You are not logged in.

#1 2020-02-21 19:42:53

Ploppz
Member
Registered: 2013-09-14
Posts: 247

[solved] How to install and load a DKMS module?

I bought a tp-link AC1900 Archer T9UH wireless USB adapter, and I'm trying to find the right driver for it.
vendor ID: 0x2357
product ID: 0x0106

I was told it's not supported in mainline
`grep -Ei '2357.*0106' /usr/lib/modules/5.4.15-arch1-1/modules.alias` returned nothing.

So I'm trying this then https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/rtl8814au-dkms-git/
But what now? After installing, what should I expect? Do I have to load it somehow? How?

I tried (first one just to verify):

# dkms install -m rtl8814au -v 4.3.21.r49.g741fa1f
Module rtl8814au/4.3.21.r49.g741fa1f already installed on kernel 5.4.15-arch1-1/x86_64


$ sudo modprobe rtl8814au/4.3.21.r49.g741fa1f
modprobe: FATAL: Module rtl8814au/4.3.21.r49.g741fa1f not found in directory /lib/modules/5.4.15-arch1-1

$ sudo modprobe rtl8814au 
modprobe: FATAL: Module rtl8814au not found in directory /lib/modules/5.4.15-arch1-1

No amount of inquiring on IRC or googling has even given me a hint how to proceed with this.
I really hope that someone here can help me.

Last edited by Ploppz (2020-03-20 21:33:33)

Offline

#2 2020-02-21 19:48:54

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,161

Re: [solved] How to install and load a DKMS module?

What was the output from pacman when the package was installed?
What is the output of:

ls /lib/modules/5.4.15-arch1-1/kernel/drivers/net/wireless

Offline

#3 2020-02-21 20:14:03

Ploppz
Member
Registered: 2013-09-14
Posts: 247

Re: [solved] How to install and load a DKMS module?

Someone helped me find that the module name is actually 8814au

But now I have the problem:
`sudo modprobe 8814au` stalls forever. That is, it never terminates and returns to prompt

Offline

#4 2020-02-21 20:16:21

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,161

Re: [solved] How to install and load a DKMS module?

What is the output of

ps aux | grep modprobe

Edit:
Are there any new messages in dmesg after your executed modprobe?

Last edited by loqs (2020-02-21 20:27:22)

Offline

#5 2020-03-20 18:29:59

Ploppz
Member
Registered: 2013-09-14
Posts: 247

Re: [solved] How to install and load a DKMS module?

Sorry, loqs, I somehow didn't see your messages before it was solved.
Now... I have the same problem reinstalling Arch Linux on the same hardware so let's pick up where we left off smile (I forgot what I did last time to make it work... I will write it down this time for sure)

This time I didn't even get to `modprobe`:

$ sudo modprobe 8814au
modprobe: FATAL: Module 8814au not found in directory /lib/modules/5.5.9-arch1-2

The information you requested:

$ ls /lib/modules/5.5.9-arch1-2/kernel/drivers/net/wireless
admtek/  broadcom/  intersil/  quantenna/  rsi/  zydas/                rndis_wlan.ko.xz
ath/     cisco/     marvell/   ralink/     st/   mac80211_hwsim.ko.xz  virt_wifi.ko.xz
atmel/   intel/     mediatek/  realtek/    ti/   ray_cs.ko.xz          wl3501_cs.ko.xz

> What was the output from pacman when the package was installed?

==> Unable to install module rtl8814au/4.3.21.r49.g741fa1f for kernel *: Missing kernel headers.

So then I installed `linux-headers`, but at the end of installation of linux-headers, and on subsequent installations or `rtl8814au-dkms-git`, I get:

==> Unable to install module rtl8814au/4.3.21.r49.g741fa1f for kernel 5.5.10-arch1-1: Missing kernel modules tree.

Offline

#6 2020-03-20 18:33:29

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,161

Re: [solved] How to install and load a DKMS module?

What is the output of

uname -a
pacman -Q linux

Offline

#7 2020-03-20 19:07:37

Ploppz
Member
Registered: 2013-09-14
Posts: 247

Re: [solved] How to install and load a DKMS module?

Indeed, turned out that linux and linux-headers were different versions. After updating the kernel however and rebooting it takes forever to shut down. https://i.imgur.com/tjmXjl6.jpg it does not progress beyond this point. I wonder if it is safe to force reboot?

Offline

#8 2020-03-20 20:18:54

Ploppz
Member
Registered: 2013-09-14
Posts: 247

Re: [solved] How to install and load a DKMS module?

I did force shutdown after almost an hour... Anyway, I can barely use the computer for more than a minute a time before it hangs right now due to a very troublesome network card so pretty desperate to get tp-link to work.

So what I did after updating the kernel: I installed the rtl8814au driver again and now it seems successful: `lsmod | grep 8814` shows `8814au      1359872   1`.
However, `ip link` shows no wireless devices (after I removed the network card). And I cannot find any wireless networks with `nmtui`.
Does this mean that it's simply not the right module then, or might there still be something I have to do or can try?

Offline

#9 2020-03-20 20:45:01

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,161

Re: [solved] How to install and load a DKMS module?

Please post the output of dmesg.

Offline

#10 2020-03-20 21:33:22

Ploppz
Member
Registered: 2013-09-14
Posts: 247

Re: [solved] How to install and load a DKMS module?

I just found that the severe problems I had were caused by the rtl8814au driver - journalctl showed that there was null pointer dereference in the kernel, so I had to uninstall it.
For reference for other users of the same hardware https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/rtl8 … -dkms-git/ works well and out-of-the-box!
Thanks for trying to help loqs!

Offline

#11 2020-03-20 21:54:13

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,161

Re: [solved] How to install and load a DKMS module?

Please consider leaving a message on https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/rtl8814au-dkms-git/ about the null pointer issue so others are aware of the issue.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB