You are not logged in.

#1 2020-05-21 09:48:37

NoSavvy
Member
From: Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Registered: 2013-01-23
Posts: 54

(answered & SOLVED)Ethtool file name incorrect.?

Reporting Only.

I'm sure this is not the correct place for this but here goes.
When installing ethtool-1.5.6-1 with pacman, it installs OK, but downloading from the forum link to the packages page list, it does not. This is due to the fact that the naming is different.
Direct from pacman it names it as "ethtool-1:5.6-1" (note the colon) saves it as that.
Direct from  the web package list is names it "ethtool-1 5.6-1" (note the space) an saves it as that. Renaming it is OK and  it then installs.
This may well be a mirror issue but I've tried a couple and there is no change. So maybe worth a look at.

John

Last edited by NoSavvy (2020-05-21 16:04:57)

Offline

#2 2020-05-21 10:54:30

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 3,750

Re: (answered & SOLVED)Ethtool file name incorrect.?

I see no bug here. Your browser uses a windows-safe naming scheme and replaces the ":" in the filename with a space. If you want to install the package with "pacman -U", you'll have to put the filename in quotes or escape the space to prevent your shell from splitting the argument at whitespace characters.

Last edited by progandy (2020-05-21 10:55:14)


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#3 2020-05-21 11:05:19

NoSavvy
Member
From: Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Registered: 2013-01-23
Posts: 54

Re: (answered & SOLVED)Ethtool file name incorrect.?

Many thanks Progandy. My ignorance.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB