You are not logged in.

#1 2006-08-17 07:36:35

Mandor
Member
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 154

Question about Pacman

Hi all,

I have a question about pacman. Is there a way to easily remove a complete desktop environmet (KDE, XFCE etc) or generally any meta package along with the dependancies taht it has installed and are not used by anything else with pacman. reading the manpage I can only think out of "pacman -Rc sth", where sth is some very core package (qt for KDE for example), but it may still skip some of the dependancies of the original meta pckage. Are the installed metapackages actually tracked in some way.

Best regards.


If everything else fails, read the manual.

Offline

#2 2006-08-17 07:54:46

Sigi
Member
From: Thurgau, Switzerland
Registered: 2005-09-22
Posts: 1,123

Re: Question about Pacman

Doesn't "pacman -Rc kde" remove the whole KDE group?


Haven't been here in a while. Still rocking Arch. smile

Offline

#3 2006-08-17 08:13:27

Mandor
Member
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 154

Re: Question about Pacman

Sigi wrote:

Doesn't "pacman -Rc kde" remove the whole KDE group?

From my experience -no. Actually "pacman -Qs kde" does not find a package called "kde" on my system at all. Maybe I am missing something?


If everything else fails, read the manual.

Offline

#4 2006-08-17 10:48:20

postlogic
Member
Registered: 2005-02-24
Posts: 410
Website

Re: Question about Pacman

Try pacman -Rc kdebase. Most KDE apps are depending on it, afaik.

Offline

#5 2006-08-17 11:20:30

Mandor
Member
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 154

Re: Question about Pacman

I did. And also pacman -Rc qt. But my question was more general.


If everything else fails, read the manual.

Offline

#6 2006-08-17 11:24:33

idjut
Member
From: Oslo
Registered: 2006-05-15
Posts: 176

Re: Question about Pacman

I removed the whole of xfce4 yesterday with this

pacman -Rs xfce4


Linux user #403491

"Men have called me mad; but the question is not yet settled, whether madness is or is not the loftiest intelligence– whether much that is glorious– whether all that is profound– does not spring from disease of thought– from moods of mind exalted at the expense of the general intellect." - E. A. Poe from Eleonora

Offline

#7 2006-08-17 11:54:41

Mandor
Member
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 154

Re: Question about Pacman

And no additional packages, installed as dependancies left? Because pacman -Rs kde certainly leaves packages.


If everything else fails, read the manual.

Offline

#8 2006-08-17 12:56:56

sebcactus
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-01-27
Posts: 277

Re: Question about Pacman

What about pacman -Rcs kde ?

Offline

#9 2006-08-17 13:39:53

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Question about Pacman

That will indeed work. It may take a while though, depending on your filesystem.

Offline

#10 2006-08-17 15:35:38

Mandor
Member
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 154

Re: Question about Pacman

OK, thanks. I thought I miss some features of pacman, or that there are other tools. I'm coming from debian world, there aptitude deos that and if you make sure it does not install optional dependancies, it's really nice.

My filesystem is reiserfs3. And my comp is actually not at the low end.

I am generally happy with Arch, but I want some time to explore before sharing my happiness smile


If everything else fails, read the manual.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB