You are not logged in.

#1 2006-07-29 03:18:12

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

MPD doesn't work with alsa

ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:862:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
problems getting ao_driver_info
you may not have permission to the audio device

and my mpd.conf:

mixer_type              "alsa"
mixer_device            "dmix"
mixer_control           "PCM"
ao_driver_options       "dmixer"

Offline

#2 2006-07-29 05:14:03

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: MPD doesn't work with alsa

Try setting up sound using Alsa


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2006-08-03 14:26:37

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: MPD doesn't work with alsa

Yes I already set up alsa and oss, all the media player can share the soundcard, but mpd can't get started.

Offline

#4 2006-08-03 14:29:15

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: MPD doesn't work with alsa

did you add mpd to daemons in rc.conf?


Mr Green

Offline

#5 2006-08-03 16:22:29

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: MPD doesn't work with alsa

off cause i did.

I had used mpd for a long time before i install alsa-oss.

I tried all type of mixer_type in /etc/mpd.conf, but all failed.

Offline

#6 2006-08-04 07:14:33

pauldonnelly
Member
Registered: 2006-06-19
Posts: 776

Re: MPD doesn't work with alsa

The wiki says that dmixer can only be used by one user at a time. Maybe adding "ipc_key_add_uid 0" to asound.conf just before the slave section could help.

Offline

#7 2006-08-04 08:25:59

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: MPD doesn't work with alsa

I did already add this line to my asound.conf
ipc_key_add_uid false

I ran mpd before every media players tomorrow, so mpd worked well, but others cant work.

That's why I use alsa-oss now.

But dont know why mpd failed to work with alsa.

Offline

#8 2006-08-04 09:27:22

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: MPD doesn't work with alsa

I tried to start mpd with root, then I could only use audio(like xmms) under root account.

But when I set mpd to run with normal user by change user section in the mpd.conf, any other audio program was unable to use sound card, even did root.

i tried to start mpd by just type "mpd" in command line by a normal user,  but it said I've no permission to use hardware:

bash-3.1$ mpd
ALSA lib pcm_direct.c:224:(make_local_socket) connect failed: : Invalid argument
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:894:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to connect client

Now the problem is ,how can I run mpd as normal user? Because I did not do anything to me by adding the line

ipc_key_add_uid 0

before my alsa slave config.

Offline

#9 2006-08-04 10:45:27

Moparx
Member
Registered: 2006-02-05
Posts: 136
Website

Re: MPD doesn't work with alsa

So it works fine in root? Have you given your user accounts permission to use audio?
gpasswd -a username audio

You will need to completely log out & then log back in for it to take effect


And then it happened... a door opened to a world... rushing through the phone line like heroin through an addict's veins, an electronic pulse is sent out, a refuge from the day-to-day incompetencies is sought... a board is found.
        "This is it... this is where I belong..."

Arch Linux x86_64 | LiCo #213644 | blog / configs

Offline

#10 2006-08-04 11:03:41

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: MPD doesn't work with alsa

Yes, Im already in the audio group.

I think the problem now is why i get the following error when I run mpd as a normal user:

bash-3.1$ mpd 
ALSA lib pcm_direct.c:224:(make_local_socket) connect failed: : Invalid argument 
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:894:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to connect client

Offline

#11 2006-08-04 11:29:40

mpie
Member
From: 404 Not found
Registered: 2005-03-06
Posts: 649

Re: MPD doesn't work with alsa

what is your soundcard and what modules are loaded??

Offline

#12 2006-08-04 12:40:27

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: MPD doesn't work with alsa

nforce c51g, intel_8x0

Offline

#13 2006-08-04 12:53:11

mpie
Member
From: 404 Not found
Registered: 2005-03-06
Posts: 649

Re: MPD doesn't work with alsa

if that is the only sound module loaded, then you will have issues with dmix and pcm you may need to modprobe snd_pcm_oss

do you have alsa-oss intalled?

Offline

#14 2006-08-04 13:20:22

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: MPD doesn't work with alsa

Yes, only When I logged as root, I can let mpd share oss with other media players.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB