You are not logged in.

#1 2020-03-25 13:12:57

kouman
Member
Registered: 2017-04-16
Posts: 5

[SOLVED]I can't connect to internet

Hello guys when i try to install Arch at my laptop i can't connect to internet.

My driver statue is:

03:00.0 Network controller : broadcome inc. and subsidiaries BCM43225 802.11b/g/n (rev 01)
subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. t77h103.00 Wireless Half-size Mini PcIe Card
Kernel Driner in use: bcma-pci-brisdge
Kernel modules:bcma

ip link set wlan0 up
[83.007412] brcmsmac bcma0:1: brcms_ops_bss_info_changed: qos enabled: false
[83.007505] brcmsmac bcma0:1: brcms_ops_config: change power-save mode: false

# dmesg | grep firmware
[      0.172264] Spectre V2 : enabling Restricted Speculation for firware calls
[  16.0464922]
psmouse serio1: elantech: assuming hardware version 2 (with firmware version 0x040213

what i should do ? what i can't see?

Last edited by kouman (2020-03-25 15:41:55)

Offline

#2 2020-03-25 13:36:31

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 8,993

Re: [SOLVED]I can't connect to internet

Please use [ code ] rather than [ quote ] tags for pasting/writing down command outputs.

How have you tried to connect? You did not yet specify how exactly you tried to connect and which error messages you see. Also if possible it would be better to upload actual outputs instead of typing them down (there are a lot of errors and potentially missing information just in what you posted), by using another usb stick or so to write text files to if you have no other possibility of getting online from that specific machine.

In general you might want to try the wl driver instead: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Broadcom_wireless (the driver should be available on the recent ISO, you don't have to specifically install something else, rmmod and modprobing the wl driver should work,but if it does work you do have to remember to install it into the actual system)

Last edited by V1del (2020-03-25 13:39:33)

Offline

#3 2020-03-25 13:38:28

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 7,511

Re: [SOLVED]I can't connect to internet

We've had a lot of people setting wireless interfaces up manually. Where did you find this nonsense?

Online

#4 2020-03-25 14:19:00

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,502
Website

Re: [SOLVED]I can't connect to internet


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#5 2020-03-25 14:23:07

kouman
Member
Registered: 2017-04-16
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED]I can't connect to internet

First thing i do is :

 # ip link set wlan0 up 

and take this

 [83.007412] brcmsmac bcma0:1: brcms_ops_bss_info_changed: qos enabled: false
[83.007505] brcmsmac bcma0:1: brcms_ops_config: change power-save mode: false

after that i use wifi-menu

and

 ping google.gr 
ping: google.gr: Temporary failure in name resolution 

I dont know what i do wrong and i dont have internet

Offline

#6 2020-03-25 14:24:38

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 7,511

Re: [SOLVED]I can't connect to internet

WorMzy wrote:

For checking the driver, ok, but we've had a lot of people recently that are doing it when trying to connect.

So, kouman, WHY are you doing that before using wifi-menu?

Online

#7 2020-03-25 14:27:10

kouman
Member
Registered: 2017-04-16
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED]I can't connect to internet

I dont do it before wifi-menu. I just try to find what i do wrong.

Offline

#8 2020-03-25 15:27:05

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 7,805

Re: [SOLVED]I can't connect to internet

After you ran wifi-menu , please post the outputs of

$ ip address show
$ ip route
$ ip -6 route
$ ping 138.201.81.199
$ ping 2a01:4f8:172:1d86::1

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2020-03-25 15:27:38)


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#9 2020-03-25 15:39:29

kouman
Member
Registered: 2017-04-16
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED]I can't connect to internet

I make again the USB  and everything is ok. thank you for your time guys. i have internet connection now .

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB