You are not logged in.

#1 2006-08-02 17:57:26

mcrae
Member
From: Brunswick, GA
Registered: 2006-06-21
Posts: 88

KDE 3.5.4 question SOLVED

This issue was solved by just waiting for the mirrors to sync with the new kdebase 3.5.4.



I'm sure I'm doing something stupid here;)
I see 3.5.4 is in the extra repo. When I run pacman  -S kdebase it says I'm current (including extra) at 3.5.3-4.
So.......I'm coming from gentoo so maybe I'm miss configuring something in /etc/pacman.conf? I currently have current, extra and community enabled and with pacman -Syu they are all reporting to be up to date.

Any help would be appreciated.

McRae

Offline

#2 2006-08-02 18:02:25

scarney
Member
From: Wisconsin, US
Registered: 2006-07-11
Posts: 173

Re: KDE 3.5.4 question SOLVED

maybe try -Su

Offline

#3 2006-08-02 18:02:52

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,660

Re: KDE 3.5.4 question SOLVED

As more and more people start shitting up our rsync server by running their own mirrors and screwing up with the scheduler settings, many official mirrors have problems getting the latest files, especially with big package updates like KDE or a whole gnome move. It could take quite some hours before your local mirror is updated.

Offline

#4 2006-08-02 18:15:49

mcrae
Member
From: Brunswick, GA
Registered: 2006-06-21
Posts: 88

Re: KDE 3.5.4 question SOLVED

wow,
You guys respond quickly :shock:

Glad to hear I'm not just missing something obvious - that's always a bit embarrassing on the forum.
No problem waiting. Loving Arch so far though. Just hoping to see a package for e17 but I already see people with more skill than me working on it. Gotta love it.

Thanks to both of you for your responses.
McRae

Offline

#5 2006-08-02 18:42:23

miller0521
Member
Registered: 2006-05-17
Posts: 38

Re: KDE 3.5.4 question SOLVED

I did a pacman -Syu and it updated everything , however if I do help and about kde it says version 3.5.3... any ideas why its not the newer version?

Offline

#6 2006-08-02 19:22:32

brazzmonkey
Member
From: between keyboard and chair
Registered: 2006-03-16
Posts: 818
Website

Re: KDE 3.5.4 question SOLVED

i suspect some repos are not up-to-date because i'm still using kde 3.5.3 and pacman says it is up-to-date...


what goes up must come down

Offline

#7 2006-08-02 20:05:34

miller0521
Member
Registered: 2006-05-17
Posts: 38

Re: KDE 3.5.4 question SOLVED

Sounds good, I just wanted to make sure it was nothing on my end. I'll give it a few days and try again

Offline

#8 2006-08-02 21:14:13

brazzmonkey
Member
From: between keyboard and chair
Registered: 2006-03-16
Posts: 818
Website

Re: KDE 3.5.4 question SOLVED

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … highlight=
you might try another repo mirror...


what goes up must come down

Offline

#9 2006-08-04 02:14:57

mcrae
Member
From: Brunswick, GA
Registered: 2006-06-21
Posts: 88

Re: KDE 3.5.4 question SOLVED

Yep, my mirror synced up and I dowloaded it tonight.
It's been marked solved.

Thanks Again,
McRae

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB