You are not logged in.

#1 2019-03-13 18:37:13

nimxut
Member
Registered: 2018-09-03
Posts: 9

Difficulties with setting up partitions

Hello I have partitioned my laptop to

<code>

<file system> <dir> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>

UUID=  /dev/sda1 BIOS /boot defaults,noatime,etc 0 2
UUID=  /dev/sda2 ext4 /
UUID=  /dev/sda3 swap ?!
UUID=  /dev/sda4 ext4 /home
UUID=  /dev/sda5 ext4 /usr
UUID=  /dev/sda6 ext4 /var
UUID=  /dev/sda7 ext4 /tmp

</code>

I am trying to mount my file system to these partitions.  May I please ask what is the proper syntax for writing my /etc/fstab file to mountbind my partitions 

Was even reading about dump passes and everything 

http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/cos … ump.8.html

Last edited by nimxut (2019-03-14 08:15:41)

Offline

#2 2019-03-13 18:53:02

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 7,268

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

Please fix your post title Code_of_conduct see bbcode for help with post formatting.
First search engine result I had for "bind mount fstab" https://serverfault.com/questions/61317 … -etc-fstab
If you need more help please detail the source and target for the bind mount and what you are trying to achieve with it.
Is that the actual fstab or have you redacted it without noting?

Offline

#3 2019-03-13 18:53:24

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 16,415

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

Fix your BBCode Tags.   (Hint: they are not HTML tags)
https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode

Fix your title to something that (a) describes the issue and (b) is more professional.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … ow_to_post

Edit: Too slow

Last edited by ewaller (2019-03-13 18:53:55)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#4 2019-03-13 20:47:32

nimxut
Member
Registered: 2018-09-03
Posts: 9

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

<file system> <dir> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>

UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda1 BIOS /dev/sda1 /boot none bind 0,0 defaults,noatime, 0 2
UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda2 ext4  /dev/sda2 /  none bind 0,0  defaults,noatime,discard 0 1
UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda3 swap /dev/sda3  linux-swap none bind 0,0 defaults,noatime,discard 0 2
UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda4 ext4 /dev/sda4 /home none bind 0,0 defaults,noatime,discard 0 2
UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda5 ext4 /dev/sda5 /usr none bind 0,0 defaults,noatime,discard 0 2
UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda6 ext4 /dev/sda6 /var none bind 0,0 defaults,noatime,discard 0 2
UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda7 ext4 /dev/sda7 /tmp none bind 0,0 defaults,noatime,1077 0 2

it still does not work.  I know I am doing something wrong.  At this point merging my partitions might be more of a hassle sad I'm so sorry

thank you

Last edited by nimxut (2019-03-13 20:49:47)

Offline

#5 2019-03-13 20:50:24

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 26,860
Website

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

ewaller wrote:

Fix your title to something that (a) describes the issue and (b) is more professional.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … ow_to_post


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#6 2019-03-13 20:54:43

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 7,268

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

How did you install arch linux?  How did you generate any of those entries?
Edit:

loqs wrote:

If you need more help please detail the source and target for the bind mount and what you are trying to achieve with it.
Is that the actual fstab or have you redacted it without noting?

Last edited by loqs (2019-03-13 20:56:21)

Offline

#7 2019-03-13 20:59:46

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 16,415

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

Moving to TGN.  If the tiitle is not fixed, it will be a short stop on the way to the Dust Bin.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#8 2019-03-13 21:04:35

nimxut
Member
Registered: 2018-09-03
Posts: 9

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

...I have no clue how to change my forum title post. 


fdisk -l
blkid /dev/sdx

Last edited by nimxut (2019-03-13 21:08:03)

Offline

#9 2019-03-13 21:05:32

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 7,268

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

Edit your first post so you can edit the title.
Edit:
Every one of the entries you have produced is invalid.  What are you trying to achieve with a bind mount?  How did you install arch?
Edit2:
Even if I transform it as follows the entries are still invalid and even if they were valid would make no sense to me

#UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda1 BIOS
/dev/sda1 /boot none bind 0,0 defaults,noatime, 0 2
#UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda2 ext4
/dev/sda2 /  none bind 0,0  defaults,noatime,discard 0 1
#UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda3 swap
/dev/sda3  linux-swap none bind 0,0 defaults,noatime,discard 0 2
#UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda4 ext4
/dev/sda4 /home none bind 0,0 defaults,noatime,discard 0 2
#UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda5 ext4
/dev/sda5 /usr none bind 0,0 defaults,noatime,discard 0 2
#UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda6 ext4
/dev/sda6 /var none bind 0,0 defaults,noatime,discard 0 2
#UUID=[ ]  /dev/sda7 ext4
/dev/sda7 /tmp none bind 0,0 defaults,noatime,1077 0 2

Last edited by loqs (2019-03-13 21:24:27)

Offline

#10 2019-03-13 21:13:15

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 16,415

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

Restored to Installation Subforum


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#11 2019-03-13 21:13:31

nimxut
Member
Registered: 2018-09-03
Posts: 9

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

I am thinking to be able to migrate my /tmp and /var file because a few times they have filled up not of my doing, and SSDs tend to slow down in certain sectors and tend to slow into a standstill when heavily overwritten), the dump that websites generate feels odd to be on the /home drive (I do not watch porn or download anything etc but any content from a website is written directly into the folder of the /home drive, I would like to separate this to let it fill /tmp instead.

Last edited by nimxut (2019-03-13 21:14:18)

Offline

#12 2019-03-13 21:15:47

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 7,268

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

Why then did you add bind to every entry?
Edit:
As per the link I previously provided

# <file system> <dir>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
source dest none bind 0 0

Last edited by loqs (2019-03-13 21:19:20)

Offline

#13 2019-03-13 21:44:46

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 3,192

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

Why are you mounting sda1 as /boot?

Partitions marked as BIOS are only used in a very specific set of circumstances - when your using BIOS (or CSM) boot mode, you have a GPT partition table and you're planning to use grub as your bootloader. Even if you meet all of these prerequisites the BIOS partition is never mounted as it doesn't contain a filesystem. It's just space that's reserved for grub's stage-2 and higher payloads.

Why do you have separate /usr and /var partitions?
Can you show your reasoning for this decision?


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#14 2019-03-13 22:11:29

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 26,860
Website

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

loqs wrote:

How did you install arch linux?


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#15 2019-03-13 22:43:57

nimxut
Member
Registered: 2018-09-03
Posts: 9

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

I installed Arch Linux by reading the manuals.  And studying between my terrible jobs.

# <file system> <dir> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
UUID=dec9975f-744a-2446-b8c4-ae030299fb77 /dev/sda1 BIOS defaults,noatime 0 2
UUID=014f5961-afd1-3645-bcce-c97a5a4b8a65 /dev/sda2 ext4 defaults,relatime,discard 0 1
UUID=270b1873-8d1a-9e47-9b18-42193d57bd6 /dev/sda3 swap defaults,noatime,discard 0 2
UUID=00375099-bff7-894f-b43f-3ae1926008f /dev/sda4 ext4 defaults,noatime,discard 0 2
UUID=e9197d98-30722-2e41-926e-b8363b150125 /dev/sda5 ext4 defaults,noexec,discard 0 2
UUID=75640b50-df79-2a4a-8864-4009a6f8565c /dev/sda6 ext4 defaults,noexec,discard 0 2
UUID=45043bf2-ef52-8847-b160-2014b2826534  /dev/sda7 ext4 defaults,noexec,mode=1777 0 0

/dev/sda1    /boot  none defaults 0 0
/dev/sda2   /     none defaults 0 0
/dev/sda3  linux-swap  none defaults 0 0
/dev/sda4 /home  none defaults 0 0
/dev/sda5 /usr  none defaults 0 0
/dev/sda6 /var none defaults 0 0
/dev/sda7 /tmp none defaults 0 0

I'm very sorry about the inconvenience.  And thank you so much...lol...

Last edited by nimxut (2019-03-14 08:06:13)

Offline

#16 2019-03-13 22:58:03

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 7,268

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

loqs wrote:

Why then did you add bind to every entry?

You have changed that to bind the block device for each entry in its original location.
If you want to bind mount /tmp to a sub directory of some users home directory that would be one entry not seven and you would need to specify that subdirectory in the entry.
It is also a bad idea if you want to preserve the contents of that directory as it will be subject to tmpfiles.d cleaning rules for /tmp and it will probably not improve performance as /tmp is another filesystem on the same device.
Edit:
My mistake the first seven entries are wrong as they contain file system entries for fields one and two.
What is the current contents of your /etc/fstab?  Please do not transcribe it if that is what you are doing as it is going wrong.

Last edited by loqs (2019-03-13 23:02:19)

Offline

#17 2019-03-14 00:15:45

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 7,168

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

Before anything else, figure out what "bind" actually means. The main problem here is that you're using something with no concept of what it is.

Offline

#18 2019-03-15 08:26:55

sincomil
Member
Registered: 2018-02-13
Posts: 82

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

I prefer using LVM instead of partitioning like this, so generally I have two partitions:

If you have an  MBR-partition table:
1. /dev/sda1 - ext2 partition used as /boot
2. /dev/sda2 - LVM physical device, containing all of the logical volumes I need, including / (root) partition

If you have EFI-compatible bios I recommend you to  use GPT partition table
1. First partition is ESP
2. LVM phisical device exactly as above in case of MBR

Last edited by sincomil (2019-03-15 08:27:57)

Offline

#19 Yesterday 05:11:01

nixawk
Member
Registered: 2015-01-23
Posts: 7

Re: Difficulties with setting up partitions

Please read https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … uide#Fstab again.

genfstab -U /mnt >> /mnt/etc/fstab

Thanks for sharing.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB