You are not logged in.

#1 2020-02-06 19:30:39

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,051

[SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

As best as I can tell, this is the problem. Both Netflix and Amazon Prime fail in similar ways.

The Netflix error code is F7702-1003, which the best I can discern is a DRM error.

Firefox reports that "The plugin has crashed". Chromium errors with the same error code.

Crating a new profile in FF and trying again asks me to enable DRM, which I do, it goes off and install it's stuff, and then fails in the same way.

As I mentioned in the other thread about the gcc mismatch, it's extremely time-consuming to downgrade, so for now I'm restoring a few days old backup and holding back the kernel, headers and gcc until there's a confirmed fix. I don't have a lot of time for troubleshooting right now.

Last edited by Roken (2020-02-07 20:54:20)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1070 8Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 5 HD (2SSD - 3Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#2 2020-02-06 19:38:32

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,598

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

You downgraded back to 5.4.Y?

Offline

#3 2020-02-06 19:56:43

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,051

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

Give me half an hour - it may not be the kernel. I'll report back


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1070 8Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 5 HD (2SSD - 3Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#4 2020-02-06 20:05:53

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,051

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

OK. I don't need a half hour, and I'm stumped.

I thought maybe it was nvidia that broke the DRM. I restored a 26 January backup, and everything works. I can upgrade to the latest kernel, and all other updates (220 in total) and Netflix/Amazon Prime fail.

I updated everything except the kernel and gcc from the backup (nvidia updated too). Netflix and Amazon fail.

Upgraded the zen kernel, held back the Arch kernel, both still fail.

Downgraded nvidia (and nvidia-utils), and both still fail.

DRM driver is loaded:

dmesg | grep drm
[Thu Feb  6 20:01:32 2020] [drm] [nvidia-drm] [GPU ID 0x00000800] Loading driver
[Thu Feb  6 20:01:32 2020] [drm] Initialized nvidia-drm 0.0.0 20160202 for 0000:08:00.0 on minor 0

I have no idea where to look, now.

EDIT: I can revert back to the backup again (it's only a 20 minute job) but, as it stands, I'd have to stop updating until I know what the issue is. Not something I want to do.

Last edited by Roken (2020-02-06 20:10:36)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1070 8Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 5 HD (2SSD - 3Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#5 2020-02-06 20:15:55

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 1,976

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

In that case (and in 99%  of them if we speak about graphic stack under Linux) DRM stands for Direct Rendering Manager; not Digital Right Managment smile
https://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/DRM/
Edit:
Try to use ALA to perform updates in little steps to narrow down the offending package(s) as much as possible.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Arch_Linux_Archive
EDIT2:
last time i tried netflix and prime video, they both had a very low quality on Linux; wouldn't be better to use Edge under wine or some kind of android emulator?

Last edited by kokoko3k (2020-02-06 20:25:12)

Offline

#6 2020-02-06 20:21:59

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,051

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

kokoko3k wrote:

DRM module means Direct Rendering Manager; not Digital Right Managment smile
https://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/DRM/
Edit:
Try to use ALA to perform updates in little steps to narrow down the offending package(s) as much as possible.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Arch_Linux_Archive

Well that taught me something. I'm restoring the 26 January backup again right now. I can use the ALA to update to, say, Monday (3 Feb) when my system worked without an issue. It should make the troubleshooting less cumbersome.

I'll report when I know more.

EDIT: Oh, and I honestly thought the kernel DRM module was for Digital Rights Management. I hate acronyms.

Last edited by Roken (2020-02-06 20:25:25)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1070 8Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 5 HD (2SSD - 3Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#7 2020-02-06 21:51:31

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,051

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

OK. I'm getting tired of restoring to a working system. Tomorrow I'll make an incremental backup (it's late and I have to work tomorrow), but for now, as far as my system updates are concerned, it's Monday, 3rd Feb 2020, which is the day before things went pear shaped. So now, my available updates. I know that the kernel/gcc issues have been fixed, so what here may be breaking Digital Rights Management on Netflix/Amazon?

audiocd-kio 19.12.1-1 -> 19.12.2-1
binutils 2.33.1-2 -> 2.34-1
ceph-libs 14.2.6-1 -> 14.2.7-1
chromium 79.0.3945.130-2 -> 80.0.3987.87-1
cmake 3.16.3-1 -> 3.16.4-1
coin-or-clp 1.17.4-1 -> 1.17.5-1
filelight 19.12.1-1 -> 19.12.2-1
foomatic-db-engine 4:4.0.13-1 -> 4:20200206-1
gcc 9.2.0-4 -> 9.2.1+20200130-2
gcc-d 9.2.0-4 -> 9.2.1+20200130-2
gcc-fortran 9.2.0-4 -> 9.2.1+20200130-2
gcc-libs 9.2.0-4 -> 9.2.1+20200130-2
glibc 2.30-3 -> 2.31-1
gmp 6.1.2-3 -> 6.2.0-1
gnutls 3.6.11.1-1 -> 3.6.12-1
hwids 20191025-2 -> 20200204-1
hwinfo 21.68-1 -> 21.68-2
kaccounts-integration 19.12.1-1 -> 19.12.2-1
kdenlive 19.12.1-3 -> 19.12.2-1
lib32-gcc-libs 9.2.0-4 -> 9.2.1+20200130-2
lib32-glibc 2.30-3 -> 2.31-1
libcap 2.30-1 -> 2.31-1
libcdr 0.1.5-3 -> 0.1.6-1
libinput 1.15.0-1 -> 1.15.1-1
libkcddb 19.12.1-1 -> 19.12.2-1
libkcompactdisc 19.12.1-1 -> 19.12.2-1
libtasn1 4.15.0-1 -> 4.16.0-1
libtool 2.4.6+42+gb88cebd5-8 -> 2.4.6+42+gb88cebd5-10
libx86emu 2.4-1 -> 3.1-1
libxnvctrl 440.44-1 -> 440.59-1
linux 5.5.1.arch1-1 -> 5.5.2.arch2-2
linux-api-headers 5.3.1-2 -> 5.4.17-1
linux-headers 5.5.1.arch1-1 -> 5.5.2.arch2-2
linux-zen 5.5.1.zen1-1 -> 5.5.2.zen2-2
linux-zen-headers 5.5.1.zen1-1 -> 5.5.2.zen2-2
ncurses 6.1-7 -> 6.1+20200118-1
nvidia-dkms 440.48.02-1 -> 440.59-6
nvidia-settings 440.44-1 -> 440.59-1
nvidia-utils 440.48.02-1 -> 440.59-1
openal 1.20.1-1 -> 1.20.1-2
opencl-nvidia 440.48.02-1 -> 440.59-1
openshadinglanguage 1.10.8-2 -> 1.10.9-1
openssh 8.1p1-2 -> 8.1p1-4
opusfile 0.11-1 -> 0.11-2
protobuf 3.11.2-1 -> 3.11.3-1
python-invoke 1.4.0-1 -> 1.4.1-1
python-packaging 20.0-1 -> 20.1-1
python-pexpect 4.7.0-3 -> 4.8.0-1
python2-packaging 20.0-1 -> 20.1-1
python2-pexpect 4.7.0-3 -> 4.8.0-1
qtcreator 4.11.0-4 -> 4.11.1-1
sane 1.0.28-3 -> 1.0.29-1
semver 7.1.1-1 -> 7.1.2-1
shadow 4.8-1 -> 4.8.1-1
signon-kwallet-extension 19.12.1-1 -> 19.12.2-1
strace 5.4-1 -> 5.5-1
systemd 244.1-1 -> 244.2-1
systemd-libs 244.1-1 -> 244.2-1
systemd-sysvcompat 244.1-1 -> 244.2-1
xkeyboard-config 2.28-1 -> 2.29-1
xterm 352-1 -> 353-1

These are the updates offered (testing) since Monday.

EDIT. I honestly can't see anything that should, but right now, everything works. I install that little lot, and something breaks.

Last edited by Roken (2020-02-06 21:53:17)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1070 8Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 5 HD (2SSD - 3Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#8 2020-02-06 21:57:23

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 28,711
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

Well, given that it is browser based technology...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#9 2020-02-06 22:04:16

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,598

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

Is firefox also broken using netflix / amazon prime with the state in post #7?

Offline

#10 2020-02-06 22:10:34

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,051

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

No - it works just fine in state #7. It has to be something in the upgrades.

EDIT: For absolute clarity - state at #7 is without those updates applied. That's what's waiting in the wings.

Though, as an afterthought, maybe an aur package. I use yay as an aur helper. Any way to get a similar list of upgrades for aur?

After I make an incremental backup of the current state (#7) I'll try a bare pacman update - no aur packages.

Last edited by Roken (2020-02-06 22:19:15)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1070 8Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 5 HD (2SSD - 3Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#11 2020-02-06 22:30:39

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,598

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

Remote possibility the sandboxing in chromium and firefox of the DRM process needs updating for glibc changes similar to openssh needing https://git.archlinux.org/svntogit/pack … 202d31636f

Offline

#12 2020-02-06 23:06:46

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,051

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

I'm afraid that's beyond my current understanding. I learned COBOL back in the day, and play with bash and python these days. You are more likely to know.

For now, I have a working state backup as at 3rd Feb. I can afford to test restricted updates (pacman rather than yay), but this will not happen before tomorrow night. I need to sleep now. Have to be up for work at 05:15.

Last edited by Roken (2020-02-06 23:09:46)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1070 8Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 5 HD (2SSD - 3Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#13 2020-02-06 23:28:24

judd1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-04
Posts: 256

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

yay widevine
1 aur/chromium-widevine 1:4.10.1610.0-1 (+389 3.47%) (Installed)
It works !

Last edited by judd1 (2020-02-06 23:40:58)


This isn't right. This isn't even wrong.
-- Wolfgang Pauli --

Offline

#14 2020-02-07 00:33:17

liewkj
Member
Registered: 2019-07-08
Posts: 146

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

I don't have Netflix, but Prime Video works fine on my Intel laptop.

local/linux 5.5.2.arch1-1
local/chromium-vaapi 80.0.3987.87-1
local/chromium-widevine 1:4.10.1610.0-1

Offline

#15 2020-02-07 20:06:41

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,051

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

Whilst I appreciate the suggestions of Chromium and widevine, I would rather fix what was working just fine on Monday, and doesn't now. It suggests that something since Monday has broken. A workaround in those circumstances is not a solution.

And for information, updating only official packages (no AUR updates) results in the same, so it is something in official repos that has changed sufficiently to break. My problem is, I've exhausted my own ideas, and have no clue where to go to next.


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1070 8Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 5 HD (2SSD - 3Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#16 2020-02-07 20:29:13

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 1,976

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

Maybe you have some useful coredump, since the plugin crashed?

Anyway, I think you can try to do partial upgrades safely from state #7 to the "broken state" to narrow down the issue to a single package. (pay attention to packages that you know depends each other like nvidia/kernel/nvivia-utils)
It means to upgrade one package at a time and test step by step 'till you have the problem.
As suggested by loqs, glibc seems the best candidate, i'd try to start from state 7 and upgrade glibc first.

Last edited by kokoko3k (2020-02-07 20:42:32)

Offline

#17 2020-02-07 20:41:44

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,051

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

I do apologise to loqs, and thank you to kokoko3k for highlighting it. I missed the suggestion regarding glibc (and by extension, lib32-glibc) appears to be accurate.

Updating, plugin crashes. Downgrading, it works again.

Is this likely to be an Arch issue (i.e. for the Arch bug report) or upstream?

Last edited by Roken (2020-02-07 20:42:20)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1070 8Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 5 HD (2SSD - 3Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#18 2020-02-07 20:49:28

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 1,976

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

Hard to say and to debug, since it is a binary nonsense closed source blob crashing.
A coredump is really necessary, but maybe not even enough.

Offline

#19 2020-02-07 20:53:24

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,051

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

Well, I've temporarily held back glibc and lib32-glibc at V 2.30-3 and upgraded everything else, and both Netflix and Prime are working correctly again. I hate partial upgrades involving such fundamental packages, and not sure how long I can get away with holding them back, but for now, I'm going to update the topic and mark as solved. Thank you to both of you.

EDIT: With something more refined to search for, I'm guessing this is the issue: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1600574

Last edited by Roken (2020-02-07 21:04:26)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1070 8Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 5 HD (2SSD - 3Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#20 2020-02-07 21:10:05

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,598

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

You could try chromium --no-sandbox to see if it is one of the sandboxing features failing with the new glibc.
or in firefox about:config security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist set the string to __NR_clock_gettime64
Edit:
@Roken I think that dlopen signal trapping was fixed by https://github.com/bminor/glibc/commit/ … 4d9c12784c

MOZ_DISABLE_CONTENT_SANDBOX=1 looks like another option to test with firefox.
MOZ_SANDBOX_LOGGING=1 to produce relevant logging if it is the sandbox.

Last edited by loqs (2020-02-07 21:28:03)

Offline

#21 2020-02-07 21:54:20

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,051

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

@loqs

Neither about:config setting or environmental variable change behaviour. Logging between 2.30 and 2.31 does change, however. Failure is:

Sandbox: using seccomp tsync
Sandbox: seccomp sandbox violation: pid 1575272, tid 1575272, syscall 17, args 17 140733487531872 560 7081708 140733487531872 7081708.

###!!! [Parent][MessageChannel::Call] Error: Channel error: cannot send/recv

Sandbox: EOF from pid 1574804

I have no idea how to interpret this, though. Is it a glibc issue, or a FF issue (since chromium without modification has the same/similar issue I'm guessing it's glibc)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1070 8Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 5 HD (2SSD - 3Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#22 2020-02-07 22:10:36

latalante1
Member
Registered: 2018-08-30
Posts: 71

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

Roken wrote:

I have no idea how to interpret this, though. Is it a glibc issue, or a FF issue (since chromium without modification has the same/similar issue I'm guessing it's glibc)

Do not scare. Impossible.
It has been fixed already.  I'm watching HBO with drm on google chrome 80.0.3987.87, and the system works with glibc 2.31.
https://bugs.chromium.org/p/chromium/is … id=1025739

Offline

#23 2020-02-07 22:12:06

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,598

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

I would try reporting it on the arch bug tracker against glibc and get directions from the package maintainers.

syscall 17 is pread64 not sure if that helps.
Edit:
If it is nanosleep then
https://github.com/mozilla/gecko-dev/co … 3305f41855
and from latalante1's report chromium would need https://chromium.googlesource.com/chrom … 0d7%5E%21/

Last edited by loqs (2020-02-07 22:17:23)

Offline

#24 2020-02-07 22:40:45

latalante1
Member
Registered: 2018-08-30
Posts: 71

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

Chromium 80.0.3987.87, already contains this change.
https://chromium.googlesource.com/chrom … _policy.cc
Anyway, I specifically made sure it was so before the glibc update (I've heard about this issue since November 2019)
The problem has been reported for a long time.
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1773289

Offline

#25 2020-02-07 22:43:35

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,598

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

As there has been no new firefox release that would still need patching?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB