You are not logged in.

#1 2018-10-10 14:43:19

flow-research
Member
Registered: 2018-10-10
Posts: 3

bumblebee with linux-rt-bfq freeze ?

Greetings, this is my first time posting on the arch forum, I've been using arch for about 2.5 years now.

Recently, I started using bumblebee on a new laptop using the regular linux kernel and had no issues.

However, when I switched to the linux-rt-bfq kernel from the aur, the bumblebee no longer works. Specifically, when I use the command primusrun it freezes my display (but not the whole system apparently, because when I press the power button, the OS quits the X session and shuts down regularly.)

When I switch back to the regular linux kernel, primusrun works properly again.

What do I need to do in order to use bumblebee and primusrun effectively with linux-rt-bfq ?

Any guidance would be appreciated, thanks.

EDIT: now I see there is a nvidia-rt package which depends on linux-rt, so I'm guessing an nvidia-rt-bfq package would be needed that depends on linux-rt-bfq?

Last edited by flow-research (2018-10-10 15:03:47)

Offline

#2 2018-10-10 15:14:13

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 5,476

Re: bumblebee with linux-rt-bfq freeze ?

Either what you've noticed yourself, or you could switch to the relevant dkms variants which will rebuild the corresponding modules for every kernel you've got installed, e.g. in this case you will at least want nvidia-dkms and bbswitch-dkms to restore the same functionality for every kernel.

Read https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Dy … le_Support for more info on what DKMS is and potential gotchas.

Offline

#3 2018-10-10 15:27:23

flow-research
Member
Registered: 2018-10-10
Posts: 3

Re: bumblebee with linux-rt-bfq freeze ?

Yes, I see now that dkms is what is needed. It does make a difference with nvidia-dkms and bbswitch-dkms since the display does not freeze now.

However, now I have this

~]$ primusrun glxgears
primus: fatal: Bumblebee daemon reported: error: [XORG] (EE) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA GPU at PCI:1:0:0.  Please

And the message is cut off at the word Please. I'm not sure what is the cause of it.

Offline

#4 2018-10-10 15:30:28

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 5,476

Re: bumblebee with linux-rt-bfq freeze ?

Did the DKMS build succeed? Check your journal/dmesg if more information is present there. Did you make sure to install the header files for your kernel?

Offline

#5 2018-10-10 15:34:18

flow-research
Member
Registered: 2018-10-10
Posts: 3

Re: bumblebee with linux-rt-bfq freeze ?

Yes, I've got the linux-rt-bfq-headers package installed and

~]$ dkms status
bbswitch, 0.8, 4.18.7-rt5-3-rt-bfq, x86_64: installed
nvidia, 410.57, 4.18.7-rt5-3-rt-bfq, x86_64: installed

Do I need to recompile the kernel?

[   47.674533] bbswitch: enabling discrete graphics
[   47.905831] ipmi message handler version 39.2
[   47.907735] ipmi device interface
[   47.953433] nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
[   47.953436] Disabling lock debugging due to kernel taint
[   47.986088] nvidia-nvlink: Nvlink Core is being initialized, major device number 237
[   48.192562] NVRM: loading NVIDIA UNIX x86_64 Kernel Module  410.57  Tue Sep 18 23:25:09 CDT 2018 (using threaded interrupts)
[   53.178520] NVRM: failed to copy vbios to system memory.
[   53.179428] NVRM: RmInitAdapter failed! (0x30:0xffff:664)
[   53.179652] NVRM: rm_init_adapter failed for device bearing minor number 0
[  103.625488] NVRM: failed to copy vbios to system memory.
[  103.626506] NVRM: RmInitAdapter failed! (0x30:0xffff:664)
[  103.626676] NVRM: rm_init_adapter failed for device bearing minor number 0

Last edited by flow-research (2018-10-10 15:35:50)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB