You are not logged in.

#1 2019-10-11 17:44:45

Zar Marco
Member
From: Colle Umberto, Italy
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 32

Zstd and grub

Hi all. Until this morning I used to use btrfs with lzo compression on my root and home subvolumes. But this morning I tried to pass at zstd compression with this command: btrfs filesystem defragment -r -v -czstd @, where @ is the subvolume for my root. After I modified my fstab and launched grub command for update grub. I rebooted and I found grub rescue because grub didn't goes with compress level 3. But I had read that grub in version 2.04 goes with this compression. Anyone use this compression? I have 3 partitions, /, /home and /boot/efi

Offline

#2 2019-10-11 18:49:22

Zod
Member
Registered: 2019-03-10
Posts: 118

Offline

#3 2019-10-11 22:05:19

Zar Marco
Member
From: Colle Umberto, Italy
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 32

Re: Zstd and grub

Sorry for a super newbie question, but what is grub payload?

Offline

#4 2019-10-11 22:22:15

Zod
Member
Registered: 2019-03-10
Posts: 118

Re: Zstd and grub

Please provide the output for...

grub-install --version

Offline

#5 2019-10-12 07:14:50

Zar Marco
Member
From: Colle Umberto, Italy
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 32

Re: Zstd and grub

Hi, this is the output: grub-install (GRUB) 2.04

Offline

#6 2019-10-12 10:38:16

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,608

Re: Zstd and grub

I doubt that that will actually show the version of the installed grub. Long story short, you probably didn't install GRUB again. Rerun the GRUB installation command you originally used, to actually update the EFI binary on your ESP to the latest GRUB. (boot loader package updates only install the updated libraries and such in standard locations, if you want to actually update the GRUB you are running you must use the related installation command again.)

Last edited by V1del (2019-10-12 10:39:38)

Offline

#7 2019-10-12 15:40:39

Zar Marco
Member
From: Colle Umberto, Italy
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 32

Re: Zstd and grub

Ok, well, so if I want use zstd compression I must reinstall grub

Offline

#8 2019-10-12 17:48:37

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,608

Re: Zstd and grub

You must reinstall GRUB (in fact any boot loader) whenever there's an update to the GRUB package that you want to actively use.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB