You are not logged in.

#26 2020-02-07 23:39:41

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,023

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

I'm still getting the failure on chromium, too. I could live with it if it was just FF until FF was updated, but on both, upgrading glibc is a non-starter for the moment.

I have no TV, and rely on those two streaming services for entertainment.


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1060 6Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 6 HD (2SSD - 4Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#27 2020-02-08 16:24:14

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,093

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

You could bisect glibc between 2.30 and 2.31 to find the causal commit or report the bug without the bisection.

Offline

#28 2020-02-08 18:49:36

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 3,722

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

loqs wrote:

or in firefox about:config security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist set the string to __NR_clock_gettime64

For that about:config value you need syscall numbers, not text.

https://wiki.mozilla.org/Security/Sandbox wrote:

security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist

    Comma-seperated list of additional system call numbers that should be allowed in the content process. These affect the seccomp-bpf filter.

Edit: You can get the numbers from e.g. /usr/include/asm/unistd_64.h, which is packaged in linux-api-headers

Last edited by progandy (2020-02-08 18:52:19)


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#29 2020-02-12 14:15:06

eschwartz
Trusted User/Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 3,159

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

loqs wrote:

You could try chromium --no-sandbox to see if it is one of the sandboxing features failing with the new glibc.
or in firefox about:config security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist set the string to __NR_clock_gettime64
Edit:
@Roken I think that dlopen signal trapping was fixed by https://github.com/bminor/glibc/commit/ … 4d9c12784c

MOZ_DISABLE_CONTENT_SANDBOX=1 looks like another option to test with firefox.
MOZ_SANDBOX_LOGGING=1 to produce relevant logging if it is the sandbox.

The dlopen signal trapping fix landed in the glibc release tag, so it seems unrelated.


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#30 2020-02-13 13:15:19

rasertux
Member
From: Florianópolis, Brazil
Registered: 2012-03-03
Posts: 44

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

I downgrade the glibc package to glibc-2.30-3 and now Netflix is working again, thx guys.

sudo pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/glibc-2.30-3-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/lib32-glibc-2.30-3-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Offline

#31 2020-02-14 20:34:25

craig_mc
Member
Registered: 2018-09-08
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

A temporary workaround for now.

export MOZ_DISABLE_CONTENT_SANDBOX=1
export MOZ_DISABLE_GMP_SANDBOX=1

Offline

#32 2020-02-14 20:43:42

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 3,722

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

craig_mc wrote:

A temporary workaround for now.

export MOZ_DISABLE_CONTENT_SANDBOX=1
export MOZ_DISABLE_GMP_SANDBOX=1

Bug & Fix: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1614535

Seems like the fix should be available in firefox-developer-edition as of 74.0b3


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#33 2020-02-14 21:03:39

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,023

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

progandy wrote:
craig_mc wrote:

A temporary workaround for now.

export MOZ_DISABLE_CONTENT_SANDBOX=1
export MOZ_DISABLE_GMP_SANDBOX=1

Bug & Fix: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1614535

Seems like the fix should be available in firefox-developer-edition as of 74.0b3

Thank you. That does fix in FF.

It doesn't help Chromium, of course, but that's not an issue for me. I've finally been able to remove the pin on glibc.

EDIT: For info - the dev edition does appear to have fixed it.

Last edited by Roken (2020-02-14 21:19:26)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1060 6Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 6 HD (2SSD - 4Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#34 2020-02-18 13:05:07

ipyakuza
Member
Registered: 2013-06-24
Posts: 19

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

I've set these values inside of firefox at about:config and reloaded FF but no change.  I also placed both of those exports in my ~/.bash_profile and sourced it (and confirmed those values are set) however after restarting firefox I still have this issue.  I am running the latest updates for all packages (nothing downgraded).  What am I missing/doing wrong?

Last edited by ipyakuza (2020-02-18 13:23:14)

Offline

#35 2020-02-18 13:42:42

ipyakuza
Member
Registered: 2013-06-24
Posts: 19

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

I also tested with chromium --no-sandbox and it noted security/unsupported/potential instability (expected) yet still couldnt get Hulu or Netflix to run.

I downgraded my package(s) to glibc 2.30 and restarted firefox and it worked.  Guess I have to wait here for a bit until the updated FF/widevine is released.

Last edited by ipyakuza (2020-02-18 13:53:11)

Offline

#36 2020-02-18 14:25:03

orsa
Member
Registered: 2016-08-23
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

ipyakuza wrote:

I've set these values inside of firefox at about:config and reloaded FF but no change.  I also placed both of those exports in my ~/.bash_profile and sourced it (and confirmed those values are set) however after restarting firefox I still have this issue.  I am running the latest updates for all packages (nothing downgraded).  What am I missing/doing wrong?

Instead of exporting those variables in .bash_profile, try running Firefox as

MOZ_DISABLE_GMP_SANDBOX=1 firefox

Also, Firefox has just been flagged out of date, so this workaround should not be necessary for long.

Offline

#37 2020-02-18 20:03:57

k44
Member
Registered: 2013-03-30
Posts: 19

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

It supposed to be fixed with FF 73.0.1

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1614535

Offline

#38 2020-02-19 14:25:00

ipyakuza
Member
Registered: 2013-06-24
Posts: 19

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

Looks like Chromium and FF packages were updated in the last 24 hours, I've since updated all the packages (include glibc to 2.31) and everything is working again.

Offline

#39 2020-02-19 20:14:26

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,023

Re: [SOLVED] Was "Kernel 5.5.2 breaks DRM", should be glibc 2.31 breaks it

ipyakuza wrote:

Looks like Chromium and FF packages were updated in the last 24 hours, I've since updated all the packages (include glibc to 2.31) and everything is working again.

I can confirm with FF. I've dumped Chromium.

Back to fully updated with official repos now. Still have a couple of Aur packages causing problems, but completely unrelated.

Last edited by Roken (2020-02-19 20:14:40)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1060 6Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 6 HD (2SSD - 4Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB