You are not logged in.

#1 2019-05-16 21:12:55

PootisBird
Member
Registered: 2014-04-16
Posts: 124

[kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

I'd like to start with report of SDDM greeter segfaulting. It happens after clicking "other" icon. It makes interface not respond, cursor is still moving.

sddm-greeter[1337]: segfault at 4 ip 00007f2ae5c0008b sp 00007fff61ba1960 error 4 in libQt5Qml.so.5.13.0[7f2ae5ae5000+315000]

Nice pid by the way.

Shall I upload a coredump somewhere?

Last edited by PootisBird (2019-05-16 21:14:49)

Offline

#2 2019-05-16 21:23:58

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,637

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

Please report it to bugs.kde.org (I can reproduce it)

EDIT: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=407631

Last edited by arojas (2019-05-17 07:30:56)

Offline

#3 2019-05-17 07:32:50

Tromzy
Member
Registered: 2015-02-15
Posts: 157

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

I reported this :

https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=407612

But maybe it is an Arch problem, not a Plasma problem ?

Offline

#4 2019-05-17 16:59:23

PootisBird
Member
Registered: 2014-04-16
Posts: 124

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

Thanks for reporting @arojas.

Offline

#5 2019-05-21 20:48:55

PootisBird
Member
Registered: 2014-04-16
Posts: 124

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

It seems that screen brightness OSD is not showing up for me. Can someone confirm?

Offline

#6 2019-05-22 06:48:43

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,637

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

PootisBird wrote:

It seems that screen brightness OSD is not showing up for me. Can someone confirm?

Works for me. Anything in the logs?

Offline

#7 2019-05-22 16:52:42

PootisBird
Member
Registered: 2014-04-16
Posts: 124

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

arojas wrote:
PootisBird wrote:

It seems that screen brightness OSD is not showing up for me. Can someone confirm?

Works for me. Anything in the logs?

Nothing, also detaching kwin with "ctrl + z" doesn't work, everything gets frozen.
I've tried on fresh account just to be sure. I'll probably report that, just have to check some other stuff first.

Operating System: Arch Linux
KDE Plasma Version: 5.15.90
KDE Frameworks Version: 5.58.0
Qt Version: 5.13.0
Kernel Version: 5.1.3-zen1-1-zen
OS Type: 64-bit
Processors: 4 × Intel® Core™ i7-3720QM CPU @ 2.60GHz
Memory: 15,5 GiB

kwinrc

[Compositing]
AnimationSpeed=3
Backend=OpenGL
Enabled=true
GLCore=true
GLPreferBufferSwap=c
GLTextureFilter=1
HiddenPreviews=5
OpenGLIsUnsafe=false
WindowsBlockCompositing=true
XRenderSmoothScale=false

[Desktops]
Id_1=523cd362-9b19-4dcc-8b8f-f5ced201a1aa
Number=1
Rows=1

[MouseBindings]
CommandActiveTitlebar1=Raise
CommandActiveTitlebar2=Close
CommandActiveTitlebar3=Operations menu
CommandAll1=Move
CommandAll2=Toggle raise and lower
CommandAll3=Resize
CommandAllKey=Alt
CommandAllWheel=Nothing
CommandInactiveTitlebar1=Activate and raise
CommandInactiveTitlebar2=Close
CommandInactiveTitlebar3=Operations menu
CommandTitlebarWheel=Switch to Window Tab to the Left/Right
CommandWindow1=Activate, raise and pass click
CommandWindow2=Activate and pass click
CommandWindow3=Activate and pass click
CommandWindowWheel=Scroll

[Plugins]
kwin4_effect_dimscreenEnabled=true
windowgeometryEnabled=false

[Windows]
ActiveMouseScreen=false
AutoRaise=false
AutoRaiseInterval=750
AutogroupInForeground=true
AutogroupSimilarWindows=false
BorderSnapZone=10
CenterSnapZone=0
ClickRaise=true
DelayFocusInterval=300
FocusPolicy=ClickToFocus
FocusStealingPreventionLevel=1
GeometryTip=false
HideUtilityWindowsForInactive=true
InactiveTabsSkipTaskbar=false
MaximizeButtonLeftClickCommand=Maximize
MaximizeButtonMiddleClickCommand=Maximize (vertical only)
MaximizeButtonRightClickCommand=Maximize (horizontal only)
NextFocusPrefersMouse=false
Placement=Smart
SeparateScreenFocus=false
ShadeHover=false
ShadeHoverInterval=250
SnapOnlyWhenOverlapping=false
TitlebarDoubleClickCommand=Maximize
WindowSnapZone=10

[org.kde.kdecoration2]
BorderSize=None
ButtonsOnLeft=MS
ButtonsOnRight=HIAX
CloseOnDoubleClickOnMenu=false
ShowToolTips=true
library=org.kde.breeze
theme=Bryza

edit,
Reported https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=407873

edit 2
Fixed upstream, haven't tested yet.

Last edited by PootisBird (2019-05-23 19:00:49)

Offline

#8 2019-05-30 15:56:34

Ashraaf
Member
Registered: 2019-05-30
Posts: 3

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

Notification volume at system settings always reset at 0 whenever i tried increasing it, other application likes chrome and vlc play audio perfectly.
My current setup is using pulseaudio and phonon-qt5-gstreamer.

Offline

#9 2019-05-30 16:05:26

Ashraaf
Member
Registered: 2019-05-30
Posts: 3

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

Simple sound test "Front Left / Front Right" in advanced tab play sound perfectly.
Installed phonon-qt5-vlc and prefer it as backend for audio, also didn't work.

Edit,

Journal log:

org.kde.plasma.pulseaudio: No object for name "alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo.monitor"
org.kde.kcoreaddons: Error loading plugin "kcm_pulseaudio" "The shared library was not found." 
Plugin search paths are ("/usr/lib/qt5/plugins", "/usr/lib/qt/plugins", "/usr/bin") 
The environment variable QT_PLUGIN_PATH might be not correctly set

Somehow it cannot find pulseaudio kcm plugin, reinstalling plasma-pa package didn't work,
and only by manually adding /usr/lib/qt/plugins/kcms/ path to QT_PLUGIN_PATH did it manage to find the plugin but the notification sound still broken.

Last edited by Ashraaf (2019-05-30 17:05:36)

Offline

#10 2019-05-30 18:31:47

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,637

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

Ashraaf wrote:
org.kde.kcoreaddons: Error loading plugin "kcm_pulseaudio" "The shared library was not found." 
Plugin search paths are ("/usr/lib/qt5/plugins", "/usr/lib/qt/plugins", "/usr/bin") 
The environment variable QT_PLUGIN_PATH might be not correctly set

Somehow it cannot find pulseaudio kcm plugin, reinstalling plasma-pa package didn't work,
and only by manually adding /usr/lib/qt/plugins/kcms/ path to QT_PLUGIN_PATH did it manage to find the plugin but the notification sound still broken.

As expected - this error is completely harmless and is unrelated to any sound issues you may have.

Offline

#11 2019-05-30 22:26:05

Ashraaf
Member
Registered: 2019-05-30
Posts: 3

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

arojas wrote:
Ashraaf wrote:
org.kde.kcoreaddons: Error loading plugin "kcm_pulseaudio" "The shared library was not found." 
Plugin search paths are ("/usr/lib/qt5/plugins", "/usr/lib/qt/plugins", "/usr/bin") 
The environment variable QT_PLUGIN_PATH might be not correctly set

Somehow it cannot find pulseaudio kcm plugin, reinstalling plasma-pa package didn't work,
and only by manually adding /usr/lib/qt/plugins/kcms/ path to QT_PLUGIN_PATH did it manage to find the plugin but the notification sound still broken.

As expected - this error is completely harmless and is unrelated to any sound issues you may have.

I tried finding other culprit, even reverted back to plasma stable version and no luck,
Well, somehow after installing pavucontrol-qt, restoring notification sound work, even after i removed the package later on. and the error about kcm_pulseaudio also gone without adding extra env variable
Weird.. hmm

Offline

#12 2019-09-22 14:03:14

sl1pkn07
Member
From: Spanishtán
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 348

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

startx seems deprecated. now init script is `startplasma-x11` or `startplasma-wayland`

needs update the `.xinitrc` script

Last edited by sl1pkn07 (2019-09-22 15:20:50)

Offline

#13 2019-09-22 14:55:23

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 7,279

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KDE#From_the_console wrote:

From the console

    To start Plasma with xinit/startx, append exec startkde to your .xinitrc file. If you want to start Xorg at login, please see Start X at login.
    To start a Plasma on Wayland session from a console, run XDG_SESSION_TYPE=wayland dbus-run-session startplasmacompositor.[1]

You mean those 2 commands need to be changed for X11 / wayland starting ?


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#14 2019-09-22 15:24:19

sl1pkn07
Member
From: Spanishtán
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 348

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

Hi

i'm not sure with wayland, but startkde certainly yes

`startx` with .xinitrc with `exec startkde` not works anymore (plasma-workspace in [KDE-Unstable] not ship the startkde script)

https://cgit.kde.org/plasma-workspace.g … 6f2eb64967

change to `exec startplasma-x11` works again

greetings

Last edited by sl1pkn07 (2019-09-22 15:37:35)

Offline

#15 2019-09-22 15:31:44

sl1pkn07
Member
From: Spanishtán
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 348

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

https://cgit.kde.org/plasma-workspace.g … 3325f7a010

seems `startplasmacompositor` also is changed

greetings

Offline

#16 2019-10-11 12:19:48

K900
Member
Registered: 2013-04-18
Posts: 8

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

I can't unlock the screen after locking it manually - kscreenlocker seems to crash to a black screen and then restart quickly. Unlocking through loginctl in a TTY works.

Offline

#17 2019-10-11 15:30:08

sl1pkn07
Member
From: Spanishtán
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 348

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

i have the same issue. what is the command you use to unlock it in TTY?

greetings

Offline

#18 2019-10-11 15:30:41

K900
Member
Registered: 2013-04-18
Posts: 8

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

loginctl unlock-sessions

Offline

#19 2019-10-11 20:17:19

pb
Member
From: Krakow, PL
Registered: 2014-12-26
Posts: 326
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

Offline

#20 2019-10-13 09:50:35

raneon
Member
Registered: 2013-11-02
Posts: 41

Re: [kde-unstable] 5.16 issues thread

Since Qt 5.14 beta I cannot return to my plasma wayland session after standby.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB