You are not logged in.

#1 2019-08-25 12:20:45

taumeister
Member
Registered: 2019-01-06
Posts: 31

[solved] Let ZFS import only a specific POOL

Hello,

I have a basic question that the search and internet unfortunately could not answer correctly.

For some time now I have been completely using the file system zfs and am very satisfied with it.
In case of emergency I also have a USB stick with ZFS support.
Unfortunately, I can't boot it properly on my PC and laptop, because the pools from the host system are always included in the file system during boot.
Then of course I can't manage anything or eject the pool to be managed, because it is of course also integrated and possibly has the same datasets, even if pool from the USB stick is called differently than pool from the PC.
It seems that a ZFS service is responsible for the integration of all pools that are found. Basically great, but in my case not desired.

The question is:
How can I determine that only a certain pool is included at startup and nothing else.
Mostly I followed the instructions from the Arch-Wiki.

Of course I can provide all further information, but is probably not necessary with such a question, I think .

Thanks for your help

Last edited by taumeister (2019-10-17 11:43:37)

Offline

#2 2019-08-25 13:10:51

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,072
Website

Re: [solved] Let ZFS import only a specific POOL

Mod note: Moving to AUR Issues.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#3 2019-08-25 14:09:34

taumeister
Member
Registered: 2019-01-06
Posts: 31

Re: [solved] Let ZFS import only a specific POOL

Just a quick question, but what does that have to do with AUR problems?

Offline

#4 2019-08-25 14:45:55

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,604

Re: [solved] Let ZFS import only a specific POOL

ZFS packages do not come from the repos, any questions in relation to that are either related to the AUR or to  third party repos.

Last edited by V1del (2019-08-25 14:47:10)

Offline

#5 2019-08-25 16:50:26

taumeister
Member
Registered: 2019-01-06
Posts: 31

Re: [solved] Let ZFS import only a specific POOL

Basically I would say that you already know what you're talking about, but in this case I would almost say that you haven't read my question, can that be?

That's a basic question about ZFS and not a malfunction or problem which might indicate a defective installation package or something similar.

The question is, how can I get ZFS to boot ONLY ONE, SPECIFIC pool and not everything it finds?
There is a kind of automatic working here that I would like to influence.

Sorry, I don't see why that belongs to such a topic.
But ok...

Last edited by taumeister (2019-08-25 16:51:05)

Offline

#6 2019-09-20 17:51:33

taumeister
Member
Registered: 2019-01-06
Posts: 31

Re: [solved] Let ZFS import only a specific POOL

I have found a way for myself to include exactly the pool I want and not another.

All datasets except root have to be created via 'mountpoint=legacy' and later included via fstab.
Additionally the service zfs-mount.service must be deactivated.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB