You are not logged in.

#26 2019-08-18 03:05:00

pirateprentice
Member
Registered: 2019-08-16
Posts: 31

Re: [Solved] No operating system found, GRUB2 & GPT/BIOS Legacy Mode

loqs wrote:

Can you move the disk to another system?  To try and check if it is what is on the disk that is the issue or the firmware accessing the disk.
Edit:
You could also try syslinux.  It is only mentioned in relation to syslinux so may not apply to grub2 but is legacy bios bootable set?

/dev/sda1 has a bios_boot flag set. Is this what you mean? I apologize I am a novice.

Offline

#27 2019-08-18 03:27:00

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 8,778

Re: [Solved] No operating system found, GRUB2 & GPT/BIOS Legacy Mode

sgdisk is supplied by gptfdisk

# sgdisk /dev/sda --attributes=1:show

Online

#28 2019-08-18 06:10:18

liewkj
Member
Registered: 2019-07-08
Posts: 58

Re: [Solved] No operating system found, GRUB2 & GPT/BIOS Legacy Mode

pirateprentice wrote:

I did not want to have to use UEFI, but if it is not possible to boot GPT without, then I will do it.

Yes, it is possible, but I would rather do it with UEFI/GPT. Anyway, if you insist, then Gentoo wiki was what I followed (but using Arch).
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GRUB2#BIOS_with_GPT
I can confirm that QEMU VM with SeaBIOS boots Arch from GPT. I see that you do have BIOS boot partition created during fdisk.

SYSLINUX is outdated. I would stick with GRUB2.

Last edited by liewkj (2019-08-18 06:11:39)

Offline

#29 2019-08-18 17:28:41

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 4,940
Website

Re: [Solved] No operating system found, GRUB2 & GPT/BIOS Legacy Mode

Is your hard drive of the Advanced Format (4k) type? GRUB cannot boot from such devices in non-UEFI mode. I think the Arch CD can manage because it's using the core.img & modules from the CD rather than those on the hard drive.

Offline

#30 2019-08-18 18:01:18

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 8,778

Re: [Solved] No operating system found, GRUB2 & GPT/BIOS Legacy Mode

Head_on_a_Stick it looks to be 512e to me from [1] although that model is shipped in both formats [2]

[1] https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 3#p1859003
[2] https://www.seagate.com/files/staticfil … 1111us.pdf

Online

#31 2019-08-18 18:33:28

pirateprentice
Member
Registered: 2019-08-16
Posts: 31

Re: [Solved] No operating system found, GRUB2 & GPT/BIOS Legacy Mode

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Is your hard drive of the Advanced Format (4k) type? GRUB cannot boot from such devices in non-UEFI mode. I think the Arch CD can manage because it's using the core.img & modules from the CD rather than those on the hard drive.

Forgive my ignorance if I'm wrong, but the output from fdisk listed on the prior page shows sectors of 1 * 512 bytes
sector size: 512 B / 4096 B

Would this mean its 512e?

Offline

#32 2019-08-18 19:07:23

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 4,940
Website

Re: [Solved] No operating system found, GRUB2 & GPT/BIOS Legacy Mode

pirateprentice wrote:

Would this mean its 512e?

My NVMe 4k drive runs in 512e mode (it shows 512 bytes for both sector size & I/O size in fdisk) and it still won't boot from GRUB in non-UEFI mode. I have an old spinning rust drive in a spare bay and that will boot in Legacy mode using GRUB with no problems.

Offline

#33 2019-08-18 19:11:12

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 8,778

Re: [Solved] No operating system found, GRUB2 & GPT/BIOS Legacy Mode

Head_on_a_Stick does syslinux have the same limitation meaning the only option is switching to EFI?

Online

#34 2019-08-18 19:12:18

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 4,940
Website

Re: [Solved] No operating system found, GRUB2 & GPT/BIOS Legacy Mode

I don't know, I did try to get syslinux working with my fancy drive but I failed miserably. Not sure if that was just me being crap though.

Offline

#35 2019-08-18 22:40:29

pirateprentice
Member
Registered: 2019-08-16
Posts: 31

Re: [Solved] No operating system found, GRUB2 & GPT/BIOS Legacy Mode

Ok. I may just have to bite the bullet and boot from UEFI. I've done a lot of google searching and, while the problem has occurred for others, I haven't been able to find a solution to it. I'll give this one more night, and afterwards I'll just boot from UEFI and whoever controls these things can go ahead and lock the thread. Thank you everyone who tried to help.

Update: System boots with UEFI

Last edited by pirateprentice (2019-08-21 00:02:12)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB