You are not logged in.

#1 2019-07-11 14:27:06

schard
Member
From: Hannover
Registered: 2016-05-06
Posts: 489
Website

[solved] Pacman speed units

When pacman shows that it downloads with 116 K/s does that mean 116 Kilobytes per second or 116 Kilobits per second?
I could not find any answer on the man page, google or these forums and currently have no way to measure it.

Last edited by schard (2019-07-12 07:57:24)

Offline

#2 2019-07-11 15:28:54

teckk
Member
Registered: 2013-02-21
Posts: 314

Re: [solved] Pacman speed units

currently have no way to measure it.

How about

pacman -Si gkrellm
pacman -Si iftop

As a general rule K means Kilobyte, k means kilobit

Offline

#3 2019-07-11 15:49:38

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 22,043
Website

Re: [solved] Pacman speed units

teckk wrote:

As a general rule K means Kilobyte, k means kilobit

Do you have examples of this?  I've only every seen an upper-case K in Kbps.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#4 2019-07-11 16:19:27

teckk
Member
Registered: 2013-02-21
Posts: 314

Re: [solved] Pacman speed units

No I don't @Trilby. Did I misspeak?

Opening a system monitor will quickly answer the OP's question.

Offline

#5 2019-07-11 16:52:48

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,356

Re: [solved] Pacman speed units

When I had a ~3mbps connection pacman would show 300K/s. Do the math wink


ENTER

~ Arch is not Arch unless it is Arch ~

Offline

#6 2019-07-11 17:02:12

schard
Member
From: Hannover
Registered: 2016-05-06
Posts: 489
Website

Re: [solved] Pacman speed units

ugjka wrote:

When I had a ~3mbps connection pacman would show 300K/s. Do the math wink

That would suggest K stands for Kilobytes.

Offline

#7 2019-07-11 18:03:35

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 22,043
Website

Re: [solved] Pacman speed units

You can look into callback.c at db_dl_progress (line 655) and util.c for humanize_size (line 1074) to see that it is working in Bytes.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#8 2019-07-11 18:11:46

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 1,849

Re: [solved] Pacman speed units

As a general rule K means Kilobyte, k means kilobit

I know that the rule is b=bit, B=byte

Offline

#9 2019-07-12 01:49:13

Allan
Member
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,875
Website

Re: [solved] Pacman speed units

> pacman -Syu
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 testing                21.8 KiB  7.09 MiB/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
 core                  133.8 KiB   257 KiB/s 00:01 [######################] 100%
 extra                1629.5 KiB  1045 KiB/s 00:02 [######################] 100%

Offline

#10 2019-07-12 06:01:31

schard
Member
From: Hannover
Registered: 2016-05-06
Posts: 489
Website

Re: [solved] Pacman speed units

Thanks Trilby.
Allan, care to share how you got pacman to echo the units with binary prefixes?
Is it a pacman or a locale setting I'm missing?

Last edited by schard (2019-07-12 06:03:23)

Offline

#11 2019-07-12 07:55:41

Allan
Member
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,875
Website

Re: [solved] Pacman speed units

schard wrote:

Allan, care to share how you got pacman to echo the units with binary prefixes?
Is it a pacman or a locale setting I'm missing?

It is the latest developmental build.

Offline

#12 2019-07-12 07:57:13

schard
Member
From: Hannover
Registered: 2016-05-06
Posts: 489
Website

Re: [solved] Pacman speed units

Awesome. Looking forward to it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB