You are not logged in.

#1 2018-10-10 00:08:37

rhekman
Member
Registered: 2015-08-28
Posts: 2

gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

Upgrading from gnome-shell 3.30.1-1 today to version 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1
caused the following extensions to fail to load and show "Error" on extensions.gnome.org/local

Applications Menu
Places Status Indicator
Recent Items
Removable Drive Menu
Workspace Indicator

These are all listed as "System Extensions", I assume provided by various gnome-shell-extension* packages.

Downgrading to gnome-shell 3.30.1-1 with no other changes fixed the problems.

A log is available at https://pastebin.com/HDH06fWc

I'm not in any way an expert but there are a number of gnome-shell errors in the log referring to "Extension...[named extension]... had error".  These errors vary by extension, but generally refer to a JS TypeError or undefined property.

For example:
Tue 2018-10-09 18:39:12 CDT cormorant gnome-shell[1184]: JS WARNING: [/usr/share/gnome-shell/extensions/drive-menu@gnome-shell-extensions.gcampax.github.com/extension.js 140]: reference to undefined property "_addMount"
Tue 2018-10-09 18:39:12 CDT cormorant gnome-shell[1184]: Extension "drive-menu@gnome-shell-extensions.gcampax.github.com" had error: TypeError: this._addMount is undefined

Offline

#2 2018-10-10 11:42:36

yupi
Member
Registered: 2012-12-10
Posts: 24

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

Let me add that also (non-system but very popular) neroth-weather and hamster extensions are affected badly: hamster extension does not start, weather extension starts but with weird behaviour.
Gnome-shell gradually becomes slower and freezes completely after a few minutes (probably because of some extension not working correctly with this new version of gnome-shell).

Downgrading to gnome-shell 3.30.1-1 fixes all problems.

Must be maintainer's typo: why would anyone push this bunch https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gnome-sh … ..38c1ebba of breaking changes straight to extra?

Last edited by yupi (2018-10-10 12:05:20)

Offline

#3 2018-10-10 11:56:23

Xabre
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 686

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

Not only does it get slower, but htop reports that it's using 50-60% of CPU, temps go high while laptop is doing nothing, plus several commonly used extensions give an error. Downgrade to 3.30.1-1 makes all problems disappear.

Offline

#4 2018-10-10 12:02:18

johnpiers
Member
From: Norwood, Johannesburg
Registered: 2012-07-22
Posts: 24

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

At my login screen (after rebooting the PC and installing 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1) put my password in, hit enter and screen goes black and then straight back to the login screen. Couldn't get past that point, downgraded the package and everything back to normal.

Offline

#5 2018-10-10 13:30:19

wilfriedd
Member
Registered: 2013-05-08
Posts: 9

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

For me the GUI element of the window switcher (Alt-Tab) broke. A downgrade fixed this..

Offline

#6 2018-10-10 17:39:30

CharlesG
Member
Registered: 2017-09-27
Posts: 3

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

Offline

#7 2018-10-10 18:09:07

GTH
Member
Registered: 2018-10-10
Posts: 1

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

Offline

#8 2018-10-11 09:44:24

Xabre
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 686

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

3.30.1 from this morning seems to have returned things back to normal.

Offline

#9 2018-10-11 10:41:22

squalou
Member
Registered: 2018-06-04
Posts: 33

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

I had similar issues, and others with 'mutter', when upgrading with packages named like this :  3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1

Makes me wonder about the release model underneath.

These version numbers make me think of 'testing' versions more that anything.
I would not expect to see these unless I activate 'testing' repos, (or when installing from 'aur')

Does anyone agree ?
Is it the pakage maintainer that should be contacted ?

Apparently numbering did change again :     1:3.30.1-1 instead of 3.30.1-1   .... what the hell is happening with gnome packages?

Offline

#10 2018-10-11 10:54:25

Luciddream
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2014-12-08
Posts: 8

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

These version numbers make me think of 'testing' versions more that anything.
I would not expect to see these unless I activate 'testing' repos, (or when installing from 'aur')

Does anyone agree ?
Is it the pakage maintainer that should be contacted ?

I've been watching this issue for the past couple of weeks, and I was expecting something like this to happen. I guess that the package maintainer felt that gnome release plan is good enough to use the patches from the stable branch, without further testing. Gnome merged a buggy patch to the stable branch, and Arch Linux just used it in the main repository. It looks like a very bad timing to a procedure that used to work so far for Arch Linux. It was going to happen at some point, and it happened to be now.

Last edited by Luciddream (2018-10-11 10:55:21)

Offline

#11 2018-10-11 12:03:50

squalou
Member
Registered: 2018-06-04
Posts: 33

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

Thanks for the explanation, at least I understand where the version names come from smile

Personallly I would be more than happy to have the approximately monthly 'tag' from gnome upstream project, but it's probably not the case of guys wainting for specific fixes.

I can't find the clear release plan of gnome, but as an end-user I would stick to tags ( + eventually cherry-picked security fixes added by packager)

No idea how it is supposed ti be dealt with in Arch. Testing would probably be fitted for 3.31-previews branch of gnome.
Anyway a quick rollback makes it work again, but I can't imagine having to rollback 10 packages a day.

A cool feature could be an 'Ignore' in pacman.conf based on a regex desribing a naming convention wink

Last edited by squalou (2018-10-11 12:04:40)

Offline

#12 2018-10-11 13:07:54

Luciddream
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2014-12-08
Posts: 8

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

squalou wrote:

Personallly I would be more than happy to have the approximately monthly 'tag' from gnome upstream project, but it's probably not the case of guys wainting for specific fixes.

If I have a specific problem with a package, I should have to do the work (by manually building the latest source code), or wait until the official release is made. But it looks like distributions are rushing to show they are using up to date software.

Offline

#13 2018-10-11 14:10:01

Allan
Supreme Leader
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,758
Website

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

squalou wrote:

A cool feature could be an 'Ignore' in pacman.conf based on a regex desribing a naming convention wink

       IgnorePkg = package ...
           Instructs pacman to ignore any upgrades for this package when
           performing a --sysupgrade. Shell-style glob patterns are allowed.

Not regex, but probably enough...

Offline

#14 2018-10-11 14:12:16

Allan
Supreme Leader
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,758
Website

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

Luciddream wrote:

But it looks like distributions are rushing to show they are using up to date software.

Kinda the whole point of Arch...  Upstream released some fixes, Arch pulled them into its package.  Unfortunately upstream fucked up, so it was reverted.  This is nothing new and was easily solved by users downgrading.

Offline

#15 2018-10-11 14:25:50

squalou
Member
Registered: 2018-06-04
Posts: 33

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

Allan wrote:
squalou wrote:

A cool feature could be an 'Ignore' in pacman.conf based on a regex desribing a naming convention wink

       IgnorePkg = package ...
           Instructs pacman to ignore any upgrades for this package when
           performing a --sysupgrade. Shell-style glob patterns are allowed.

Not regex, but probably enough...


Excellent ! Didn't know that. Except after a few tests, the glob only occurs on the package name, not the version.

Anyway, as you said a downgrade fixes it, and issue won't probably occur before long.

Last edited by squalou (2018-10-11 14:30:15)

Offline

#16 2018-10-11 14:34:48

Luciddream
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2014-12-08
Posts: 8

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

Allan wrote:
Luciddream wrote:

But it looks like distributions are rushing to show they are using up to date software.

Kinda the whole point of Arch...  Upstream released some fixes, Arch pulled them into its package.  Unfortunately upstream fucked up, so it was reverted.  This is nothing new and was easily solved by users downgrading.

No, upstream and Arch fucked up, next time upstream adds an rm -rf, feel free to add it in the main repo. This is why testing exists. I don't mind that happened, but saying it's a non issue doesn't make it better.

Offline

#17 2018-10-11 14:53:52

Allan
Supreme Leader
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,758
Website

Re: gnome-shell 3.30.1+29+g38c1ebba6-1 breaks Classic Mode extensions

Luciddream wrote:
Allan wrote:
Luciddream wrote:

But it looks like distributions are rushing to show they are using up to date software.

Kinda the whole point of Arch...  Upstream released some fixes, Arch pulled them into its package.  Unfortunately upstream fucked up, so it was reverted.  This is nothing new and was easily solved by users downgrading.

No, upstream and Arch fucked up, next time upstream adds an rm -rf, feel free to add it in the main repo. This is why testing exists. I don't mind that happened, but saying it's a non issue doesn't make it better.

I never said a non-issue, but it was a minor issue...  some extensions did not work and there was an easy fix.  Sometimes it happens on a rolling release.  Bleeding edge occasionally bleeds.

And the [testing] repo in Arch is not for minor things like this.  It is for things that can completely break your system.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB