You are not logged in.

#1 2020-02-14 08:16:20

4p1C
Member
From: France
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 50

i3 tray issue

Hi folks,
On my i3-wm config file, I have those lines:

exec joplin-desktop
exec riot-desktop --hidden
exec quiterss
exec /usr/bin/signal-desktop --start-in-tray
exec keepassxc

It was working well but since 3 days now, riot and signal failed to start.
When I try to run them manually with the --hidden option for riot and --start-in-tray for signal, they don't appear on the tray bar as expected.
I have no idea on how to better diagnose this issue but I suspect it is an electron js issue.
Am I alone? How to fix it?
Thanks

Offline

#2 2020-02-14 08:36:12

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 8,670

Re: i3 tray issue

Probably a similar side effect to https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=252838

Offline

#3 2020-02-14 08:51:01

4p1C
Member
From: France
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 50

Re: i3 tray issue

Thanks for the clue but downgrading glibc to 2.30-3 doesn't solve the problem.

Offline

#4 2020-02-14 09:01:14

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 8,670

Re: i3 tray issue

Then start them in a terminal and check/post the output.

FWIW this might also be session issues, how are you starting i3? Check your

loginctl session-status
journalctl -b

Last edited by V1del (2020-02-14 09:02:20)

Offline

#5 2020-02-15 20:49:57

4p1C
Member
From: France
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 50

Re: i3 tray issue

V1del wrote:

Then start them in a terminal and check/post the output.

When I start them in a terminal, I have no specific message. Seems like everything is ok, no errors.

And, I also launch Joplin on start up. It's also based on electron and it works perfectly and appears on the tray bar as expected.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB