You are not logged in.

#1 2019-12-01 23:40:13

lukyky414
Member
Registered: 2018-11-24
Posts: 7

[SOLVED] coppeliasim (vrep) crash

I have installed CoppeliaSim with yaourt, but I can't make it work.

Here's the output of coppeliasim:

$ coppeliasim
Loading the CoppeliaSim library...
Done!
Launching CoppeliaSim...
lib: 1
lic: 1

CoppeliaSim Edu V4.0.0. (rev. 1)
Using the default Lua library.
Could not find or correctly load the video compression library.
Try following:

>sudo apt-get install libavcodec-dev libavformat-dev libswscale-dev
if above fails, try first:
>sudo apt-get -f install

Add-on script 'simAddOnScript-addOnScriptDemo.lua' was loaded.
Add-on script 'simAddOnScript-b0RemoteApiServer.lua' was loaded.
Add-on script 'simAddOnScript_PyRep.lua' was loaded.
If CoppeliaSim crashes now, try to install libgl1-mesa-dev on your system:
>sudo apt install libgl1-mesa-dev
OpenGL: NVIDIA Corporation, Renderer: GeForce GTX 1060/PCIe/SSE2, Version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 440.36
...did not crash.
Simulator launched.
Plugin 'Geometric': loading...
Plugin 'Geometric': load succeeded.
Plugin 'Assimp': loading...
Plugin 'Assimp': warning: replaced variable 'simAssimp'
Plugin 'Assimp': load succeeded.
Plugin 'BlueZero': loading...
Error with plugin 'BlueZero': load failed (could not load). The plugin probably couldn't load dependency libraries. For additional infos, modify the script 'libLoadErrorCheck.sh', run it and inspect the output.
Plugin 'BubbleRob': loading...
Plugin 'BubbleRob': load succeeded.
Plugin 'Bwf': loading...
Plugin 'Bwf': load succeeded.
Plugin 'CodeEditor': loading...
Plugin 'CodeEditor': load succeeded.
Plugin 'Collada': loading...
Plugin 'Collada': load succeeded.
Plugin 'ConvexDecompose': loading...
Plugin 'ConvexDecompose': load succeeded.
Plugin 'CustomUI': loading...
Plugin 'CustomUI': warning: replaced variable 'simUI'
Plugin 'CustomUI': warning: replaced function 'simUI.insertTableRow@CustomUI'
Plugin 'CustomUI': warning: replaced function 'simUI.removeTableRow@CustomUI'
Plugin 'CustomUI': warning: replaced function 'simUI.insertTableColumn@CustomUI'
Plugin 'CustomUI': warning: replaced function 'simUI.removeTableColumn@CustomUI'
Plugin 'CustomUI': warning: replaced function 'simUI.setScene3DNodeParam@CustomUI'
Plugin 'CustomUI': load succeeded.
Plugin 'DynamicsBullet-2-78': loading...
Plugin 'DynamicsBullet-2-78': load succeeded.
Plugin 'DynamicsBullet-2-83': loading...
Plugin 'DynamicsBullet-2-83': load succeeded.
Plugin 'DynamicsNewton': loading...
Plugin 'DynamicsNewton': load succeeded.
Plugin 'DynamicsOde': loading...
Plugin 'DynamicsOde': load succeeded.
Plugin 'DynamicsVortex': loading...
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::runtime_error'
  what():  locale::facet::_S_create_c_locale name not valid
/usr/share/coppeliasim/coppeliaSim.sh: line 33: 13598 Aborted                 (core dumped) "$dirname/$appname" "${PARAMETERS[@]}"

For this error I tried to install icu60 wich is an optional dependencies. It do not solve my error (I just have that one line removed).

Error with plugin 'BlueZero': load failed (could not load). The plugin probably couldn't load dependency libraries. For additional infos, modify the script 'libLoadErrorCheck.sh', run it and inspect the output.

I do have ffmpeg installed, so I have libavcodec and so on, but I didn't find the '-dev' version.

Could not find or correctly load the video compression library.
Try following:

>sudo apt-get install libavcodec-dev libavformat-dev libswscale-dev

I have mesa too and libgl1-mesa-dev and this is not a problem.

If CoppeliaSim crashes now, try to install libgl1-mesa-dev on your system:
>sudo apt install libgl1-mesa-dev
OpenGL: NVIDIA Corporation, Renderer: GeForce GTX 1060/PCIe/SSE2, Version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 440.36
...did not crash.

Can someone run Coppeliasim from this yaourt install? Do I miss something?
If I have something missing, why is it not in the PKGBUILD of coppeliasim?

I have searched a bit about this error and it seems to be about locale-gen. I have only en_US.UTF-8 enable, I don't know what else should I enable, why, and what will be the consequence on my install. Could this configuration be added on the installation of coppeliasim?

what():  locale::facet::_S_create_c_locale name not valid

Last edited by lukyky414 (2019-12-02 10:38:47)

Offline

#2 2019-12-02 07:52:37

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 8,003

Re: [SOLVED] coppeliasim (vrep) crash

The PKGBUILD is quite incomplete,  however the actual crashing error should not have a relation to that. What's your output of

locale -a 
locale
localectl

did you ever use some "clean up" tools like bleach-bit or so that overeagerly deleted necessary locale files? Or do you use e.g. a pacman NoExtract= that removes too much? The C locale should always be available.

PS. Arch doesn't split development headers, if an Ubuntu context talks about installing -dev packages, the equivalent on Arch would simply be to install the non -dev versions.

Offline

#3 2019-12-02 10:38:32

lukyky414
Member
Registered: 2018-11-24
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLVED] coppeliasim (vrep) crash

Here's the outputs:

$ locale -a
locale: Cannot set LC_CTYPE to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_MESSAGES to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_COLLATE to default locale: No such file or directory
C
POSIX
en_US.utf8
$ locale
locale: Cannot set LC_CTYPE to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_MESSAGES to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_ALL to default locale: No such file or directory
LANG=fr_FR.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_TIME="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_MESSAGES="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_PAPER="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_NAME="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_ADDRESS="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_TELEPHONE="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_ALL=
$ localectl
   System Locale: LANG=en_US.UTF-8
       VC Keymap: fr
      X11 Layout: n/a

I do not use some clean tools, it is a pretty fresh install too.
With what I see, I have enabled fr_FR.UTF-8 in /usr/locale-gen too and I have tried to re-install coppeliasim (at first it was with yaourt, now it is with yay).
I have installed Arch only with en_US but for the clock I changed the timezone and money etc on french.

Now it is working! Wow.... why did I have to enable fr in my locale-gen? What changed? Why is it working xD?
Because all option are still in English! (That's not a problem)
Thanks for your help.

Last edited by lukyky414 (2019-12-02 10:40:18)

Offline

#4 2019-12-02 12:23:17

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 7,467

Re: [SOLVED] coppeliasim (vrep) crash

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Locale wrote:

Before a locale can be enabled on the system, it must be generated. This can be achieved by uncommenting applicable entries in /etc/locale.gen, and running locale-gen. Equivalently, commenting entries disables their respective locales

Only uncommented entries in locale.gen can be used by the system.


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB