You are not logged in.

#1 2019-05-20 21:18:43

webdawg
Member
Registered: 2010-12-28
Posts: 62

Trying to Understand kodi-gbm.service vs my kodi.service

I have to mention, that my target device is actually raspbian (debian stretch), and I am using the kodi package in the official repos.  As I use archlinux on a day to day basis, plus I may switch my arm devices over to archlinux arm, and also these questions seem more informational/understanding.  I am going to let this question stand/I still would like to understand why this is how it is.

Also before this thread gets too crazy with people telling me this is not for archlinux arm...etc...I know that now, at this point my questions are academic, and just do not understand why this stuff is what it is.  I have also learned that the kodi binaries that I am using are already targeted at the Raspberry Pi, and it could be why I do not need so much help (directives) when writing a service for it?

So I was looking at this: https://github.com/graysky2/kodi-standa … bm.service aka https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/kodi … ne-service

and, I was trying to figure out what the heck it does, and why some of the stuff in it is needed.

I have my own kodi.service that I use for another application (untested, but will be testing):

# copy to /lib/systemd/system/kodi.service
[Unit]
Description = Kodi Media Center

# if you don't need the MySQL DB backend, this should be sufficient
After = systemd-user-sessions.service network.target sound.target

# if you need the MySQL DB backend, use this block instead of the previous
# After = systemd-user-sessions.service network.target sound.target mysql.service
# Wants = mysql.service

[Service]
User = vdisplay
Group = vdisplay
Type = simple
ExecStart = /usr/bin/kodi-standalone
Restart = always
RestartSec = 15

[Install]
WantedBy = multi-user.target

I am trying to figure out the answers for a few questions:

*Why is it called gbm?  I understand that kodi-standalone does not use x11, but why are we calling it gbm?
**I read this:  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mesa_(com … Management but I did not know that mesa was still a thing.  I mean mesa had a release a few days ago:  https://www.mesa3d.org/ soo....
**I guess it just confuses me, and guess this is how kodi-standalone overlays/writes to the graphics buffer?

*Why is there  Conflicts=getty@tty1.service in kodi-gbm.service ?  I have tty1 up, and ready to log in, and if I ssh in and run kodi-standalone it appears to run just fine.

*Why do we need PAMName=login ?

*Why do we need Environment=WINDOWING=gbm ?

*Why do we need StandardInput=tty ?

Last edited by webdawg (2019-05-20 21:51:29)

Offline

#2 2019-05-20 21:38:26

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,385
Website

Re: Trying to Understand kodi-gbm.service vs my kodi.service

webdawg wrote:

*Why is it called gbm?  I understand that kodi-standalone does not use x11, but why are we calling it gbm?

See the kodi wiki page as to differences between x11, gbm, and wayland.

Last edited by graysky (2019-05-20 21:42:45)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#3 2019-05-20 21:55:17

webdawg
Member
Registered: 2010-12-28
Posts: 62

Re: Trying to Understand kodi-gbm.service vs my kodi.service

graysky wrote:
webdawg wrote:

*Why is it called gbm?  I understand that kodi-standalone does not use x11, but why are we calling it gbm?

See the kodi wiki page as to differences between x11, gbm, and wayland.


I was just looking here:  https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Kodi#Kodi_for_GBM

So I guess I understand that running this as GBM all makes sense on x64 hardware, etc, and I think I understand why most of the configuration directives are needed, but just because I am trying to understand the relationship between this gbm service, and tty, can someone tell me why it looks like we are replacing tty1?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB