You are not logged in.

#1 2020-03-26 20:57:29

Ploppz
Member
Registered: 2013-09-14
Posts: 246

[Solved] Vulkan: error in initialization

On a previous installation with the same GPU, vulkan worked fine (developing a game that uses vulkan).

$ lspci | grep VGA
20:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Pitcairn PRO [Radeon HD 7850 / R7 265 / R9 270 1024SP]

I installed `vulkan-icd-loader` and `vulkan-radeon` and eventually even `admvlk`, but applications that use Vulkan don't work.

$ vulkaninfo
ERROR at /build/vulkan-tools/src/Vulkan-Tools-1.2.135/vulkaninfo/vulkaninfo.h:240:vkEnumerateInstanceExtensionProperties failed with ERROR_INITIALIZATION_FAILED

Last edited by Ploppz (Yesterday 11:01:18)

Offline

#2 2020-03-27 08:22:45

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 8,993

Re: [Solved] Vulkan: error in initialization

Offline

#3 2020-03-27 19:22:50

Ploppz
Member
Registered: 2013-09-14
Posts: 246

Re: [Solved] Vulkan: error in initialization

No. Does SI and CIK have to be enabled for vulkan to work? The wiki page says that it's already enabled unless you compile linux yourself so I don't know if I should do any of those things (I don't compile my kernel)?
Regarding "Specify the correct module order", in `/etc/mkinitcpio.conf, I have `MODULES=()`, not sure if that is wrong?
As for "Set module parameters in modprobe.d", they seem to indicate that you should select one to enable, but I don't know which one to choose.

Question: when we talk about amdgpu, how is this related to vulkan? I wanted to use either vulkan-radeon or amdvlk as on the Vulkan arch linux wiki page.

Last edited by Ploppz (2020-03-27 19:24:09)

Offline

#4 2020-03-27 20:05:33

Ropid
Member
Registered: 2015-03-09
Posts: 712

Re: [Solved] Vulkan: error in initialization

You have to follow those Wiki instructions and add those kernel command line parameters.

The background for this is:

'vulkan-radeon' or 'amdvlk' need the 'amdgpu' kernel module to work. They can't work on top of the old 'radeon' kernel module. You can see what module the kernel is currently using for your card in the output of "lspci -k". Example here:

$ lspci -k
...
0d:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590] (rev e7)
	Subsystem: PC Partner Limited / Sapphire Technology Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590]
	Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
	Kernel modules: amdgpu
...

The amdgpu kernel module has support for your card, but it's not enabled by default. The kernel then uses the radeon module. The kernel command line parameters that are mentioned disable support for your card in the radeon module to keep it from loading, and then enable support in the amdgpu module to make it load.

Offline

#5 Yesterday 11:01:04

Ploppz
Member
Registered: 2013-09-14
Posts: 246

Re: [Solved] Vulkan: error in initialization

Many thanks, now it works!
For the record, SI worked, and not CIK.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB