You are not logged in.

#1 2019-09-01 10:10:49

Salkay
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 412

[SOLVED] Issues installing zbar

I've tried to update a rarely-used system with pacman -Syu. As part of the update, it wanted to update gst-plugins-bad from 1.16.0-4 to 1.16.0-5, which depends on the new package zbar. However, I got the following error:

(415/415) checking package integrity                           [##################################] 100%
error: zbar: signature from "Felix Yan <felixonmars@archlinux.org>" is invalid
:: File /var/cache/pacman/pkg/zbar-0.23-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz is corrupted (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature)).
Do you want to delete it? [Y/n] 
error: failed to commit transaction (invalid or corrupted package)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.
Error installing repo packages

I've tried a few things.

  1. I updated archlinux-keyring.

  2. I confirmed the system clock is correct.

  3. PGP import is fine.

  4. I've cleared out the old pkg cache (with sudo pacman -Sc).

  5. I've reset all the keys with rm -r /etc/pacman.d/gnupg; pacman-key --init; pacman-key --populate archlinux.

I still got the same error. In desperation, I disabled signature checking. I now got a new error:

:: File /var/cache/pacman/pkg/zbar-0.23-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz is corrupted (invalid or corrupted package (checksum)).

This update went fine on three other Arch systems. In the end, I just transferred zbar-0.23-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz from the cache of one system to this system, and it installed fine. Does this suggest there was some problem with the repos?

Last edited by Salkay (2019-09-01 23:08:56)

Offline

#2 2019-09-01 10:47:58

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,070
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Issues installing zbar

Possibly a problem with the mirror, check https://www.archlinux.org/mirrors/status/

In desperation, I disabled signature checking.

Also, don't do this. If this was an attempt to install malware by some bad actor, you'd have just given them the keys to the kingdom. Fortunately it looks like this is package corruption problem rather than something malicious, so no harm came of it this time. Re-enable signature checking before you do anything else though.

Last edited by WorMzy (2019-09-01 10:53:16)


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#3 2019-09-01 10:52:24

Salkay
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 412

Re: [SOLVED] Issues installing zbar

WorMzy wrote:

Possibly a problem with the mirror, check https://www.archlinux.org/mirrors/status/

The mirror status (http://mirror.internode.on.net/pub/archlinux/) looks fine there.

Offline

#4 2019-09-01 10:59:44

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,070
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Issues installing zbar

Package looks fine now, I can verify the signature. Do you still have a copy of the faulty package? Does it have the correct md5sum (191e640a7606c59aa5eb6f2aa38cbc9d)?


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#5 2019-09-01 11:27:55

Salkay
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 412

Re: [SOLVED] Issues installing zbar

Ah. I had forgotten that I had set up my master system to share its cache as a repository using darkhttpd. Hence, when I tried to update the "broken" system, it had been using the cached zbar version anyway. The md5sum of this cached version (c8cca6ce14029330e284d45394ee214b) is different from yours and the mirror. (So presumably it installed fine before because pacman -U doesn't do the same checks as pacman -S?)

I think the problem is that zbar was moved from the community repo to extra at some point, and it seems to have been rebuilt. However, the pkgver wasn't bumped. Hence, my "broken" system synced databases, then realised it had to install the new zbar. However, my master system had the old zbar cached, and sent that instead. So I'm guessing there was a problem because pacman saw the same pkgvers, but the files were different.

Offline

#6 2019-09-01 12:46:17

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,070
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Issues installing zbar

Aha, yes, that seems like a plausible explanation. It seems odd that there wasn't a pkgrel bump, despite the package being rebuilt during the move, but I'm not sure if that was an oversight.

Anyway, it looks like you've identified the probable cause of your issue. If you're happy that it's solved, please remember to mark your thread as such.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB