You are not logged in.

#1 2018-12-09 15:28:41

Lohengrin
Member
Registered: 2016-08-10
Posts: 4

Nvidia [closed source]: No sound via HDMI

I am running Archlinux on a Thinkpad P50 (BIOS version 1.53) with Lenovo GM107GLM [Quadro M1000M]. I am using only the dedicated GPU (deactivated the Intel GPU in the BIOS) with closed source Nvidia drivers. In the past, I could use audio via HDMI (for example, when I plug my TV to my Laptop). Currently, however, Pulseaudio (i.e., pavucontrol) says that for "HDA Nvidia", all HDMI interfaces are unplugged/unavailable (while I can perfectly use the TV a second screen...)

I checked with nouveau driver and was able to select HDMI 3 interface (though no 5.1 surround, which I think I was able to select in the past with the closed-source Nvidia drivers), which was clearly marked as available, and enjoyed sound.

I suspect some Nvidia drivers issues. I tried to downgrade to nvidia-410.78-1, but with my current kernel, that driver did not work (and I do not know, with which kernel I could run that driver version).

Some outputs: aplay -l

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC298 Analog [ALC298 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

I tried plughw without success (expect for my card 0, of course).

And dmesg | grep HDMI

dmesg | grep HDMI
[    0.787686] ACPI: Added _OSI(Linux-Lenovo-NV-HDMI-Audio)
[   69.130381] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input565
[   69.130441] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=7 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input566
[   69.130489] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=8 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input567
[   75.506475] snd_hda_codec_hdmi hdaudioC1D0: HDMI: invalid ELD data byte 0

Any help is highly appreciated.

Offline

#2 2018-12-17 21:52:35

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 8,695
Website

Re: Nvidia [closed source]: No sound via HDMI

Mod note: split off blanked posts to https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=242722


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#3 2018-12-19 01:46:54

felipebn
Member
Registered: 2018-12-19
Posts: 1

Re: Nvidia [closed source]: No sound via HDMI

I'm having the exact same problem as you... I have a GTX970 with Nvidia drivers on my PC. It stopped having sound on my HDMI about two weeks ago. In a clean installation on another partition and with nouveau drivers I was able to have sound as usual.

The audio on my usb headset works fine, only the hdmi output that isn't working as it appears unplugged/unavailable.

Any luck with your problem?

Offline

#4 2018-12-28 22:01:38

Theucalyptus
Member
Registered: 2018-12-28
Posts: 4

Re: Nvidia [closed source]: No sound via HDMI

I'm having the same issue with a GTX 660. Around two week ago, the sound through HDMI/DisplayPort stoped working.

Offline

#5 2019-01-16 09:02:17

Lohengrin
Member
Registered: 2016-08-10
Posts: 4

Re: Nvidia [closed source]: No sound via HDMI

So far, my “solution” has been to install the nvidia-390 driver.

Offline

#6 2019-03-23 15:40:51

awesomepilot
Member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Posts: 19

Re: Nvidia [closed source]: No sound via HDMI

Lohengrin wrote:

So far, my “solution” has been to install the nvidia-390 driver.

Can confirm this worked for me, and my GTX-1080.  I hope this isn't a dead thread but to anyone looking for a solution to this HDMI sound problem, this driver seems to work.  Thank You for this post, this has been bugging me for a long time.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB