You are not logged in.

#1 2019-09-11 12:06:18

YEET
Member
Registered: 2019-09-09
Posts: 3

Lag on arch using KDE plasma

system info
Operating System: Arch Linux
KDE Plasma Version: 5.16.5
KDE Frameworks Version: 5.61.0
Qt Version: 5.13.1
Kernel Version: 5.2.13-arch1-1-ARCH
OS Type: 64-bit
Processors: 16 × AMD Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core Processor
Memory: 31.4 GiB of RAM
I am using full disk encryption.

Okay, so I am using the KDE plasma desktop and quite often when I click on the application launcher my computer kind of freezes up except for the cursor. my clock will stop counting seconds and then it resumes after it is unfrozen. What kind of logs would I need in order to figure out more about this? could it also be the kernel by chance?
SOLVED
I just needed to turn off the file search option for kde and it worked just fine after that.

Last edited by YEET (2019-09-21 02:30:09)

Offline

#2 2019-09-11 12:29:35

mephysto
Member
Registered: 2019-09-03
Posts: 2

Re: Lag on arch using KDE plasma

Hi Yeet,
what graphics adapter do you have?

Offline

#3 2019-09-11 12:59:35

samtsui70
Member
Registered: 2019-09-11
Posts: 4

Re: Lag on arch using KDE plasma

I once installed KDE on an Arch VM with "plasma-desktop" package and built up, and it had the same lagging issue in the beginning but gradually disappeared as time goes by.

Later I installed KDE on another Arch VM with "plasma" package and built up, this one did not have lagging issue at all, the performance of this VM is as good as the other one. Just FYI.

Offline

#4 2019-09-11 15:29:31

YEET
Member
Registered: 2019-09-09
Posts: 3

Re: Lag on arch using KDE plasma

samtsui70 wrote:

I once installed KDE on an Arch VM with "plasma-desktop" package and built up, and it had the same lagging issue in the beginning but gradually disappeared as time goes by.

Later I installed KDE on another Arch VM with "plasma" package and built up, this one did not have lagging issue at all, the performance of this VM is as good as the other one. Just FYI.

Okay, I will try it out without "plasma-desktop" and try "plasma" out. When I uninstall "plasma-desktop" will I have to reconfigure xorg or would I be good to just do startx after "plasma" is installed?

Offline

#5 2019-09-11 15:30:08

YEET
Member
Registered: 2019-09-09
Posts: 3

Re: Lag on arch using KDE plasma

mephysto wrote:

Hi Yeet,
what graphics adapter do you have?

I think I am using amdgpu 19.01, I am not one hundred percent sure but when I get home I will definitely check and post that as well.

Offline

#6 2019-09-12 14:03:16

samtsui70
Member
Registered: 2019-09-11
Posts: 4

Re: Lag on arch using KDE plasma

YEET wrote:

When I uninstall "plasma-desktop" will I have to reconfigure xorg or would I be good to just do startx after "plasma" is installed?

No idea.... If I were you, I may re-install from scratch, or at least uninstall / re-install sddm as well.

Offline

#7 2019-09-12 14:10:38

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,612

Re: Lag on arch using KDE plasma

This sounds like your compositor is crashing, after reproducing such a situation, post

qdbus org.kde.KWin /KWin supportInformation
sudo journalctl -b

in [ code ][ /code ] tags

To be frank I highly doubt that having the plasma group or just the plasma-desktop package installed to have any relevant relation to this.

Last edited by V1del (2019-09-12 14:20:59)

Offline

#8 2019-09-12 14:27:42

sevendogs
Member
From: Texas
Registered: 2016-01-24
Posts: 151

Re: Lag on arch using KDE plasma

Might check the search settings (baloo) and perhaps test turning off search entirely. I always turn search off but even with it on, I have never experienced lag. Is this a video driver issue as in no 3d acceleration? KDE for me on an Intel i7 (4 core) with 64GB ram and a Nvidia GTX 1050ti has always been very snappy. Your hardware is quite robust so it seems that is probably not the issue.


"Give a man a truth and he will think for a day. Teach a man to reason and he will think for a lifetime"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB