You are not logged in.

#1 2019-01-13 12:35:26

pgp
Member
Registered: 2019-01-12
Posts: 22

[solved] i3 colours not changing

I have tried changing the i3 config file to change the colour scheme, as described in the i3 documentation, but when I restart i3, the colours haven't changed.
i3 config:

# i3 config file (v4)
#
# Please see https://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html for a complete reference!
#
# This config file uses keycodes (bindsym) and was written for the QWERTY
# layout.
#
# To get a config file with the same key positions, but for your current
# layout, use the i3-config-wizard
#

# Font for window titles. Will also be used by the bar unless a different font
# is used in the bar {} block below.
font pango:monospace 8

# This font is widely installed, provides lots of unicode glyphs, right-to-left
# text rendering and scalability on retina/hidpi displays (thanks to pango).
#font pango:DejaVu Sans Mono 8

# Before i3 v4.8, we used to recommend this one as the default:
# font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--13-120-75-75-C-70-iso10646-1
# The font above is very space-efficient, that is, it looks good, sharp and
# clear in small sizes. However, its unicode glyph coverage is limited, the old
# X core fonts rendering does not support right-to-left and this being a bitmap
# font, it doesn't scale on retina/hidpi displays.

# use these keys for focus, movement, and resize directions when reaching for
# the arrows is not convenient
set $up l
set $down k
set $left j
set $right semicolon

# use Mouse+Mod1 to drag floating windows to their wanted position
floating_modifier Mod1

# start a terminal
bindsym Mod1+Return exec i3-sensible-terminal

# kill focused window
bindsym Mod1+Shift+q kill

# start dmenu (a program launcher)
bindsym Mod1+d exec dmenu_run
# There also is the (new) i3-dmenu-desktop which only displays applications
# shipping a .desktop file. It is a wrapper around dmenu, so you need that
# installed.
# bindsym Mod1+d exec --no-startup-id i3-dmenu-desktop

# change focus
bindsym Mod1+$left focus left
bindsym Mod1+$down focus down
bindsym Mod1+$up focus up
bindsym Mod1+$right focus right

# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym Mod1+Left focus left
bindsym Mod1+Down focus down
bindsym Mod1+Up focus up
bindsym Mod1+Right focus right

# move focused window
bindsym Mod1+Shift+$left move left
bindsym Mod1+Shift+$down move down
bindsym Mod1+Shift+$up move up
bindsym Mod1+Shift+$right move right

# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym Mod1+Shift+Left move left
bindsym Mod1+Shift+Down move down
bindsym Mod1+Shift+Up move up
bindsym Mod1+Shift+Right move right

# split in horizontal orientation
bindsym Mod1+h split h

# split in vertical orientation
bindsym Mod1+v split v

# enter fullscreen mode for the focused container
bindsym Mod1+f fullscreen toggle

# change container layout (stacked, tabbed, toggle split)
bindsym Mod1+s layout stacking
bindsym Mod1+w layout tabbed
bindsym Mod1+e layout toggle split

# toggle tiling / floating
bindsym Mod1+Shift+space floating toggle

# change focus between tiling / floating windows
bindsym Mod1+space focus mode_toggle

# focus the parent container
bindsym Mod1+a focus parent

# focus the child container
#bindsym Mod1+d focus child

# move the currently focused window to the scratchpad
bindsym Mod1+Shift+minus move scratchpad

# Show the next scratchpad window or hide the focused scratchpad window.
# If there are multiple scratchpad windows, this command cycles through them.
bindsym Mod1+minus scratchpad show

# Define names for default workspaces for which we configure key bindings later on.
# We use variables to avoid repeating the names in multiple places.
set $ws1 "1"
set $ws2 "2"
set $ws3 "3"
set $ws4 "4"
set $ws5 "5"
set $ws6 "6"
set $ws7 "7"
set $ws8 "8"
set $ws9 "9"
set $ws10 "10"


# switch to workspace
bindsym Mod1+1 workspace $ws1
bindsym Mod1+2 workspace $ws2
bindsym Mod1+3 workspace $ws3
bindsym Mod1+4 workspace $ws4
bindsym Mod1+5 workspace $ws5
bindsym Mod1+6 workspace $ws6
bindsym Mod1+7 workspace $ws7
bindsym Mod1+8 workspace $ws8
bindsym Mod1+9 workspace $ws9
bindsym Mod1+0 workspace $ws10

# move focused container to workspace
bindsym Mod1+Shift+1 move container to workspace $ws1
bindsym Mod1+Shift+2 move container to workspace $ws2
bindsym Mod1+Shift+3 move container to workspace $ws3
bindsym Mod1+Shift+4 move container to workspace $ws4
bindsym Mod1+Shift+5 move container to workspace $ws5
bindsym Mod1+Shift+6 move container to workspace $ws6
bindsym Mod1+Shift+7 move container to workspace $ws7
bindsym Mod1+Shift+8 move container to workspace $ws8
bindsym Mod1+Shift+9 move container to workspace $ws9
bindsym Mod1+Shift+0 move container to workspace $ws10

# reload the configuration file
bindsym Mod1+Shift+c reload
# restart i3 inplace (preserves your layout/session, can be used to upgrade i3)
bindsym Mod1+Shift+r restart
# exit i3 (logs you out of your X session)
bindsym Mod1+Shift+e exec "i3-nagbar -t warning -m 'You pressed the exit shortcut. Do you really want to exit i3? This will end your X session.' -B 'Yes, exit i3' 'i3-msg exit'"

# resize window (you can also use the mouse for that)
mode "resize" {
        # These bindings trigger as soon as you enter the resize mode

        # Pressing left will shrink the window’s width.
        # Pressing right will grow the window’s width.
        # Pressing up will shrink the window’s height.
        # Pressing down will grow the window’s height.
        bindsym $left       resize shrink width 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym $down       resize grow height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym $up         resize shrink height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym $right      resize grow width 10 px or 10 ppt

        # same bindings, but for the arrow keys
        bindsym Left        resize shrink width 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Down        resize grow height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Up          resize shrink height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Right       resize grow width 10 px or 10 ppt

        # back to normal: Enter or Escape or Mod1+r
        bindsym Return mode "default"
        bindsym Escape mode "default"
        bindsym Mod1+r mode "default"
}

bindsym Mod1+r mode "resize"

# Start i3bar to display a workspace bar (plus the system information i3status
# finds out, if available)
bar {
        status_command i3status
}
#window colors
set $border-colour		#d8be2b
set $inactive-border-colour	#68483e
set $background-colour		#331bba
set $text-colour		#28e232
set $inactive-text-colour	#e82c0b

#class				border			background		text
client.focused			$border-colour		$background-colour	$text-colour
client.focused_inactive		$inactive-border-colour	$background-colour	$inactive-text-colour
client.unfocused		$inactive-border-colour	$background-colour	$inactive-text-colour

client.background
#######################################################################
# automatically start i3-config-wizard to offer the user to create a
# keysym-based config which used their favorite modifier (alt or windows)
#
# i3-config-wizard will not launch if there already is a config file
# in ~/.i3/config.
#
# Please remove the following exec line:
#######################################################################
exec_always --no-startup-id $HOME/.config/polybar/launch.sh

Last edited by pgp (2019-01-14 08:12:27)

Offline

#2 2019-01-13 13:24:33

Piri
Member
Registered: 2018-06-02
Posts: 70

Re: [solved] i3 colours not changing

Are you sure your config is getting loaded? Where is the config file saved?

You also have a syntax error on line 196

client.background

Offline

#3 2019-01-13 14:11:57

pgp
Member
Registered: 2019-01-12
Posts: 22

Re: [solved] i3 colours not changing

My config file is in /etc/i3.

Offline

#4 2019-01-13 14:40:03

Lupo Alberto
Member
From: Gomel, Belarus
Registered: 2013-11-25
Posts: 84

Re: [solved] i3 colours not changing

Check if you have ~/.config/i3/config or alike, because...

% man i3
...
 When starting, i3 looks for configuration files in the following order:

        1. ~/.config/i3/config (or $XDG_CONFIG_HOME/i3/config if set)

        2. ~/.i3/config

        3. /etc/xdg/i3/config (or $XDG_CONFIG_DIRS/i3/config if set)

        4. /etc/i3/config

       You can specify a custom path using the -c option

Offline

#5 2019-01-13 14:40:17

onslow77
Member
Registered: 2014-09-21
Posts: 279

Re: [solved] i3 colours not changing

pgp wrote:

My config file is in /etc/i3.

According to the I3 wiki, you should copy the template configuration from "/etc/i3/config" into ~/.config/i3/config (or ~/.i3/config), and editing that file.

Regards
Martin


It is advised to follow the How to post guide when posting on the Arch forum. If one consciously jumps over these elementary steps like reading the wiki and providing necessary information about the problem, one can be regarded as a Help Vampire.

Offline

#6 2019-01-13 14:41:07

Gigamo
Member
Registered: 2008-01-19
Posts: 394

Re: [solved] i3 colours not changing

Are you intentionally running both polybar and i3status? If you mean to change the colors of i3status, you must define those within the "bar { ... }" section.

Offline

#7 2019-01-14 08:11:47

pgp
Member
Registered: 2019-01-12
Posts: 22

Re: [solved] i3 colours not changing

Gigamo wrote:

Are you intentionally running both polybar and i3status? If you mean to change the colors of i3status, you must define those within the "bar { ... }" section.

I think that was the problem. It’s working now.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB