You are not logged in.

#51 2019-11-26 15:09:34

antonok
Member
Registered: 2019-11-26
Posts: 1

Re: Black screen on lid open

nnscr wrote:

I simply forced DRI 2 instead of DRI 3, which seems to be buggy with Raven Ridge APUs and Xorg (Wayland worked fine). It also fixed some other small graphic related problems that I used to have.

Simply paste this into your xorg config:

Section "Device" 
	Identifier "AMDGPU" 
	Driver "amdgpu" 
	Option "DRI" "2" 
EndSection

Wow, I think you got it. This is working flawlessly for me. We've all been looking at kernel patches and cmdline flags, but the fix was right there all along.

Offline

#52 2019-11-29 11:44:31

susse
Member
Registered: 2016-11-23
Posts: 9

Re: Black screen on lid open

Running 5.4.0-arch1-1 with same old suspend issues.

Offline

#53 2019-12-01 07:48:30

sinatosk
Member
Registered: 2010-11-28
Posts: 88

Re: Black screen on lid open

nnscr wrote:

Hello,

I've had the exact same problem on my Thinkpad A485 (AMD Ryzen 7 PRO 2700U w/ Radeon Vega Mobile Gfx) and found a solution which allows me to run X, the latest stock kernels and suspending works like a charm.

I simply forced DRI 2 instead of DRI 3, which seems to be buggy with Raven Ridge APUs and Xorg (Wayland worked fine). It also fixed some other small graphic related problems that I used to have.

Simply paste this into your xorg config:

Section "Device" 
	Identifier "AMDGPU" 
	Driver "amdgpu" 
	Option "DRI" "2" 
EndSection

My command line flags are these, but some of them might not be needed anymore:

idle=nomwait amd_iommu=fullflush amdgpu.gpu_recovery=1

Hope this helps someone!

I can't do this as I play Dota 2 using vulkan and vulkan requires dri 3 to be set in xorg

Last edited by sinatosk (2019-12-01 07:48:53)

Offline

#54 2019-12-03 09:23:01

dimischiavone
Member
From: Turin
Registered: 2019-09-13
Posts: 8

Re: Black screen on lid open

On my t495s running the latest kernel 5.4.0-arch1-1 i can now succesfully hibernate. The problem arises on resume now, post boot i can see the screen flashing once and then go to black. I cannot even switch to another tty so the gpu is not properly started i guess.

I have enabled early kms and now i can also succesfully resume fine from hibernate. I should add that with the last previous known working kernel with hibernate i could do it without early kms.

Last edited by dimischiavone (2019-12-03 09:52:32)

Offline

#55 2019-12-03 15:02:28

noom
Member
Registered: 2019-12-03
Posts: 4

Re: Black screen on lid open

dimischiavone wrote:

On my t495s running the latest kernel 5.4.0-arch1-1 i can now succesfully hibernate. The problem arises on resume now, post boot i can see the screen flashing once and then go to black. I cannot even switch to another tty so the gpu is not properly started i guess.

I have enabled early kms and now i can also succesfully resume fine from hibernate. I should add that with the last previous known working kernel with hibernate i could do it without early kms.

Do you use any particular kernel parameters related to amd and/or iommu, etc..?

Offline

#56 2019-12-03 15:15:49

dimischiavone
Member
From: Turin
Registered: 2019-09-13
Posts: 8

Re: Black screen on lid open

noom wrote:

Do you use any particular kernel parameters related to amd and/or iommu, etc..?

No, i don't use any particular kernel command line to get it working.

Offline

#57 2019-12-03 15:21:21

noom
Member
Registered: 2019-12-03
Posts: 4

Re: Black screen on lid open

dimischiavone wrote:

No, i don't use any particular kernel command line to get it working.

Ok, I'm trying the same configuration on my t495. I tried to suspend/resume a couple of times and it seems to fail almost consistently after the 3rd time. Which is the same result I got from thousands of other configurations I tried haha.
As for hibernation, it worked once but I didn't have the time to try more times so I can't say if it consistently works with your config, although I doubt it; I'll confirm that later.

Offline

#58 2019-12-03 16:06:20

dimischiavone
Member
From: Turin
Registered: 2019-09-13
Posts: 8

Re: Black screen on lid open

noom wrote:

Ok, I'm trying the same configuration on my t495. I tried to suspend/resume a couple of times and it seems to fail almost consistently after the 3rd time. Which is the same result I got from thousands of other configurations I tried haha.
As for hibernation, it worked once but I didn't have the time to try more times so I can't say if it consistently works with your config, although I doubt it; I'll confirm that later.

Sound strange that you can't even suspend/resume properly.I don't think our devices differ that much either. I chose this laptop because i heard that thinkpads (especially the ones with amd cpus/gpus) worked really well with linux. In fact the first time i installed arch on this machine i was quite amazed that everything worked out of the box (some kernels ago suspend/hibernated worked fine too). As a note i should add that i run kde + sddm and i could also get secureboot + tpm2 to work without any issues on this thinkpad.
For me suspending always worked on this laptop, i had issues only with hibernation that seem to be fixed for the time being.

Edit:
I just remembered that sometimes when resuming from suspension the screen went all black and i couldn't even switch ttys. In those cases i just closed the screen again to put it back to sleep, tried again and it worked. Looks like sometimes the gpu isn't properly initialized.

Last edited by dimischiavone (2019-12-03 16:10:14)

Offline

#59 2019-12-05 13:36:55

noom
Member
Registered: 2019-12-03
Posts: 4

Re: Black screen on lid open

dimischiavone wrote:

Sound strange that you can't even suspend/resume properly.I don't think our devices differ that much either. I chose this laptop because i heard that thinkpads (especially the ones with amd cpus/gpus) worked really well with linux. In fact the first time i installed arch on this machine i was quite amazed that everything worked out of the box (some kernels ago suspend/hibernated worked fine too). As a note i should add that i run kde + sddm and i could also get secureboot + tpm2 to work without any issues on this thinkpad.
For me suspending always worked on this laptop, i had issues only with hibernation that seem to be fixed for the time being.

And that's exactly also why I bought a thinkpad haha! The device in itself is really amazing but the thing is, it's still pretty new. I learned the hard way that for new hardware like this, it does take some time for the kernel and other things to catch up. For example: the fingerprint reader isn't supported yet (well, this is changing since synaptics finally released firmware update, which are still in testing, on fwupd. also, see https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/libfprin … issues/181).

My point is, for the moment we're experiencing some compatibility issues due to the recentness of the device but that will progressively get fixed in the following months/weeks and future buyers will find this device to be perfectly compatible with our beloved OS, as most of the thinkpad are (I think?).

dimischiavone wrote:

Edit:
I just remembered that sometimes when resuming from suspension the screen went all black and i couldn't even switch ttys. In those cases i just closed the screen again to put it back to sleep, tried again and it worked. Looks like sometimes the gpu isn't properly initialized.

Back to the hibernation/suspend problem: I still have this exact behavior your describing except I haven't been able to recover from it without a reboot unlike you. But it does seem that hibernation is working pretty good with the early KMS enabled! I didn't have a problem with it since the other day. Can't really say it works 100% of the time since I didn't use the hibernation a lot but I think this is almost solved.

Last edited by noom (2019-12-05 13:38:09)

Offline

#60 2019-12-05 18:03:49

dimischiavone
Member
From: Turin
Registered: 2019-09-13
Posts: 8

Re: Black screen on lid open

noom wrote:

Back to the hibernation/suspend problem: I still have this exact behavior your describing except I haven't been able to recover from it without a reboot unlike you. But it does seem that hibernation is working pretty good with the early KMS enabled! I didn't have a problem with it since the other day. Can't really say it works 100% of the time since I didn't use the hibernation a lot but I think this is almost solved.

Yeah but early kms is still a workaround that shouldn't be needed. I have tried the kernel mentioned earlier on this thread and with that all worked flawlessly without any particular kernel command line or kms. Like you mentioned i guess that's to blame to the fact that these devices are pretty new. Like you said, i'm sure that time will bring improvements and stability. Nonetheless it's amazing how almost all the hardware worked out of the box since day 1 (by the way i didn't get the fingerprint reader or the wwan due to the fact that for the former in the past no driver was released and for the latter because i would have had to change the wwan card myself).
For the time being i'm pretty happy that things work, even if with workarounds. Also i have tested the new kde power option "suspend then hibernate" and it also works flawlessly.

Last edited by dimischiavone (2019-12-05 18:05:45)

Offline

#61 2019-12-05 18:52:34

noom
Member
Registered: 2019-12-03
Posts: 4

Re: Black screen on lid open

dimischiavone wrote:

Yeah but early kms is still a workaround that shouldn't be needed. I have tried the kernel mentioned earlier on this thread and with that all worked flawlessly without any particular kernel command line or kms.

Are you referring to `5.4.1-arch1-1`?

dimischiavone wrote:

Nonetheless it's amazing how almost all the hardware worked out of the box since day 1 (by the way i didn't get the fingerprint reader or the wwan due to the fact that for the former in the past no driver was released and for the latter because i would have had to change the wwan card myself).

Well I can't really compare since I always had old/used laptop before that already worked completely out of box (except for the IdeaPad 100S-11IBY which was absolute trash). But yeah I'm really enjoying this little beast even with these tiny issues that'll soon disappear!

dimischiavone wrote:

For the time being i'm pretty happy that things work, even if with workarounds. Also i have tested the new kde power option "suspend then hibernate" and it also works flawlessly.

I haven't heard about this power mode, it looks really interesting, thanks for mentioning it!

Offline

#62 2019-12-06 08:42:42

dimischiavone
Member
From: Turin
Registered: 2019-09-13
Posts: 8

Re: Black screen on lid open

noom wrote:

I haven't heard about this power mode, it looks really interesting, thanks for mentioning it!

You could actually use it even before by editing systemd files related to sleep and hibernate but recently powerdevil has been integrated with this functionality too. When you suspend, after some time being idle suspended the computer will be hibernated.
I find it good for when you go to bed or when you have to suddenly go away from your computer. (I'm a big fan of always resuming my work from where i left without ever shutting down the computer).

Offline

#63 2019-12-07 19:41:51

fenics
Member
Registered: 2019-12-07
Posts: 2

Re: Black screen on lid open

Hi. I'm have black screen when type "systemctl suspend".
Method with Xorg:

Section "Device" 
	Identifier "AMDGPU" 
	Driver "amdgpu" 
	Option "DRI" "2" 
EndSection

This work unstable.

---------------------------------------
Arch Linux x86_64
5.4.2-arch1-1
WM: i3
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 3500U with Radeon Vega Mobile Gfx (8) @ 2.100GHz
GPU: AMD ATI 04:00.0 Picasso

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB