You are not logged in.

#1 2020-02-20 19:30:48

Tétrapyle
Member
Registered: 2014-01-03
Posts: 35

No video for chocolate-doom after switching workspace in various WMs

Hi all,

If I switch to another workspace in XMonad while running chocolate-doom, there's no video after coming back to the workspace initially running Doom. I hear the music and I can blindly quit with the keyboard. Actually the game seems to run but the window is blank. It has never happened to me with another X program. I don't see anything in particular in the chocolate-doom output or the Xorg log.

Any idea, somebody? What should I look for?

Last edited by Tétrapyle (2020-02-21 15:56:32)

Offline

#2 2020-02-20 23:28:07

latalante1
Member
Registered: 2018-08-30
Posts: 65

Re: No video for chocolate-doom after switching workspace in various WMs

The same happens under another WM, for example i3.
This happens under full screen.

I bet on the error in SDL2.

Offline

#3 2020-02-21 15:57:51

Tétrapyle
Member
Registered: 2014-01-03
Posts: 35

Re: No video for chocolate-doom after switching workspace in various WMs

It happens also in OpenBox, so I updated the title.

Offline

#4 2020-02-21 17:01:01

latalante1
Member
Registered: 2018-08-30
Posts: 65

Re: No video for chocolate-doom after switching workspace in various WMs

I just checked under i3 it works correctly.
In turn, under notion is even worse than you described because it is going crazy completely from the start.
I'm sure it's the SDL2 fault. All SDL2 based applications do not work properly with full-screen under notion.

Edit:
With this patch under notion it launches correctly, but switching to another one has the effect you described.
https://bugzilla-attachments.libsdl.org … gi?id=2810

Last edited by latalante1 (2020-02-21 17:19:20)

Offline

#5 2020-02-21 19:21:59

latalante1
Member
Registered: 2018-08-30
Posts: 65

Re: No video for chocolate-doom after switching workspace in various WMs

I checked with the latest developer version. Now it works as it should.
It is very likely that this is one of the last changes to fix this error.
https://hg.libsdl.org/SDL/

This additional patch is also needed for notion.

Edit:
You can check.

curl -JOL https://hg.libsdl.org/SDL/archive/tip.tar.bz2
tar xf SDL-*.tar.bz2
cd SDL-*
./configure --disable-static && make -j$(nproc)
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=./build/.libs chocolate-doom -iwad ~/dos/doom/DOOM1.WAD

Last edited by latalante1 (2020-02-22 11:58:48)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB