You are not logged in.

#1 2006-08-18 20:59:30

jason_f
Member
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 78

Squares are shown instead of special charecters[solved]

Probably an easy fix here...but for example in gdm when I login, my password is echo'd as squares with UTF codes inside instead of the little circles/dots...I installed iso-8859 locale as well as the standard utf8...just on a normal english system...

Offline

#2 2006-08-18 23:54:10

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Squares are shown instead of special charecters[solved]

The fonts containing the character is missing. Install it with:
pacman -S ttf-ms-fonts

Offline

#3 2006-08-19 09:52:29

Cagnulein
Member
From: Modena, Italy
Registered: 2006-04-03
Posts: 258
Website

Re: Squares are shown instead of special charecters[solved]

mmm...i have the same problem but i have ttf-ms-fonts already installed on my system wink

Offline

#4 2006-08-19 15:11:55

detto
Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 510

Re: Squares are shown instead of special charecters[solved]

same here with the "€" symbol i should get through icq(gaim-svn using here).
ive uncommented en_US* and de_DE* (=5 iirc) and have installed ttf-ms-fonts, ttf-dejavu and use de_DE.utf8 in rc.conf and de_DE in /etc/profile.
but the "€" isnt shown in gaim, well... can also be a problem with gaim itself, i dont know :?

Offline

#5 2006-08-19 17:13:19

jason_f
Member
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 78

Re: Squares are shown instead of special charecters[solved]

Snowman wrote:

The fonts containing the character is missing. Install it with:
pacman -S ttf-ms-fonts

Sweet, that worked for me...Thanks!

Offline

#6 2006-08-20 22:31:35

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Squares are shown instead of special charecters[solved]

Cagnulein wrote:

mmm...i have the same problem but i have ttf-ms-fonts already installed on my system wink

Is your system up-to-date? There was a problem with the fonts packages that was fixed a while ago.
I don't use gdm myself. I just suggestted a fix I read somewhere in these forums.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB