You are not logged in.

#1 2004-03-12 01:21:40

punkandacoke
Member
Registered: 2004-03-09
Posts: 10

Browsing Cd's

How do I browse cds, and with what?
Im running xfce4 and I understand that the cdroms reside in /dev/cdroms/cdrom0.

Offline

#2 2004-03-12 01:35:47

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Browsing Cd's

depend on what is on these cd's

first you need to mount te cd:

mount /mnt/cd

then the data of the cd is accessible in /mnt/cd

... if you have pictures on it, use e.g. gqview

... if you have sounds, use e.g. xmms

...


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#3 2004-03-12 03:05:11

punkandacoke
Member
Registered: 2004-03-09
Posts: 10

Re: Browsing Cd's

[root @ wh0r3] mount /mnt/cd
mount: mount point /mnt/cd does not exist

thats the error message I got

Offline

#4 2004-03-12 03:58:04

alcattle
Member
Registered: 2004-03-08
Posts: 32

Re: Browsing Cd's

did you make the dir?

mnt# mkdir cd
         if your /etc/fstab is set up then:
         mount /dev/cdroms/cdrom0
then: cd cd
        ls

I had to go around this a couple times to get it working, almost a catch 22, also you can't be in /mnt/cd when you do the mount for it to work correctly therefore the : cd cd or cd /mnt/cd

now I'm confused :oops:  wink


Big Al in Seattle

http://www.easylinuxguide.com

Very N00b Friendly Group of people

Offline

#5 2004-03-12 13:15:41

natael
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2003-11-20
Posts: 11
Website

Re: Browsing Cd's

Yes, just create /mnt/cd (and optionally /mnt/dvd) as root

# mkdir /mnt/{cd,dvd}

then any user can do "mount /mnt/cd" (or the dvd equivalent), at least per the latest default /etc/fstab entries.
"umount /mnt/cd" unmounts the cd/dvd. Same goes for floppies (/mnt/fl)

Offline

#6 2004-03-13 04:43:52

trey
Member
From: Alpharetta, GA
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 73

Re: Browsing Cd's

Is there any way to get disks to automount?  And have the CD/DVD icon appear on the desktop?

Offline

#7 2004-03-13 05:44:58

alcattle
Member
Registered: 2004-03-08
Posts: 32

Re: Browsing Cd's

some CD/dvds won't automount, but if you add them in /etc/fstab they will be mounted at boot.
Depending on your DE (KDE?) they have a GUI tool for it, I have had an icon on my desktop before.

HTH smile


Big Al in Seattle

http://www.easylinuxguide.com

Very N00b Friendly Group of people

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB