You are not logged in.

#1 2020-05-17 19:53:08

ttoirrah
Member
Registered: 2015-01-29
Posts: 27

Do Microcode Updates require regenerating grub.cfg?

The packages amd-ucode and intel-ucode are kept well up-to-date. # grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg configures them in Grub. Should we be reconfiguring Grub each time those microcodes are updated on our systems?

Offline

#2 2020-05-17 20:17:37

StJimmy
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2020-02-26
Posts: 3
Website

Re: Do Microcode Updates require regenerating grub.cfg?

Feel free to correct me on this, but I do not believe that updating GRUB is a necessity in this case, assuming the file names do not change (which they, if they follow the same naming convention as the kernel and initrd images, do not).


"Et es wie et es, et küüt wie et kúüt, än et hät noch ömmer jot jejange"
-Old Colognial proverb

Offline

#3 2020-05-17 20:33:52

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 9,974
Website

Re: Do Microcode Updates require regenerating grub.cfg?

Grub just reads the targets from /boot/grub/grub.cfg so as long as the image file has the same name, there is no need to regenerate the file


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB