You are not logged in.

#1 2018-08-29 00:13:53

katsuki
Member
From: NY, USA
Registered: 2015-01-28
Posts: 26

[SOLVED] Git via SSH Failures

I'm not sure when this started happening as I haven't had to use git on my Arch VM for a bit. HTTPS access works fine. I verified by SSH keys by copying them to a clean Ubuntu VM and trying git operations using them, which all worked as expected.

When accessing bitbucket from Arch using git over SSH:

$ git pull
packet_write_wait: Connection to 18.205.93.1 port 22: Broken pipe
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.

Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.

When accessing GitHub from Arch using git over SSH:

packet_write_wait: Connection to 192.30.253.112 port 22: Broken pipe
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.

Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.

As I mentioned, the same operation using HTTPS works for GitHub:

$ git clone https://github.com/dropwizard/dropwizard.git
Cloning into 'dropwizard'...
remote: Counting objects: 182287, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (37/37), done.
remote: Total 182287 (delta 11), reused 44 (delta 8), pack-reused 182226
Receiving objects: 100% (182287/182287), 71.69 MiB | 20.04 MiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (124855/124855), done.

Any insight into how to fix this would be most appreciated.

Last edited by katsuki (2018-11-08 19:24:41)

Offline

#2 2018-08-29 13:50:56

jsan
Member
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED] Git via SSH Failures

I was able to solve that by downgrading openssh to the previous version (7.7p1). Don't know what is causing this issue but the last version has been released 5 days ago https://archive.archlinux.org/packages/o/openssh/

sudo pacman -U https://archive.archlinux.org/packages/o/openssh/openssh-7.7p1-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Offline

#3 2018-08-29 18:07:10

x33a
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 4,587

Re: [SOLVED] Git via SSH Failures

Downgrading is not a solution. Are you able to reproduce it with a normal SSH connection? In any case, if you are able to reproduce it reliably -with or without git-, you should file a bug.

Offline

#4 2018-08-29 18:21:26

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 49,981

Offline

#5 2018-11-08 19:26:40

katsuki
Member
From: NY, USA
Registered: 2015-01-28
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] Git via SSH Failures

The TL;DR for those who stumble here:

Add the following to your ssh config for your git operations (or other places that you see this):

IPQoS=throughput

Source: https://communities.vmware.com/thread/590825

Thanks to @seth for linking the forum post that lead me to the VMWare article.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB