You are not logged in.

#1 2020-01-15 03:22:17

apholden
Member
Registered: 2020-01-15
Posts: 5

[SOLVED] intel-media-sdk: /opt exists in filesystem

While updating Arch today, I got the following error:

error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
intel-media-sdk: /opt exists in filesystem

I've been using the system for a several months and haven't had any trouble with it (except for a couple known issues documented in the home page).  A month ago, I installed the "yay" package manager to install and maintain FreeCAD, but I get the error with the usual "sudo pacman -Syu" as well.

When I checked the /opt folder, I saw folders for containerd, dotnet, and maven, all of which were installed from the standard repositories (not AUR).

Does anyone have any advice how I can diagnose this issue?  I'll be glad to provide fragments of log files or other information if that will help.

Thanks,

Andrew

Last edited by apholden (2020-01-15 13:18:28)

Offline

#2 2020-01-15 03:55:27

eschwartz
Trusted User/Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 3,622

Re: [SOLVED] intel-media-sdk: /opt exists in filesystem

What is the output of

file /opt
pacman -Qo /opt

Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#3 2020-01-15 10:56:15

apholden
Member
Registered: 2020-01-15
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] intel-media-sdk: /opt exists in filesystem

file /opt
/opt: symbolic link to /usr/local/opt
pacman -Qo /opt
error: No package owns /opt

Offline

#4 2020-01-15 11:03:36

apholden
Member
Registered: 2020-01-15
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] intel-media-sdk: /opt exists in filesystem

I forgot about the symlink.  I guess the package expected /opt to be a real directory.

Do you think the following would solve my issue (with migration to fstab if it works), or would I open myself up to more trouble?

rm /opt
mkdir /opt
mount --bind /usr/local/opt /opt

Last edited by apholden (2020-01-15 11:04:42)

Offline

#5 2020-01-15 12:05:52

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,957
Website

Re: [SOLVED] intel-media-sdk: /opt exists in filesystem

Yes, bind mounts are the correct way to handle this.

See http://allanmcrae.com/2014/12/pacman-4-2-released/


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Online

#6 2020-01-15 13:11:05

apholden
Member
Registered: 2020-01-15
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] intel-media-sdk: /opt exists in filesystem

That fixed it.  Thanks for the help.  Also thanks for the article about the change to pacman.  That was an excellent explanation about the behavior.

Offline

#7 2020-01-15 13:11:33

2ManyDogs
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 3,338

Re: [SOLVED] intel-media-sdk: /opt exists in filesystem

Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] (edit the title of your first post).

How to Post

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB