You are not logged in.

#1 2019-11-23 18:16:49

DaKili
Member
Registered: 2019-11-23
Posts: 3

[SOLVED] Unable to ping google: "Temporary failure in name resolution"

Hello,

I've just tried to install Archlinux for thr first time, but failed after the frist few steps already.

I executed

ping -c 3 www.google.com

and

Temporary failure in name resolution

returned.
dhcpcd returned

dev: loaded udev
no interfaces have a carried
forked to background, child pid 682

I obviously googled a lot, but most of the things I've read I do not really understand.
For example I noticed that I don't have a directory "/run/systemd/resolve/.." but I don't even know if that matters or what it is.

I would appreciate your help.

PS: I wanted to install ArchLinux to learn about how to use Linux systems in debth, however I am not sure if I should do that, given, that I've spent 2 1/2 hours on the first few steps of installation.

Last edited by DaKili (2019-11-25 10:30:23)

Offline

#2 2019-11-23 18:32:16

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 7,447

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to ping google: "Temporary failure in name resolution"

Fixing not working stuff is often a great opportunity to learn.

post

# ip link
# ip address
# lspci -k

outputs.


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#3 2019-11-23 18:47:55

DaKili
Member
Registered: 2019-11-23
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to ping google: "Temporary failure in name resolution"

ip link

 1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc nonqueue state UNKNOWN mode DDEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: wlp2s0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICASE,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether e4:42:a6:33:3c:e0 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

ip address

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
        valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
        valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: wlp2s0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICASE,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether e4:42:a6:33:3c:e0 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

lspci -k

02:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless 7265 (rev 59)
    Subsystem: Intel Corporation Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265
    Kernel driver in use: iwlwifi
    Kernel modules: iwlwifi, wl

I hope that lspci part is the one interesting.. If not: do you have an idea of how i could get the output from my laptop on my pc?

Thank you for the quick response!

Offline

#4 2019-11-23 20:28:22

ratamahata
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2014-11-11
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to ping google: "Temporary failure in name resolution"

Maybe its dns problem.. Add

1.1.1.1

to your

/etc/resolv.conf

.

Offline

#5 2019-11-23 20:32:23

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 3,493

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to ping google: "Temporary failure in name resolution"

DaKili wrote:
dev: loaded udev
no interfaces have a carried
forked to background, child pid 682

No carrier means an unplugged or faulty network cable, or that you haven't authorised with a wireless network.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#6 2019-11-24 12:29:36

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 7,447

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to ping google: "Temporary failure in name resolution"

Slithery wrote:

or that you haven't authorised with a wireless network

That matches with the other posted outputs.

DaKili, read https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … n/Wireless .
I suggest you try the manual method with iw and wpa_supplicant (I'm assuming your wireless network uses WPA 2) .


DaKili wrote:

do you have an idea of how i could get the output from my laptop on my pc?

With internet access you could use  a pastebin client for that.
Without internet using  a usb drive or memory stick is the easiest method, keep in mind the filesystem on the usb device needs to be readable by both systems.
(If one of them runs windows fat32 aka vfat is often the simplest solution.)


You can use redirection to get the output of  a command to a file instead of consolse screen .
The redirection symbol is > (greater-sign) .

Try

$ lspci -k > lspci-laptop.txt

This will overwrite everything in lspci-laptop.txt with the output of the lspci -k command.
(if the file doesn't exist yet, > will create it)

If you'd want to append to an exisiting test-file, add another > symbol so there are 2.


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#7 2019-11-24 14:50:45

DaKili
Member
Registered: 2019-11-23
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to ping google: "Temporary failure in name resolution"

Hey guys, thank you for your help!

Somehow my ethernet to usb adaptor is broken.
I've now connected to my network with wpa_supplicant and am waiting for the wiki to be back up to get an IP.

Thank you guys so much for your help again, this really keeps me motivated!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB