You are not logged in.

#1 2018-09-16 11:25:15

madyel
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 6

Problem: change layout keyboard

Hi everybody,
when I trying to change the layout with

setxkbmap it

but each reboot the layout revert in configuration of default (us).

I've read old post in this forum with the problem like it.

Thank you.

Offline

#2 2018-09-16 11:42:03

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,169

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

You need to configure it? To give you an idea here are my configs

[ugjka@archee Video]$ cat /etc/vconsole.conf 
FONT=lat4-16
KEYMAP=dvorak

[ugjka@archee Video]$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/00-keyboard.conf 
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "system-keyboard"
        MatchIsKeyboard "on"
        Option "XkbLayout" "us,lv,lv,ru"
        #Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
        Option "XkbVariant" "dvorak,minuskeydvorak,apostrophe,phonetic"
        Option "XkbOptions" "grp:alt_shift_toggle"
EndSection

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ke … figuration
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ke … on_in_Xorg


Github | Soundcloud

"Once you hit 10 nested VMs you're basically brad pitt with women who matter" ~ echoline

Offline

#3 2018-09-16 12:10:21

madyel
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 6

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

My /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/00-keyboard.conf

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "system-keyboard"
        MatchIsKeyboard "on"
        Option "XkbLayout" "it"
EndSection

and my /etc/vconsole.conf

KEYMAP=it

Offline

#4 2018-09-16 12:11:02

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,169

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

And does it work?


Github | Soundcloud

"Once you hit 10 nested VMs you're basically brad pitt with women who matter" ~ echoline

Offline

#5 2018-09-16 12:15:46

madyel
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 6

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

No, It doesn`t.

It works only if I execute

setxkbmap it

but each reboot revert the layout with us

Offline

#6 2018-09-16 12:17:21

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,169

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

What wm/de do you use? What is your setup?


Github | Soundcloud

"Once you hit 10 nested VMs you're basically brad pitt with women who matter" ~ echoline

Offline

#7 2018-09-16 12:28:47

madyel
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 6

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

I installed the Current Release: 2018.09.01, following this wiki (Ufficial)

Offline

#8 2018-09-16 12:31:47

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,169

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

What did you install on top of it? You have Xorg according to your settings. What uses Xorg? KDE, Gnome, Openbox? What?


Github | Soundcloud

"Once you hit 10 nested VMs you're basically brad pitt with women who matter" ~ echoline

Offline

#9 2018-09-16 12:44:47

madyel
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 6

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

I installed Xorg with nvidia and Gnome.

Offline

#10 2018-09-16 14:35:13

shulamy
Member
From: israel
Registered: 2010-09-11
Posts: 400

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

so, i think you have to change the keyboard layout  in gnome settings

ezjk

Offline

#11 2018-09-16 19:02:58

madyel
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 6

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

Thank you all. I I solved, changing the keyboard layout  in gnome settings.

Offline

#12 2018-09-16 19:04:32

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,169

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

I think Gnome should respect your Xorg settings (Like KDE does on my machine) but whatever... Please remember to tag this thread as [Solved]


Github | Soundcloud

"Once you hit 10 nested VMs you're basically brad pitt with women who matter" ~ echoline

Offline

#13 2018-09-16 19:08:36

cirrus
Member
From: Glasgow Scotland
Registered: 2012-08-24
Posts: 239
Website

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

madyel please now edit title to include [solved]
thank you


Registered Linux User #544546
   Time you enjoyed wasting was not wasted. --John Lennon.

Offline

#14 2018-09-16 22:28:21

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 3,007

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

ugjka wrote:

I think Gnome should respect your Xorg settings

That would be the most sensible assumption, unfortunately it's incorrect smile
OP may be using Wayland, but IIRC it doesn't get respected under X either.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#15 2018-09-17 16:59:06

shulamy
Member
From: israel
Registered: 2010-09-11
Posts: 400

Re: Problem: change layout keyboard

and even if he uses X , gnome override Xorg settings - from my experience.

ezik

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB