You are not logged in.

#1 2020-02-09 12:38:31

KingShish
Member
Registered: 2016-09-10
Posts: 9

Cannot get 3rd Monitor working

I have a laptop with an onboard intel graphics card. Using the HDMI port I have 2nd monitor. I wanted a third so I got a USB to HDMI adapter.

I installed Displaylink and evdi from the AUR and followed the instructions.But the displaylink service does not start:

displaylink.service - DisplayLink Manager Service
     Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/displaylink.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
     Active: activating (auto-restart) (Result: exit-code) since Sun 2020-02-09 07:36:12 EST; 2s ago
    Process: 10049 ExecStartPre=/sbin/modprobe evdi (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)

modprobe does see the evdi seems to be the problem:

modprobe -a evdi
modprobe: WARNING: Module evdi not found in directory /lib/modules/5.5.2-arch1-1

I did google the issue and found that I need to downgrade my intel graphics driver which I did. But the evdi not working seems to be my current issue

Offline

#2 2020-02-09 12:48:13

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 8,670

Re: Cannot get 3rd Monitor working

That specific error just means the module you are trying to load doesn't exist for the kernel you are booted on, which in practice means you'll have to rebuild evdi for the current kernel.

I wonder how exactly you "downgraded" the intel graphics driver, as that would entail a kernel downgrade (or you are talking about xf86-video-intel, which I doubt to have much impact on this)

Online

#3 2020-02-09 16:11:51

lodi_g
Member
Registered: 2020-02-09
Posts: 1

Re: Cannot get 3rd Monitor working

You can clone and build from source:

- git clone https://github.com/DisplayLink/evdi
- cd evdi
- wget https://crazy.dev.frugalware.org/all-in … test.patch (see https://github.com/DisplayLink/evdi/iss … 583393014)
- git apply all-in-one-kernel-5.4-and-5.5-test.patch
- make
- make install
- reboot

Offline

#4 2020-02-09 18:05:37

KingShish
Member
Registered: 2016-09-10
Posts: 9

Re: Cannot get 3rd Monitor working

@lodi_g

Do i reinstall displaylink as normal after this ?

Offline

#5 2020-02-09 18:23:48

KingShish
Member
Registered: 2016-09-10
Posts: 9

Re: Cannot get 3rd Monitor working

so the dispaylink.service is running

but still cannot see the device

xrandr --listproviders
Providers: number : 1
Provider 0: id: 0x46 cap: 0xb, Source Output, Sink Output, Sink Offload crtcs: 4 outputs: 3 associated providers: 0 name:Intel

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB