You are not logged in.

#1 2004-03-14 10:47:25

bOOyah
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 18

ALSA problem

Hi,

I've got a wired alsa-prob. I have a soundblaster audigy installed and using the stock-kernel.

After following all the instructions from the wiki-alsa-howto I tested the driver with aplay file.wav and everthing seems to work great.

I added the snd-emu10k1 and snd-pcm-oss modules to the rc.conf set the permissons configured the alsamixer and rebooted.

So far everything seems to be okay. Now to my problem:

After the reboot I've had no sound. xmms and aplay are playing the sound-files without an error, e.g. the peak of xmms are moving.

when I delete the modules for my rc.conf and make a

modprobe snd-emu10k1
modprobe snd-pcm-oss

after a reboot, everthing is working fine!

SO WHERE IS MY FAILURE?


arch 0.6 -- kernel-2.6.X -- KDE 3.2 @ P4-2,5 -- Geforce 5900XT

Offline

#2 2004-03-14 10:50:08

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: ALSA problem

What Desktop are you using ?


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2004-03-14 11:32:09

bOOyah
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 18

Re: ALSA problem

Currently I'm using KDE...


arch 0.6 -- kernel-2.6.X -- KDE 3.2 @ P4-2,5 -- Geforce 5900XT

Offline

#4 2004-03-14 12:06:40

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: ALSA problem

I have the same problem.....Xmms Mplayer Xine all work but no sounds (system) unser KDE what  settings do you have in Sound System ?


Mr Green

Offline

#5 2004-03-14 13:27:50

bOOyah
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 18

Re: ALSA problem

I've just installed an old kernel (2.6.1). I made it myself a mouth ago and everything went really smooth.

No problems, even the input-tab in KMIX is displayed correctly. Don't know where the problem with the stock-kernel is.

I've also built a new 2.6.4 kernel, but I can't get sound working correctly.

It's all very wired, if you find a solution Mr. Green, please post it. I will do the same, too.


arch 0.6 -- kernel-2.6.X -- KDE 3.2 @ P4-2,5 -- Geforce 5900XT

Offline

#6 2004-03-14 17:26:31

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: ALSA problem

bOOyah wrote:

After the reboot I've had no sound. xmms and aplay are playing the sound-files without an error, e.g. the peak of xmms are moving.

Are you sure the channels aren't being muted again after you reboot?

That's a stupid question, but its best to get those ones out of the way first. wink

Offline

#7 2004-03-14 17:41:29

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: ALSA problem

I still cannot get system sound working....Mozzy did ring every time I got mail..but now nothing ...is it Alsa or is it how KDE 3.2 is set up.....??? :?

System.Output.Println("Mr Green"+"Helllllppp");


Mr Green

Offline

#8 2004-03-14 18:05:22

bOOyah
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 18

Re: ALSA problem

@Dusty

There aren't any stupid questions wink The muted channels were the first thing on my mind too. But unfortunately everything is unmuted and the alsamixer show 100 % master/pcm, etc...

As I have written, when I modprobe when KDE or GNOME is up, everything is fine (expect the input-tab of KMIX is empty...)

Furthermore, with kernel 2.6.1, I haven't got the problem.

@Green

Did you try a modprobe after KDE is up and runnig?


arch 0.6 -- kernel-2.6.X -- KDE 3.2 @ P4-2,5 -- Geforce 5900XT

Offline

#9 2004-03-14 18:16:48

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: ALSA problem

No I have modules in rc.conf..lines in devsfd.conf...restore in rc.local...still nothing....

modprobe I will give it a go... :?


Mr Green

Offline

#10 2004-03-14 20:18:56

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: ALSA problem

Some channels DO need to be muted to hear sound.  I know, with the SB Live, you need to mute the Analog/Digital Output Jack to hear stuff.  If it's unmuted it won't work.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#11 2004-03-15 19:34:27

bOOyah
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 18

Re: ALSA problem

Hi @all,

problem solved... You're right Xentac, the Audigy Analog channel must be muted. Now everything works fine.

Thanks a lot.


arch 0.6 -- kernel-2.6.X -- KDE 3.2 @ P4-2,5 -- Geforce 5900XT

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB