You are not logged in.

#1 2018-09-20 00:14:56

eserlxl
Member
From: Ankara, TURKEY
Registered: 2018-09-19
Posts: 6

[SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

After updating packages, I cannot start bitcoin-qt even from a fresh installation again. No log, no error messages. Compiling from the latest source on github gives the same result.

My Arch: 

KDE Plasma, 4.18.8-arch1-1-ARCH x86_64

I've found the problem using

 gdb -> run -> CTRL+C -> bt 

sequence and gdb points qt/bitcoin.cpp:579.

I had to disable SSLv3 -> TLS code part in order to run the bitcoin-qt wallet.

Disabled code part ( src/qt/bitcoin.cpp, line 579 )

    QSslConfiguration sslconf = QSslConfiguration::defaultConfiguration();
    sslconf.setProtocol(QSsl::TlsV1_0OrLater);
    QSslConfiguration::setDefaultConfiguration(sslconf);

I've also reported this bug to bitcoin github. Another solution is disabling bip70 and it was proposed before, but I think there hasn't been any consensus about adding this configure option yet. Therefore, disabling bip70 configure option hasn't been included in the latest source on bitcoin github.

But, why we have to disable bip70? I think after updating packages, some of the dependencies violate bip70 consensus that introduces requirement on developers to support legacy public-key infrastructure (openssl etc.).

Thanks for your help.

Last edited by eserlxl (2018-09-26 23:51:29)

Offline

#2 2018-09-20 18:32:24

maxweiss
Member
Registered: 2017-10-21
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

I also get this behavior both with bitcoin-qt and with namecoin-qt from the namecoin-core-wallet package in the AUR (for which I am the maintainer).  I am testing rebuilding both using the depends as recommended in your github issue thread...  but it's taking a long time to build everything, so I can't confirm the fix yet.

I ran gdb too and also saw it stopped in the same place.  From the backtrace output, it looks like an upstream bug in libQt5Network.  I don't have tons of debugging experience, so I can't say if it's deadlocking or what exactly is happening, but I just wanted to chime in and post that I am getting the same behavior in the past couple of days.

Offline

#3 2018-09-23 21:46:37

Heis
Member
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 16

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

Happens to me aswell. Good to know I am not the only. All of us are on KDE?

Offline

#4 2018-09-24 09:07:10

ugis
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2016-08-12
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

Hi. This also is an issue for me. I did just a fresh "pacman -Syu" 10 minutes ago (got a new bitcoin-qt build), but it still hangs and does not do anything.

I am using GNOME Version 3.30.0.

Offline

#5 2018-09-24 12:23:31

eserlxl
Member
From: Ankara, TURKEY
Registered: 2018-09-19
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

I think the problem is about OpenSSL package

Offline

#6 2018-09-26 23:18:02

Chuck Arch Linux
Member
Registered: 2011-06-23
Posts: 81

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

I had to disable SSLv3 -> TLS code part in order to run the bitcoin-qt wallet.

Disabled code part ( src/qt/bitcoin.cpp, line 579 )

    QSslConfiguration sslconf = QSslConfiguration::defaultConfiguration();
    sslconf.setProtocol(QSsl::TlsV1_0OrLater);
    QSslConfiguration::setDefaultConfiguration(sslconf);

I've also reported this bug to bitcoin github. Another solution is disabling bip70 and it was proposed before....

Those two solution does not work for me, I tried to recompile with --disabling-bip70 and it won't open as well.

I'm using latest Arch Linux updates available and Awesome WM

Last edited by Chuck Arch Linux (2018-09-26 23:18:46)

Offline

#7 2018-09-26 23:49:55

eserlxl
Member
From: Ankara, TURKEY
Registered: 2018-09-19
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

As I mentioned, disabling bip70 configuration macro is not available for now due to negative support by the developers. Forget disabling bip70 smile

I found an interesting fix for this issue. An unnecessary SSL library version check allows bitcoin-qt to run again on Arch Linux without disabling switching SSLv3 to TLS. QSslSocket::sslLibraryVersionString() returns an empty string for me.

    QSslSocket::sslLibraryVersionString(); // An unnecessary check to solve issue #14273: bitcoin-qt stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS on Arch Linux
    Q_ASSERT( QSslSocket::supportsSsl() );

    QSslConfiguration sslconf = QSslConfiguration::defaultConfiguration();
    sslconf.setProtocol(QSsl::TlsV1_0OrLater);
    QSslConfiguration::setDefaultConfiguration(sslconf);

    Q_ASSERT(QSslConfiguration::defaultConfiguration().protocol() == QSsl::TlsV1_0OrLater);

Of course, Q_ASSERT's are not necessary smile

Offline

#8 2018-09-28 06:46:19

ugis
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2016-08-12
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

Great. Any idea if this patch (?) will make it to Arch repositories. I.e., can I get bitcoin-qt running without compiling it manually?

Last edited by ugis (2018-09-28 07:27:30)

Offline

#9 2018-09-28 07:01:00

eserlxl
Member
From: Ankara, TURKEY
Registered: 2018-09-19
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

I don't know why they react so slow smile

If you would like to use the latest stable version:

git clone -b "v0.16.3" --single-branch --depth 1 https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin.git

Apply my patch to bitcoin/src/qt/bitcoin.cpp at line 579

QSslSocket::sslLibraryVersionString(); // An unnecessary check to solve issue #14273: bitcoin-qt stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS on Arch Linux

Then compile bitcoin:

cd bitcoin
sh autogen.sh
./configure --with-incompatible-bdb
make -jN

You can run tests with make check.

Run the patched bitcoin-qt :

cd bitcoin/src/qt
./bitcoin-qt

I will use this version smile

Last edited by eserlxl (2018-10-01 12:30:52)

Offline

#10 2018-09-28 12:20:45

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,911

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

ugis wrote:

Any idea if this patch (?) will make it to Arch repositories

eserlxl wrote:

I don't know why they react so slow

If they refers to "archlinux package maintainers" , that is probably due to the fact no one has created an archlinux bug report for it.

In other words : archlinux developers are not aware bitcoin-qt has a bug.


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#11 2018-09-28 16:04:27

eserlxl
Member
From: Ankara, TURKEY
Registered: 2018-09-19
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

Lone_Wolf wrote:

If they refers to "archlinux package maintainers" , that is probably due to the fact no one has created an archlinux bug report for it.

In other words : archlinux developers are not aware bitcoin-qt has a bug.

Yes, you are right. It's my mistake. I will post to bugs.archlinux.org asap.

Offline

#12 2018-09-28 18:23:14

eserlxl
Member
From: Ankara, TURKEY
Registered: 2018-09-19
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

And here's the bug report link: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/60235

Offline

#13 2019-01-20 17:36:22

Chuck Arch Linux
Member
Registered: 2011-06-23
Posts: 81

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

Since at this date Arch Linux package is not working and flagged out of date, I'm posting only to tell that
compiling latest source version 0.17.1 work like a charm.

git clone -b "v0.17.1" --single-branch --depth 1 https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin.git

then

cd bitcoin
sh autogen.sh
./configure --prefix=/usr/ --with-incompatible-bdb
make -jN

and

make install

Offline

#14 2019-02-03 12:08:26

bobby92
Member
Registered: 2019-02-03
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

bitcoin-qt is broken for about half a year now.
How about a proper fix?

Offline

#15 2019-02-03 17:48:31

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,668

Re: [SOLVED] Can you run bitcoin-qt? [Stops while switching SSLv3 to TLS]

The new version was released a week ago and flagged then, if you can't wait use the ABS to build it yourself or see point 6

Closing, to prevent further "when will it be ready" derailment.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB