You are not logged in.

#1 2019-09-11 09:35:08

eggel
Member
Registered: 2019-09-11
Posts: 4

[SOLVED] Using home partition from Ubuntu wtih Arch

Hello everyone! I'm new here and it would make me happy to become a part of the Arch communtiy!

I would like to use my home partition of Ubuntu 18 LTS with Arch. I want to continue using GNOME as a window Manager and I had customize my desktop with tweektools. Is it possible to keep the old settings in the new System? What do I have to consider?

Greetings from Bern, Switzerland!

Kevin

Last edited by eggel (2019-09-15 23:21:54)

Offline

#2 2019-09-11 09:44:11

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,602

Re: [SOLVED] Using home partition from Ubuntu wtih Arch

You have to consider that newer versions of GNOME might do non backwards compatible changes to configuration files (or not read/fail on incorrect outdated definitions), if you intend to use this alongside Ubuntu it isn't wise to do so, if you want to do this instead of using Ubuntu I doubt that it would be much of an issue. Something you wilöl have to be weary of depending on how old the GNOME release you are updating from was is that many extensions might've become incompatible and are likely to fail to load.

Offline

#3 2019-09-11 10:47:09

eggel
Member
Registered: 2019-09-11
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Using home partition from Ubuntu wtih Arch

Thank you for your quick response.

I want to rid of ubuntu. I used it a couple of years. But now its time to move to a distro that gives me more responsiblity but also more freedom in in variaty. A lot of preinstalled stuff i do not realy use on Ubuntu. It seems to be better to delete the GNOME folder (in /home) bevore I start the installation of arch. Afterwards i customize my desktop once again.

Offline

#4 2019-09-11 11:09:24

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,602

Re: [SOLVED] Using home partition from Ubuntu wtih Arch

Well it's not like anything catastrophic can happen, if there's indeed some general brokeness you can always remove the old configuration after attempting to use it. One thing that you have to make sure is that your Arch user is in the same UID/GID (in number fomat, actual name shouldn't matter) as your original user otherwise you will have to relevantly chown your home dir.

Offline

#5 2019-09-11 11:33:46

eggel
Member
Registered: 2019-09-11
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Using home partition from Ubuntu wtih Arch

Ok I'll consider this and give you a reply in this thread after installation.

Thx

Offline

#6 2019-09-15 21:41:33

eggel
Member
Registered: 2019-09-11
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Using home partition from Ubuntu wtih Arch

Ok i installed Arch Linux with Gnome and the Gnome Tweak-Tools. I gave my new user the same IDs (user and group) and It seems that everything works out of the Box.

So i say hello to my new Linux based on Arch :-) !

Last edited by eggel (2019-09-15 21:42:05)

Offline

#7 2019-09-15 22:23:57

2ManyDogs
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 2,735

Re: [SOLVED] Using home partition from Ubuntu wtih Arch

Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] (edit the title of your first post).

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB