You are not logged in.

#1 2004-03-16 17:07:34

shaurz
Member
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2004-02-02
Posts: 334
Website

hda: irq probe failed

When I run Arch on my laptop without AC power I get the error "hda: irq probe failed" and the system is bloody slow. For example, it takes five seconds for 'password' to appear when I type my login. A good five minutes to start X/KDE. When I reconnect power it is still slow, unless I boot with the power on.

This is very annoying because I can only use Windows when I'm running on the battery.

Offline

#2 2004-03-16 17:37:18

andy
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 374

Re: hda: irq probe failed

For me this happens when my battery is almost empty and the APM system starts "yelling" IRQ's and flooding the kernel with it.

Since I can't read any more information from your post, maybe it's something similar. Maybe the IRQ setup is wrong, the APM setup, the ACPI setup .... try turning APM and/or ACPI off or pass different parameters for whatever you have. There are APM and/or ACPI HOWTOs out there - also a Battery-powered-HOWTO

Offline

#3 2004-03-19 15:11:44

shaurz
Member
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2004-02-02
Posts: 334
Website

Re: hda: irq probe failed

Turning APM on fixed it :-)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB