You are not logged in.

#1 2018-09-16 14:10:21

olive
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-06-22
Posts: 1,425

Firefox CPU usage

I have a problem with Firefox. It uses 10% CPU (according to htop) to display the search result from Google while doing basically nothing. Chromium just stay as 0%. The Windows version of Firefox also stay at 0%! Note that I have noted similar problems for a long time. Can anyone say if they experience the same problem? This plus the fact that they do not care to support hardware accelerated video (that they support on Windows) makes me wonder if GNU/Linux is still their priority.

Offline

#2 2018-09-16 16:56:46

ooo
Member
Registered: 2013-04-10
Posts: 1,605

Re: Firefox CPU usage

Can't reproduce your issue. For me the usage stays at 0-1% with only google search results open.

Do you have some firefox add-ons installed that you didn't try disabling yet?

Offline

#3 2018-09-16 17:06:46

olive
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-06-22
Posts: 1,425

Re: Firefox CPU usage

No, completely clean profile. Note that xfce4-taskmanager show less CPU usage (but still ore than 0-1 %). My CPU is a core i3-3240 (somewhat older but still relatively powerful). The 10% is maybe on one logical core only; but that still too much.

Offline

#4 2018-09-16 17:44:36

ooo
Member
Registered: 2013-04-10
Posts: 1,605

Re: Firefox CPU usage

I think I actually replied too soon. I previously used gnome-system-monitor for testing, and there the only firefox process is showing 0-1% usage.

Using htop however, there's a firefox process with roughly 10% usage, when there's only one tab with google.com open. This doesn't seem to happen with any other web pages/domains that I tested.

I also tested with firefox-developer-edition, and there a similar process is only reporting at most 2% cpu usage.
So maybe this is a bug that's fixed in firefox 63..

Last edited by ooo (2018-09-16 17:46:05)

Offline

#5 Yesterday 15:28:40

olive
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-06-22
Posts: 1,425

Re: Firefox CPU usage

I have also tested the developer edition and then I get two processes using 2-3% CPU. Better but still way too much for doing nothing. I would like to love Firefox, but I can't. I think this is related to javascript (disabling it solve the problem). But is Mozilla can solve this problem on Windows it should on Linux too.

Last edited by olive (Yesterday 15:28:54)

Offline

#6 Yesterday 18:27:31

ooo
Member
Registered: 2013-04-10
Posts: 1,605

Re: Firefox CPU usage

It's also possible that this issue has always only effected Linux, and not other OSs. It may even only effect cetain CPU's or only appear with certain compiler setups. I think your conclusion that Mozilla doesn't care about fixing Linux bugs is a bit far fetched.

I didn't see any open upstream bug reports that would be obviously related to this issue, although this could also be fixed in firefox-nightly already..

Offline

#7 Yesterday 20:07:33

olive
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-06-22
Posts: 1,425

Re: Firefox CPU usage

A Google search leads to many people complaining about this for a long time. I have noticed this problem across many versions with several CPU. We could always hope but I doubt it will be fixed any time soon. For example this post describes exactly the same problem and is 5 year old: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/965360

Last edited by olive (Yesterday 20:07:44)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB