You are not logged in.

#1 2004-02-27 08:04:56

FX
Member
Registered: 2004-01-31
Posts: 19

Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

Sound works fine in gnome, but will not work in kde or xfce. I've tried just about everything and it will not work in them.

Network Servers in gnome I have to login 50 times and still cannot get to where I want to go because I don't have permission. XFCE with the SMB BrowserI login once and get to where I want to go and copy what I need and its done. No problem. I just don't know my way around XFCE yet to tweak it and sound doesn't work in there either, as stated earlier.

This is getting fustrating. :cry:

Outside of that I love this distro. Its like a bad soap opera here. Love/Hate kind of deal.

FX


I'd be ripping my hair out if I had any.

Offline

#2 2004-02-27 09:46:14

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

Hi

Can you post what Kernel...sound (ie Alsa) & some system details It all helps  lol

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2004-02-27 12:29:39

FX
Member
Registered: 2004-01-31
Posts: 19

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

Its Alsa and don't take this the wrong way but Bah!!!  Sound shouldn't be this difficult to install. Not too say it is real difficult but geez. Theres so many posts about it, theres a how-to and people still have trouble. It didn't take me too long to get it working in gnome, but not to have it working in the others is bogus.  In Debian, at least from what I remember, you don't have sound either, but in there its just a matter of "useradd <name> audio". Or  something close to that. Its been awhile, but  thats all there is too it and sound works. I understand that this is suppose to be a minimal install and all, but I would think sound would be a at a part of either kde, gnome, xfce or any other wm you would download. I mean I have sat in chat rooms with people just struggling to get gDesklets installed and working on their systems, but with Arch its just a matter of "pacman -S gdesklets", but yet you have to almost be a guru to get your sound working!!!!

Like I said  in other posts and this one I do like this distro and I am sure that its something that I am doing wrong, but it gets real fustrating both for the user when a basic part of a distro or even O.S. that so many people use doesn't work or you have to fight to get it to work. I am a newbie and still need to learn alot, but Im not that green when it comes to linux.

:rant off: Be gentle with the flames. 

tongue

FX


I'd be ripping my hair out if I had any.

Offline

#4 2004-02-27 12:47:39

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

Now get a grip man lol

Take your time ...relax...look here...

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=2544

then check your configs....

A little more info would help though.....

I have sound in KDE (well nearly lol ) so I will try to help you if I can...

Dr.Green


Mr Green

Offline

#5 2004-02-27 16:56:25

FX
Member
Registered: 2004-01-31
Posts: 19

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

Thanks again but been there done that. I was also here and did this too.....

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … ight=sound

I even tried to kiling artsd and still no luck. My question is if sound works in gnome, why wouldn't it work in the rest of the wm"s?

Mr. Green to be honest the way I have gotten my sytem to work is just to do a search for you posts alone. Pretty much everything one needs to get up and running are in your posts.  wink
Not a slam or flame, but a observation.

Like I said my biggest question is if sound works in one wm why not another?

FX


I'd be ripping my hair out if I had any.

Offline

#6 2004-02-27 17:03:59

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

What are the permissions on the devices /dev/sound/* and /dev/snd/*?


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#7 2004-02-27 17:34:18

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

Not that permissions thing again lol

I have those lines in devfsd.conf they do not work....

REGISTER ^sound/.* PERMISSIONS root.sound 660
REGISTER ^snd/.* PERMISSIONS root.sound 660

But as root everything is fine....

Mr Green..


Mr Green

Offline

#8 2004-02-27 18:01:44

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

ok if you are giving permissions to root.sound  and want your user to have permissions to your sound devices then you have to make sure that your user(s) are a member of the "sound" group.

generally everyone wants sound though so why not use root.users instead?

Gee it sure is nice having a single user system tongue


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#9 2004-02-27 18:05:03

FX
Member
Registered: 2004-01-31
Posts: 19

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

Xentac and I talked about my permissions in chat and after posting my ls -l of both /dev/sound and snd it was concluded as not the problem. My permissions are fine.

FX


I'd be ripping my hair out if I had any.

Offline

#10 2004-02-27 18:34:32

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

Hi

devfsd.conf

REGISTER ^sound/.* PERMISSIONS root.users 660
REGISTER ^snd/.* PERMISSIONS root.users 660

just for u....

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#11 2004-02-27 19:23:26

wdemoss
Member
From: WV - USA
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 222

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

No specific help in general, but heres maybe something you could try since you say your sound works in gnome, Then I'm also assuming it works from the command line before you start up X. For instance when you first log in, before you start up X, does the following work?

$ aplay -v /opt/kde/share/sounds/KDE_Startup.wav

if it does, then you have also configured correctly. This worked for me, but sound still would not work in KDE. The way i got it to work was before i started up kde, i did a

$ alsactl store

so that my alsamixer settings were stored. Then i fired up KDE, and opened a command prompt and ran

$ alsactl restore

Then my sound would work, then if you go to Control Center / Sound & Media / Mixer and say "Save current volumes" and have "Load Volumes on Login" checked it will restore them each time kde starts up.

Sounds weird, but thats how i got sound working in KDE when it worked on the command line. Oh btw, be sure you have Sound System / Audio Device set to ALSA.

HTH,
wdemoss


Hobbes : Shouldn't we read the instructions?
Calvin : Do I look like a sissy?

Offline

#12 2004-02-29 18:36:13

wdemoss
Member
From: WV - USA
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 222

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

just curious, did this work, or some derivative of it?


Hobbes : Shouldn't we read the instructions?
Calvin : Do I look like a sissy?

Offline

#13 2004-02-29 19:15:39

FX
Member
Registered: 2004-01-31
Posts: 19

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

Haven't had much time to play around with the settings. Weather been really nice here so Im taking advantage of it while I can. I'll post what happens when I get some time to play. Thanks for the response though.

FX


I'd be ripping my hair out if I had any.

Offline

#14 2004-03-16 02:44:26

tsykoduk
Member
From: A Chair
Registered: 2003-10-31
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

Ok.. I have tried and tried and searched and searched...


I get sound at the command line and in gnome.
I get Arts started.
I get no sound in KDE except popping and stuff.
I am watching the Arts master volume bounce around as I play a Pink Floyd album. - but just the random pop or squeel.
I have played with kmix and alsamixer till I am blue in the face (and I can make it cause pops too!)

I have snd_emu10k1 loaded and happy - using digital jack. Sound worked fine under kde 3.1.x - stopped working with the newer KDE. Works fine under Gnome. I even heard part of the kde start up sound once.

Any ideas?

Offline

#15 2004-03-16 02:49:07

FX
Member
Registered: 2004-01-31
Posts: 19

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

I still can't get any sound in kde at all. Gave up.

FX


I'd be ripping my hair out if I had any.

Offline

#16 2004-03-16 03:43:31

haldir
Member
From: Indiana
Registered: 2004-03-13
Posts: 2

Re: Yep, same ol' thing........ sound and other things

Just installed Arch this week. Thanks to the developers as this looks like a good distro.

I am mainly a Slackware user. The KDE 3.2 problem isn't just here. Myself and several other Slack users I know have had 3.2 problems since upgrading. From no sound to a high pitch squeal.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB