You are not logged in.

#1 2018-08-12 12:10:38

exquisitearcanemystic
Member
From: void, another dimension, paral
Registered: 2018-08-07
Posts: 9

soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

Soo.. i don't know what's wrong

Wow sees my nvidia card in settings yet it has so low fps like 16 or so but it works system wide for sure cuz i checked with glxinfo | grep NVIDIA, for glxinfo | grep Intel there's no output. I play other games too and it works because it is impossible to get 147 fps on intel hey it's working even better than in win yet wow seems to work on intel only because i have no other explanation for such poor performance. In windows i had like 80-90 fps so can'tbe that bad here since other games perfoms better on lin.

And btw i have second problem too because i can't turn off vsync

i tried to put (all at once) in

~/.nvidia-settings-rc
SyncToVBlank=0
0/SyncToVBlank=0
__GL_SYNC_TO_VBLANK=0

yet nothing works

but that problem is only in wolf et because other game i play there setting in game for that to turn it off so there i have 147 fps, in wolf i see like every half second it goes from max fps to 60 fps and constantly the same, well i dont know where is setting in game for that or if there any at all.

but this is not that urgent cuz i can;t play et at all because there is no et-sdl-sound in aur or enywhere else so i wont play without sound (well ok i builded it from https://wiki.libsdl.org/Installation but it doesent work)

error : can't locate libSDL.so
[et-sdl-sound] error : can't locate libSDL.so
[et-sdl-sound] info : tried following files
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib/libSDL.so
[et-sdl-sound] info : symbolic link to libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib/libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 64-bit LSB pie executable x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=946e7cb1559ae849e1f5d0b94996a4d75af61bed, stripped
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib/libSDL-1.2.so.0
[et-sdl-sound] info : symbolic link to libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib/libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 64-bit LSB pie executable x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=946e7cb1559ae849e1f5d0b94996a4d75af61bed, stripped
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib32/libSDL.so
[et-sdl-sound] info : symbolic link to libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib32/libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 32-bit LSB pie executable Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=5d26bd26a3ffacd490d250b80b9197904e95b76f, stripped
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib32/libSDL-1.2.so.0
[et-sdl-sound] info : symbolic link to libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib32/libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 32-bit LSB pie executable Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=5d26bd26a3ffacd490d250b80b9197904e95b76f, stripped
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib/libSDL2-2.0.so.0.8.0
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 64-bit LSB pie executable x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=e0f50ab6c53ed9c3d87aa63ceaf6a09ddda2b951, stripped
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib/libSDL2_ttf-2.0.so.0.14.0
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 64-bit LSB pie executable x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=9aa88677086041b123c883bb1cfdd126545d5b97, stripped
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib/libSDL2_image-2.0.so.0.2.1
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 64-bit LSB pie executable x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=e27c9000e11e822686841ed5c770fcc6081b27ab, stripped
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib/libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 64-bit LSB pie executable x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=946e7cb1559ae849e1f5d0b94996a4d75af61bed, stripped
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib/libSDL2_mixer-2.0.so.0.2.0
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 64-bit LSB pie executable x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=537eda0af4b52525bb9cdc764c9573236a3dac79, stripped
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib32/libSDL2-2.0.so.0.8.0
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 32-bit LSB pie executable Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=b4e4f941f01a7e69a54b43287e36727475f41325, stripped
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib32/libSDL2_ttf-2.0.so.0.14.0
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 32-bit LSB pie executable Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=3143046fb761459a7a003c44e13cb0252781c13d, stripped
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib32/libSDL2_image-2.0.so.0.2.1
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 32-bit LSB pie executable Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=286fa89725c3ae038a4973fba80625ab21da392f, stripped
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib32/libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 32-bit LSB pie executable Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=5d26bd26a3ffacd490d250b80b9197904e95b76f, stripped
[et-sdl-sound] info : /usr/lib32/libSDL2_mixer-2.0.so.0.2.0
[et-sdl-sound] info : ELF 32-bit LSB pie executable Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=df230e517de704ca633b957daccdf1a490267bc4, stripped

Last edited by exquisitearcanemystic (2018-08-14 15:22:49)

Offline

#2 2018-08-12 14:47:41

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 16,063

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

Welcome to Arch Linux,  Can I get you to to edit your post and please use BBCode code tags around your program output?  Your readers will appreciate it.  Also. that link is available under each message post box on the forums for reference.  Also, a little more punctuation would break up some of those long sentences.

Unfortunately, I don't use Nvidia, nor am I a gamer, so I've no good suggestions.

Last edited by ewaller (2018-08-12 14:48:07)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2018-08-12 15:11:37

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 5,002

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

WoW doesn't run much faster at least with the default wined3d implementation. One thing you can try is check if you get better results with dxvk it'd also be better if you kept distinct problems to their own threads.

Offline

#4 2018-08-12 19:35:12

exquisitearcanemystic
Member
From: void, another dimension, paral
Registered: 2018-08-07
Posts: 9

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

omggg im so happy

this today's update of nvidia fixed my vsync problem now i have stable max fps what i have set in config and it does not drop at all

unfortunately still no sound (i have installed every sdl package there is and builded it from tat website yet nothing, but i know it was working before but now there no et-sdl-sound in aur)

whats the worst of all is that fps amount in wow i really cant believe it why it is so bad
other games performs really very very good
so why wow does not

Last edited by exquisitearcanemystic (2018-08-12 19:35:58)

Offline

#5 2018-08-12 20:09:22

exquisitearcanemystic
Member
From: void, another dimension, paral
Registered: 2018-08-07
Posts: 9

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

only one thing comes to my mind but i cannot make it because everytime i go to "WTF" folder and in Config.wtf file im trying to change

from

SET gxApi "D3D11"

to

SET gxApi "opengl"

but i can't because everytime i launch the game it gets overwritten.

nor does settig

--opengl

in game setting/ additional command line arguments

so how can i run wow with opengl?

Last edited by exquisitearcanemystic (2018-08-14 15:24:01)

Offline

#6 2018-08-12 20:12:05

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 16,063

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

ewaller wrote:

Can I get you to to edit your post and please use BBCode code tags around your program output?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#7 2018-08-12 20:18:05

exquisitearcanemystic
Member
From: void, another dimension, paral
Registered: 2018-08-07
Posts: 9

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

ewaller wrote:
ewaller wrote:

Can I get you to to edit your post and please use BBCode code tags around your program output?

I'm sorry i wanted to do this but havent got time to check how.

I'mrushing because in fact I'mlate to work right now

Offline

#8 2018-08-12 20:35:24

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 5,530

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

When you do have time (before posting again) please also read the Code of Conduct particularly Code_of_conduct#How_to_post

Offline

#9 2018-08-12 20:38:33

exquisitearcanemystic
Member
From: void, another dimension, paral
Registered: 2018-08-07
Posts: 9

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

I will do that 100% next time

i had to run to factory.

But no problem because my manager isn'there today ;]

Offline

#10 2018-08-13 06:23:55

exquisitearcanemystic
Member
From: void, another dimension, paral
Registered: 2018-08-07
Posts: 9

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

loqs wrote:

When you do have time (before posting again) please also read the Code of Conduct particularly Code_of_conduct#How_to_post

ty for this link

i didn't know that there's free paste out there, previously i used pastebin, but from now on I'm gonna use kde paste, and there's client for this server too

btw in case u don't know it yet KDE is the best ;]
ok ok pekwm and openbox doesen't suck too hehe

Last edited by exquisitearcanemystic (2018-08-14 15:20:44)

Offline

#11 2018-08-13 13:31:55

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 5,002

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

You cannot really compare native code performance to what wine has to do.  If a wine run windows program works well depends on many factors. There are indeed some (older) programs that do work better in wine than on modern Windows, others don't work at all or have various issues.

The OpenGL switch has been removed with the latest WoW patch, that backend doesn't exist anymore. (It originally existed because it was easy to provide due to the Mac dependency, Mac has now switched to Metal (and Apple has officially deprecated OpenGL on their platform) and thus there's no one left to maintain the OpenGL backend)

As mentioned, two things I'm often reading is that switching to use DXVK for the D3D11 emulation has significantly improved performance as well as using wine-pba for the PBA patchset. I haven't yet tried either, but might do so during this week.

Offline

#12 2018-08-14 12:53:35

exquisitearcanemystic
Member
From: void, another dimension, paral
Registered: 2018-08-07
Posts: 9

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

Something is really not right here because it can't be that bad looking at other examples, games which performs superb.

24 fps intel
27 nvidia

oh really? great

well shame, this game i played the most

Offline

#13 2018-08-14 14:17:43

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 16,063

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

exquisitearcanemystic wrote:
ewaller wrote:
ewaller wrote:

Can I get you to to edit your post and please use BBCode code tags around your program output?

I'm sorry i wanted to do this but havent got time to check how.

I'mrushing because in fact I'mlate to work right now

Find time.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#14 2018-08-14 15:38:52

exquisitearcanemystic
Member
From: void, another dimension, paral
Registered: 2018-08-07
Posts: 9

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

ohh and btw i followed
Optimizing WoW on Arch Linux - NVIDIA - Rusty Tyner
but without success
and
OpenGL vs. Direct3D
which says:
Problems with OpenGL mode

As of September 2014, running WoW via the Config.WTF setting is not possible using the Battle.net Launcher, as the game refuses to connect in this mode to Blizzard's servers. Use the command-line method instead.

Graphics settings besides "Low" will generally have artifacts, including rendering errors for far-off objects, flashing, and tearing. When in OpenGL mode, set your graphics settings to "Low".

its funny because command line launch doesent work either

V1del wrote:

The OpenGL switch has been removed with the latest WoW patch, that backend doesn't exist anymore. (It originally existed because it was easy to provide due to the Mac dependency, Mac has now switched to Metal (and Apple has officially deprecated OpenGL on their platform) and thus there's no one left to maintain the OpenGL backend)

As mentioned, two things I'm often reading is that switching to use DXVK for the D3D11 emulation has significantly improved performance as well as using wine-pba for the PBA patchset. I haven't yet tried either, but might do so during this week.

lutris uses wine-pba gonna check it right now im just gonna copy over files from .wine directory
EDIT:
don't know why but lutris files can't start instalattion process (it installed battle.net but no further) nor does it locate files i copied, this is strange because previously it worked

and yes there is post on forum about 7.3.5 being last ver with opengl
https://us.battle.net/forums/en/wow/topic/20760798484

Last edited by exquisitearcanemystic (2018-08-14 17:02:10)

Offline

#15 2018-08-18 12:40:21

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 5,002

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

I'm using DXVK now with normal wine-staging from the repos and the results are quite amazing. No glitches and same perf as on Windows. Though afaik if you are on a laptop and rely on an Optimus setup there are a few caveats with Vulkan support and getting it to render on the correct graphics chip.

Offline

#16 2018-08-18 18:32:48

exquisitearcanemystic
Member
From: void, another dimension, paral
Registered: 2018-08-07
Posts: 9

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

V1del wrote:

I'm using DXVK now with normal wine-staging from the repos and the results are quite amazing. No glitches and same perf as on Windows. Though afaik if you are on a laptop and rely on an Optimus setup there are a few caveats with Vulkan support and getting it to render on the correct graphics chip.

well i dunno what u have but i have junk... its asus R510JK and i just cant play wow on linux on it.

u see i have 100 fps compared to 30 on linux so i can't accept that but those values are in netherlight temple so it will be much lower for exathe mple in dalaran or in places where many ppl gather and cast spells. on win im using step 5 vid settings, on lin i dont know because right now im writing from windows.

well the very reason i installed linux again was the fact that almost all versions of windows are broken now. i tried every version of win 10, now im on 8.1. bsod every 3 minutues. on 8.1 at least there are errors still but i got notifications that driver was stopped but nothing happens driver stopped and restored something. and yes i still get bsod on 8.1 too but i can count it on fingers of both hands its nothing compared to win10 where i couldnt do anything.

and all those so omfg clever braindead ppl on windows forums "u have to get newest nvidia drivers and updates from windows" omfg like if i didnt know that, it was fresh install (3 times lates win 10, then previous win10 versions)

but there re many ppl like me reporting frequent bsod's on win10

now i kinda miss linux, i like how it runs, it is smooth kde takes only 0.4gb of 12 i have and everything is great

except wow

Last edited by exquisitearcanemystic (2018-08-18 19:15:21)

Offline

#17 Yesterday 11:07:48

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 5,002

Re: soo lowwwwww fps but only in wow

That laptop has a 850M if I'm reading right, that should for all intents and purposes be sufficiently capable. If you are currently using bumblebee to access your card try removing it and instead setting up Optimus using the methods outlined in https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NV … ing_nvidia

After that try installing DXVK and follow the pinned comment for setup instructions: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/dxvk-bin/

If all of that is set up correctly, you should be seeing a significant improvement in FPS for WoW. The slowness with default wine is only indirectly related to the power of your card, wine's implementation of the features used by the D3D11 WoW backend is slow. Given that you can properly utilize Vulkan DXVK should speed things up significantly.

I have a Titan X which is of course not a good measure for lower end systems, however I also only very sporadically went over 50 FPS with wine's d3d implementation, whereas I don't see a difference anymore now that I'm using DXVK, it's definitely worth a shot.

Also please try to remain focused on the technical and Arch Linux relevant topics, while many here might share the sentiments regarding Windows, they are really irrelevant to the resolution of the issue you have on Linux: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … d_projects

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB