You are not logged in.

#26 2018-04-24 19:14:58

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 13,524

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

File a bug. I've no idea why he cannot access the product and have no gnome bugzilla account myself (nor run gnome)

Offline

#27 2018-04-24 19:48:38

Atari
Member
Registered: 2016-04-20
Posts: 27

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

Offline

#28 2018-04-24 19:49:40

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 13,524

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

Offline

#29 2018-04-24 20:31:33

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,307
Website

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

Mod note: Meging the two threads.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#30 2018-05-03 17:13:51

sadboi389
Member
Registered: 2018-03-31
Posts: 33

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

Thanks for filing the bug report, however if I understand the page right it got quickly discarded as "resolved duplicate", however as of now it's still the same behaviour and nothing's resolved at all.

Offline

#31 2018-05-03 17:22:32

Atari
Member
Registered: 2016-04-20
Posts: 27

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

I can confirm that after a system update, including Gnome, media keys work again with Evince & Clementine. Nevertheless I've just found out that the mechanism is broken again when using VLC, even after you close it hmm

Offline

#32 2018-05-20 21:11:58

sadboi389
Member
Registered: 2018-03-31
Posts: 33

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

After several -Syu's, including a lot of gnome's apps and the gnome-desktop itself, I still have the same issue.

I found this: https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=789738 Which seems very similar yet different. Also this says resolved and fixed just like a bunch of other bugs I found (some ranging back to 2008 though) that are related to this issue.

I can't do a bug report myself because for some reason it doesn't show the related category for me, however I feel like if I'm gonna make one (like Atari did) it will quickly be disregarded as a "solved duplicate" anyway.

I'm trying to solve this by myself but I have no clue at what part of code to look at for this kinda issue. Any hints?

Offline

#33 2018-06-01 23:12:19

sadboi389
Member
Registered: 2018-03-31
Posts: 33

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

Once again a new behaviour since the -Syu yesterday - Nothing except rhythmbox works.
That's better for me than how it was before since I really only needs MPRI for rhythmbox, but it's still not really how it should be i guess.

dbus-monitor output:

signal time=1527894700.692563 sender=:1.24 -> destination=:1.71 serial=16464 path=/org/gnome/Shell; interface=org.gnome.Shell; member=AcceleratorActivated
   uint32 154
   array [
      dict entry(
         string "device-id"
         variant             uint32 3
      )
      dict entry(
         string "timestamp"
         variant             uint32 230847089
      )
      dict entry(
         string "action-mode"
         variant             uint32 1
      )
   ]
method call time=1527894700.693300 sender=:1.71 -> destination=:1.46697 serial=1189 path=/org/mpris/MediaPlayer2; interface=org.mpris.MediaPlayer2.Player; member=PlayPause

When rhythmbox is closed media keys have no effect. Not on totem, not on VLC.

Last edited by sadboi389 (2018-06-01 23:13:02)

Offline

#34 2018-06-03 15:21:41

sadboi389
Member
Registered: 2018-03-31
Posts: 33

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

Latest -Syu (yesterday) changed it back again. Only the application first opened gets the MPRIS commands. Why is this such a thing now? It keeps changing and messing up since months and before it worked fine for years.

Offline

#35 2018-06-03 16:23:24

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 13,524

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

What was actually updated? I'd rather say the behavior is completely non-deterministic or rhythmbox just unnoticed *was* the first opened app (restored w/ the session or so)?

Offline

#36 2018-06-08 15:11:09

sadboi389
Member
Registered: 2018-03-31
Posts: 33

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

seth wrote:

What was actually updated? I'd rather say the behavior is completely non-deterministic or rhythmbox just unnoticed *was* the first opened app (restored w/ the session or so)?

No session restore here, VLC autostarts and runs always so I'm 100% sure it was opened first. Hundreds of updates recently. Gnome shell and a lot of its assets included. Not sure what specifically might be important here.

Offline

#37 2019-08-10 08:44:51

sadboi389
Member
Registered: 2018-03-31
Posts: 33

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

Just as a heads up one year later on the newest version of everything: This bug still persists. I was not able to find any working fix within the last year. sad

Offline

#38 2019-08-10 12:51:48

Atari
Member
Registered: 2016-04-20
Posts: 27

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

Hi @sadoi389, I don't experience the issue anymore. After a few bounces to pinpoint the responsible component for this bug, I've opened an issue in gnome-settings-daemon, which has been fixed in the meanwhile.

Offline

#39 2020-01-13 19:22:47

sadboi389
Member
Registered: 2018-03-31
Posts: 33

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

Atari wrote:

Hi @sadoi389, I don't experience the issue anymore. After a few bounces to pinpoint the responsible component for this bug, I've opened an issue in gnome-settings-daemon, which has been fixed in the meanwhile.

Thank you. Indeed it's better now, but still not how it used to be. Now, the media keys work for the application first opened. If I open another application, it still works for the first. When I close the first, it will work for the second.

This is better than completely broken but I want it to be how it was before: Whichever application had the focus last will be controlled by the media keys.

I suspect that this is not the developer intented behaviour anymore, can I do anything to do that for myself?

Offline

#40 2020-01-14 12:08:07

Atari
Member
Registered: 2016-04-20
Posts: 27

Re: Media buttons don't work anymore

Hi there,
I think there was a regression revently and I've opened a new bug upstream :
https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gnome-se … ote_671038

I am not sure how this relates to your issues, but I guess the best way to proceed for you is anyway to directly reach upstream as well?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB