You are not logged in.

#1 2020-05-09 18:36:12

jennydaman
Member
Registered: 2017-04-04
Posts: 11

startplasma-x11 loads deepin-daemon

DDE is infamous for its poor software design. Last week's major update (particularly concerning deepin-daemon-5.9.4.2-1, which is tightly coupled with other deepin packages) featured many improvements but also greater deviance from modular design.

I had DDE and KDE Plasma installed side-by-side, and I usually used this rather typical .xinitrc:

#!/bin/sh

userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
sysresources=/etc/X11/xinit/.Xresources
sysmodmap=/etc/X11/xinit/.Xmodmap

# merge in defaults and keymaps

if [ -f $sysresources ]; then
    xrdb -merge $sysresources
fi

if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $sysmodmap
fi

if [ -f "$userresources" ]; then
    xrdb -merge "$userresources"
fi

if [ -f "$usermodmap" ]; then
    xmodmap "$usermodmap"
fi

# start some nice programs

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ] ; then
 for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/?*.sh ; do
  [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
 done
 unset f
fi

exec startplasma-x11

But after the update: I noticed that dde-system-daemon was being loaded by startplasma-x11. (dde-system-daemon is not started if I replace startplasma-x11 with something else, like kate)
The consequences are that Deepin's themes conflict with Plasma's themes, and both the Deepin app menu and KDE's app menu pop up when I press the meta key.

I could only fix this with

sudo pacman -Rs deepin

Is there a way to use startplasma-x11 while blacklisting deepin modules? I think it might have something to do with the files installed to /usr/share/dbus-1/system-services by the deepin-daemon package.

Offline

#2 2020-05-10 04:57:55

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 5,853

Re: startplasma-x11 loads deepin-daemon

I'd start by analyzing the package.

deepin-accounts-daemon.service could be it:

[Install]
# We pull this in by graphical.target instead of waiting for the bus
# activation, to speed things up a little: gdm uses this anyway so it is nice
# if it is already around when gdm wants to use it and doesn't have to wait for
# it.
WantedBy=graphical.target

Offline

#3 2020-05-11 01:34:53

jennydaman
Member
Registered: 2017-04-04
Posts: 11

Re: startplasma-x11 loads deepin-daemon

I tried

systemctl mask deepin-accounts-daemon

Which, even though it did not work, it caused some error messages in KDE's notifications. I couldn't read them.

Next I tried to find every relevant file:

for f in $(pacman -Ql deepin-daemon); do grep -q dde-system-daemon $f 2> /dev/null && echo $f; done

/usr/lib/systemd/system/deepin-accounts-daemon.service and /usr/share/dbus-1/system-services/com.deepin.daemon.* all have mention of dde-system-daemon.

So I then tried masking everything:

for l in $(grep -r dde-system-daemon /usr/share/dbus-1/ | sed -r 's/:.*$//'); do sudo systemctl unmask "dbus-$(basename $l)"; done

Still no luck.

Offline

#4 2020-05-11 01:58:52

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 25,643
Website

Re: startplasma-x11 loads deepin-daemon

A bit O.T. (ok very) but the following two lines will do the same thing:

for f in $(pacman -Ql deepin-daemon); do grep -q dde-system-daemon $f 2> /dev/null && echo $f; done
grep -l dde-system-daemon $(pacman -Ql deepin-daemon)

"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#5 2020-05-11 02:52:12

jennydaman
Member
Registered: 2017-04-04
Posts: 11

Re: startplasma-x11 loads deepin-daemon

Trilby wrote:

A bit O.T. (ok very) but the following two lines will do the same thing:

for f in $(pacman -Ql deepin-daemon); do grep -q dde-system-daemon $f 2> /dev/null && echo $f; done
grep -l dde-system-daemon $(pacman -Ql deepin-daemon)

Thank you, I was just lazy to read man.

Offline

#6 2020-05-11 08:17:46

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 13,820

Re: startplasma-x11 loads deepin-daemon

Check whether deepin has something in /etc/xdg/autostart and maybe check whether enriching them with some OnlyShowIn= or NotShowIn= keys helps.

To test/check the dbus situation,  look through the output in

busctl

Offline

#7 2020-05-19 03:15:40

jennydaman
Member
Registered: 2017-04-04
Posts: 11

Re: startplasma-x11 loads deepin-daemon

Strangely, plasma works as expected if started via GDM (but not startx/startplasma-x11).

I've started using GDM and Gnome to try out pop-shell which is my new favorite setup.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB