You are not logged in.

#1 2004-03-17 01:08:27

rberry88
Member
From: Arlington Heights, IL USA
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 53

Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

I was going to see if there was anything that needed updated but pacman, for some reason, decides its broken. It was working fine a half-hour ago when I did "pacman -S xmms" and that installed fine but now I get this when I try to do anything with pacman:

[root@pengy rberry88]# pacman -Sc
bash: /usr/bin/pacman: cannot execute binary file
[root@pengy rberry88]# pacman -Syu
bash: /usr/bin/pacman: cannot execute binary file
[root@pengy rberry88]# pacman -Sy pacman
bash: /usr/bin/pacman: cannot execute binary file
[root@pengy rberry88]#

Any ideas on how I might start to fix this, I've tried exiting X and re-logging in and also rebooting but nothing seems to work.

rberry88

Offline

#2 2004-03-17 01:24:58

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

is it executable? (x?)

[damir@Asteraceae /]$ ls -lh /usr/bin/pacman
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root root 619K Mar  2 05:50 /usr/bin/pacman

The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#3 2004-03-17 01:27:18

rberry88
Member
From: Arlington Heights, IL USA
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 53

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

It appears to be:

[root@pengy rberry88]# ls -lh /usr/bin/pacman
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root root 619K Mar  1 22:50 /usr/bin/pacman
[root@pengy rberry88]#

rberry88

Offline

#4 2004-03-17 02:24:42

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

eventhough the size is the similar, you can try get mine:
www.greekarena.com/nkour/pacman
name yours pacman2
and try with mine.
noone ever lost trying.. tongue

Offline

#5 2004-03-17 04:10:49

rberry88
Member
From: Arlington Heights, IL USA
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 53

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

I downloaded your pacman to my /home/user directory, then did:

mv /usr/bin/pacman /usr/bin/pacman2

then I made your pacman executable with:

chmod a+x pacman

then moved it to where my pacman was with:

mv /home/berry88/pacman /usr/bin/pacman

and this is what happens now:

[root@pengy rberry88]# pacman -Syu
config: line 1: all directives must belong to a section

[root@pengy rberry88]# pacman -Sy pacman
config: line 1: all directives must belong to a section

[root@pengy rberry88]#

I appreciate the help but I'm not sure where to proceed.

rberry88

Offline

#6 2004-03-17 04:26:37

alcattle
Member
Registered: 2004-03-08
Posts: 32

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

not sure if it will help, but you can try to upgrade/update pacman

pacman -Sy pacman

wierd problem, will look for the solution here


Big Al in Seattle

http://www.easylinuxguide.com

Very N00b Friendly Group of people

Offline

#7 2004-03-17 05:02:23

rberry88
Member
From: Arlington Heights, IL USA
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 53

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

Nope, if I use my pacman then I get the "cannot execute binary file" error and if I use the one zeppelin gave me it gives me the "config" error.

I feel kind of lost without being able to use Pacman and kind of dumb not knowing where even to look for the problem. Everything else seems to be working fine.

rberry88

Offline

#8 2004-03-17 05:02:47

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

Because packages are just tarballs, I suggest uncompressing the pacman package in your cache (/var/cache/pacman/pkg) and using that binary).


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#9 2004-03-17 12:38:10

rberry88
Member
From: Arlington Heights, IL USA
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 53

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

Not to sound too much like a huge noobie but when I untarred the /var/cache/pacman/pkg/pacman.tar.gz file do I need to configure it or should I be finding the binary somewhere in there because its not there.

rberry88

Offline

#10 2004-03-17 12:49:13

Bobonov
Member
From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

Arch linux package file are tar.gz, if you ungzip and untar them you will find that they create in the current directory something like /curdir/usr/bin/filename /curdir/etc/filename etc.etc
So if you scompact the package direcly from root /  all the files will go in the appropiate place.
If you want to check the process do it in a empty subdir and then move the files.

Offline

#11 2004-03-17 13:00:18

rberry88
Member
From: Arlington Heights, IL USA
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 53

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

I did this "tar -xzvf pacman.tar.gz" and it created a new directory "pacman" ( I did this in my home directory) and in this directory is the following:

[root@pengy pacman-2.7.5]# ls
COPYING      README      config.guess  config.sub    doc         libftp
ChangeLog    TODO        config.h.in   configure     etc         scripts
Makefile.in  acconfig.h  config.log    configure.in  install-sh  src
[root@pengy pacman-2.7.5]#

Now to install it I know I would just do ./configure - make - make install, but I don't think thats what I should do. Here is the contents of the /etc:

[root@pengy etc]# ls
makepkg.conf  pacman.conf
[root@pengy etc]#

and in the /src directory:

[root@pengy src]# ls
convertdb.c  list.c  md5.h        package.h  pacsync.c    rpmvercmp.h  vercmp.c
db.c         list.h  md5driver.c  pacman.c   pacsync.h    util.c
db.h         md5.c   package.c    pacman.h   rpmvercmp.c  util.h
[root@pengy src]#

I'm not sure which file is the bin file that I should place in the /usr/bin directory or if I'm even going about this the right way, I guess I need to learn one way or another.

rberry88

Offline

#12 2004-03-17 13:17:46

andy
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 374

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

You downloaded the source, not the package. Download
ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/0.7/os/i686/pac … pkg.tar.gz

Then do the following somewhere (and please only change the syntax if you know what you are doing) :

mkdir tmproot
cd tmproot
tar -xzvf /wherever/you/downloaded/the/package/pacman-2.7.5-1.pkg.tar.gz
cd ./usr/bin
./pacman -Q

That should tell you at least if the new pacman works. If it does, you can try more (you probably need to be root now):

./pacman -Sy

And see if it updates the database and finally

./pacman -U /wherever/you/downloaded/the/package/pacman-2.7.5-1.pkg.tar.gz

to install the working version.

Offline

#13 2004-03-17 13:33:50

rberry88
Member
From: Arlington Heights, IL USA
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 53

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

I think I followed the directions correctly:

[root@pengy rberry88]# mkdir tmproot
[root@pengy rberry88]# cd tmproot
[root@pengy tmproot]# tar -xzvf /home/rberry88/pacman-2.7.5-1.pkg.tar.gz
.PKGINFO
.FILELIST
.INSTALL
etc/
etc/pacman.conf
etc/makepkg.conf
etc/abs/
etc/abs/abs.conf
etc/abs/supfile.arch
etc/abs/supfile.extra
etc/abs/supfile.unstable
usr/
usr/bin/
usr/bin/pacman
usr/bin/vercmp
usr/bin/convertdb
usr/bin/makepkg
usr/bin/makeworld
usr/bin/gensync
usr/bin/sortmirrors.pl
usr/bin/abs
usr/man/
usr/man/man8/
usr/man/man8/pacman.8.gz
usr/man/man8/makepkg.8.gz
var/
var/abs/
var/abs/local/
[root@pengy tmproot]# cd ./usr/bin
[root@pengy bin]# ./pacman -Q
config: line 1: all directives must belong to a section

[root@pengy bin]# ./pacman -U /home/rberry88/pacman-2.7.5-1.pkg.tar.gz
config: line 1: all directives must belong to a section

[root@pengy bin]#

Can I edit the config to make it correct and if so how?

rberry88

Offline

#14 2004-03-17 13:47:46

Bobonov
Member
From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

pacman has only one conf file and is /etc/pacman.conf
Here is one that should work

#
# /etc/pacman.conf
#
# NOTE: If you find a mirror that is geographically close to you, please
#       move it to the top of the server list, so pacman will choose it
#       first.
#
# To re-sort your mirror lists by ping/traceroute results, use the
# /usr/bin/sortmirrors.pl script.  It requires the "netselect" package.
#
#     # sortmirrors.pl </etc/pacman.conf >pacman.conf.new
#

# See the pacman manpage for option directives

#
# GENERAL OPTIONS
#
[options]
LogFile     = /var/log/pacman.log
NoUpgrade   = etc/passwd etc/group etc/shadow
NoUpgrade   = etc/fstab etc/raidtab
NoUpgrade   = etc/rc.conf etc/rc.local
NoUpgrade   = etc/modprobe.conf etc/modules.conf
NoUpgrade   = etc/lilo.conf boot/grub/menu.lst

#
# REPOSITORIES
#
[current]
#Server = ftp://ftp.oit.unc.edu/pub/Linux/distributions/archlinux/current
Server = ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/current
Server = ftp://ftp.archlinux.de/pub/archlinux/current
Server = ftp://ftp.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/archlinux/current
Server = ftp://ftp.mpi-sb.mpg.de/pub/linux/mirror/ftp.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/distributions/archlinux/current
Server = ftp://ftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/sunsite.unc-mirror/distributions/archlinux/current
Server = ftp://ftp.parrswood.net/Mirrors/ftp.archlinux.org/current
Server = ftp://ftp.kegep.tuc.gr/archlinux/current
Server = http://darkstar.ist.utl.pt/archlinux/current
Server = ftp://archlinux.creativa.cl/current
Server = ftp://gd.tuwien.ac.at/opsys/linux/archlinux/current
Server = ftp://saule.mintis.lt/pub/linux/current
Server = ftp://ftp.rez-gif.supelec.fr/pub/Linux/distrib/archlinux/current

# Uncomment this block to access the EXTRA package set
#
[extra]
#Server = ftp://ftp.oit.unc.edu/pub/Linux/distributions/archlinux/extra
Server = ftp://ftp.archlinux.de/pub/archlinux/extra
Server = ftp://ftp.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/archlinux/extra
Server = ftp://ftp.mpi-sb.mpg.de/pub/linux/mirror/ftp.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/distributions/archlinux/extra
Server = ftp://ftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/sunsite.unc-mirror/distributions/archlinux/extra
Server = ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/extra
Server = ftp://ftp.parrswood.net/Mirrors/ftp.archlinux.org/extra
Server = ftp://ftp.kegep.tuc.gr/archlinux/extra
Server = http://darkstar.ist.utl.pt/archlinux/extra
Server = ftp://archlinux.creativa.cl/extra
Server = ftp://gd.tuwien.ac.at/opsys/linux/archlinux/extra
Server = ftp://saule.mintis.lt/pub/linux/extra
Server = ftp://ftp.rez-gif.supelec.fr/pub/Linux/distrib/archlinux/extra

Offline

#15 2004-03-17 13:56:11

andy
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 374

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

rberry88 wrote:

I think I followed the directions correctly:

it does indeed look like it ;-)

config: line 1: all directives must belong to a section

My second favorite abbreviation next to RTFM would be RTFEM for "Error Message" :-) ... I would say you have a comment line in /etc/pacman.conf (the first line) that does not start with a "#", or that you put a directive in the first line of /etc/pacman.conf whereas it should have gone in some section.

Or simply take Bobonovs pacman.conf ;-) ...

Offline

#16 2004-03-17 15:36:33

rberry88
Member
From: Arlington Heights, IL USA
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 53

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

Well I went into my pacman.conf file to edit it (or attempt to) and all that was there was a bunch of strange symbols, no text (readable anyway) so I copied the one from Bobonov over it and at first pacman would sync and refresh (pacman -Sy) but then would list a long list of errors about missing directories and such. I rebooted and now it works. I updated pacman (pacman -Sy pacman)  and it had no problems and then I did the "pacman -Syu" and it updated gettext and coreutils and everythings seems fine now.

I guess I'm more concerned now since its back working of what caused it to do what it did (break) when all I did was install xmms.

Thanks everyone for the help.

rberry88

Offline

#17 2004-03-17 15:44:29

Bobonov
Member
From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

Just a question are you sure that during one of the reboot the system was complaing about some inconsistency of the file system and you skipped the check?

Offline

#18 2004-03-17 15:51:13

rberry88
Member
From: Arlington Heights, IL USA
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 53

Re: Pacman problem -- cannot execute binary file

The only thing that was being complained about during the boot process was the "/proc/bus/usb: no devices present" error message -- I understand there is a work-around for it but I was waiting for a firm fix before messing with anything since it wasn't actually hurting my system (as far as I know or could tell). Otherwise no, no other complaints during the boot or reboot process.

rberry88

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB