeenan
Member
From: Kansas City, MO USA
Registered: 2013-06-13
Posts: 208
Website

Re: hplip/hplip-plugin 3.18.7 - "Filter failed" after update

I changed all the sources to links, including a link to your patch. Here is that part of the PKGBUILD

source=(https://downloads.sourceforge.net/${_pkgname}/$_pkgname-$pkgver.tar.gz{,.asc}
        'disable_upgrade.patch::https://git.archlinux.org/svntogit/packages.git/plain/trunk/disable_upgrade.patch?h=packages/hplip'
        '0022-Add-include-cups-ppd.h-in-various-places-as-CUPS-2.2.patch::https://git.archlinux.org/svntogit/packages.git/plain/trunk/0022-Add-include-cups-ppd.h-in-various-places-as-CUPS-2.2.patch?h=packages/hplip'
        '0023-Fix-handling-of-unicode-filenames-in-sixext.py.patch::https://git.archlinux.org/svntogit/packages.git/plain/trunk/0023-Fix-handling-of-unicode-filenames-in-sixext.py.patch?h=packages/hplip'
        'fix_install.patch::https://git.archlinux.org/svntogit/packages.git/plain/trunk/fix_install.patch?h=packages/hplip'
        'python.patch::https://git.archlinux.org/svntogit/packages.git/plain/trunk/python.patch?h=packages/hplip'
        'hplip.patch::https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/59548?getfile=16673'
        )

Offline

#32 2018-08-16 21:56:19

colinkeenan
Member
From: Kansas City, MO USA
Registered: 2013-06-13
Posts: 208
Website

Re: hplip/hplip-plugin 3.18.7 - "Filter failed" after update

Your patch is brought in from the last line of the sources:

'hplip.patch::https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/59548?getfile=16673'

Offline

#33 2018-08-17 16:57:29

monodromy
Member
Registered: 2014-02-08
Posts: 54

Re: hplip/hplip-plugin 3.18.7 - "Filter failed" after update

Thank you loqs and colinkeenan! This has been *extremely* helpful.

Offline

#34 2018-08-21 13:00:53

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 6,213

Re: hplip/hplip-plugin 3.18.7 - "Filter failed" after update

@andmars when you decrease a PKGBUILD's version such as hplip-plugin you need to use epoch to force the package to be seen as newer.

Offline

#35 2018-08-21 17:55:33

andmars
Member
Registered: 2012-03-13
Posts: 336

Re: hplip/hplip-plugin 3.18.7 - "Filter failed" after update

loqs wrote:

@andmars when you decrease a PKGBUILD's version such as hplip-plugin you need to use epoch to force the package to be seen as newer.

done!

Offline

#36 2018-09-08 16:28:02

frankbe
Member
Registered: 2016-06-06
Posts: 1

Re: hplip/hplip-plugin 3.18.7 - "Filter failed" after update

I had the same error after a system update two days ago.
The error occured only with some pdf documents but I still was able to print other documents.

I changed the log level in /etc/cups/cupsd.conf to "LogLevel debug" and got the detail error
**** Error: File has unbalanced q/Q operators (too many Q\'s)

With the help of google, I found out that the error was somehow related to ghostscript. 

After reinstalling ghostscript everything worked again!

Offline

#37 2018-10-21 21:28:28

jorge.olmos
Member
Registered: 2018-10-21
Posts: 1

Re: hplip/hplip-plugin 3.18.7 - "Filter failed" after update

Looks like the same bug is appearing in Ubuntu 18.0.4.1 LTS. Maybe in the end HP fixes the problem upstream.
Just in case you want to follow the issue:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/hplip/+bug/1788706

Offline

#38 2018-10-21 21:52:57

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 6,213

Re: hplip/hplip-plugin 3.18.7 - "Filter failed" after update

See also https://bugs.launchpad.net/hplip/+bug/1785230 Debian removed the binary blob due to license https://sources.debian.org/patches/hpli … clo.patch/
Gentoo pinned at 3.18.6 the same as arch.  Fedora and Suse have not packaged 3.18.7.  There is also a lack of explanation about what the blob actually does https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/59681#comment172247

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB