You are not logged in.

#1 2019-11-01 04:50:44

Hamish
Member
From: Rural Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 46
Website

(SOLVED) WINE is unable to access my network

In the past few weeks I have tried to play two different network games with WINE and was unable to see and connect to a server. This applies to both Internet games and ones I have hosted on a local area network. It appears that I have no network from within WINE for some strange reason.

BASH console:

[hamish@Gehirn ~]$ ping 68.41.25.33
PING 68.41.25.33 (68.41.25.33) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 68.41.25.33: icmp_seq=1 ttl=48 time=155 ms
64 bytes from 68.41.25.33: icmp_seq=2 ttl=48 time=274 ms
64 bytes from 68.41.25.33: icmp_seq=3 ttl=48 time=144 ms
^C
--- 68.41.25.33 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2001ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 143.661/190.902/273.992/58.936 ms

WINE CMD prompt:

[hamish@Gehirn ~]$ wine cmd
Microsoft Windows 6.1.7601

Z:\home\hamish>ping 68.41.25.33
Pinging 68.41.25.33 [68.41.25.33] with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.

I am using wine-4.18-1 and I can confirm that I was able to use WINE to play networked games within the last year on the same setup. I am really baffled by this.

Last edited by Hamish (2019-11-11 04:39:13)


Thank you,
Hamish Paul Wilson

Offline

#2 2019-11-01 10:24:54

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 7,773

Re: (SOLVED) WINE is unable to access my network

Try reproducing in a new wine prefix, you probably have some config somewhere that breaks here. Another guess, firejail or similar sandboxing software.

Offline

#3 2019-11-01 16:20:06

Hamish
Member
From: Rural Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 46
Website

Re: (SOLVED) WINE is unable to access my network

Problem exists across prefixes and indeed on different Linux machines. Just to make sure it was not something with our router or networking setup I tethered my phone so I could have a direct data connection and still had the same issue. It is really strange.


Thank you,
Hamish Paul Wilson

Offline

#4 2019-11-02 11:12:23

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 7,359

Re: (SOLVED) WINE is unable to access my network

Do both 64-bit and 32-bit prefixes have this problem ?

what is the output of ipconfig from the wine cmd env ?


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#5 2019-11-03 00:51:22

Hamish
Member
From: Rural Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 46
Website

Re: (SOLVED) WINE is unable to access my network

Same issue from both 64-bit and 32-bit prefixes.

[hamish@Gehirn ~]$ wine cmd
Microsoft Windows 5.2.3790

Z:\home\hamish>ipconfig
Ethernet adaptor lo

    Connection-specific DNS suffix. . : 
    IPv4 address. . . . . . . . . . . : 127.0.0.1
    IPv6 address. . . . . . . . . . . : ::1
    Default gateway . . . . . . . . . : 

Ethernet adaptor enp2s0

    Connection-specific DNS suffix. . : 
    IPv4 address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.3.55
    IPv6 address. . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::af4a:2c80:cfd2:3779%2
    Default gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.3.1


Z:\home\hamish>

Thank you,
Hamish Paul Wilson

Offline

#6 2019-11-11 04:39:00

Hamish
Member
From: Rural Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 46
Website

Re: (SOLVED) WINE is unable to access my network

Alright, I can confirm that the ping issue was actually due to a lack of raw sockets permissions as outlined in the FAQ:
https://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#Failed_to_u … ermissions

[hamish@Gehirn ~]$ wine cmd
Microsoft Windows 5.2.3790

Z:\home\hamish>ping 68.41.25.33
Pinging 68.41.25.33 [68.41.25.33] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 68.41.25.33: bytes=32 time=116ms TTL=48
Reply from 68.41.25.33: bytes=32 time=147ms TTL=48
Reply from 68.41.25.33: bytes=32 time=153ms TTL=48
002d:fixme:console:CONSOLE_DefaultHandler Terminating process 8 on event 0
002c:fixme:console:CONSOLE_DefaultHandler Terminating process 2a on event 0
[hamish@Gehirn ~]$ 

As I can now confirm that I do have network access in WINE, I can mark this thread as solved.


Thank you,
Hamish Paul Wilson

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB